We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMPLETE AND UTTER NIGHTMARE OF A STAY IN THE WORST HOTEL ON THE PLANET” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Mini Suites of Minetta

Save Saved
You added Signature Mini Suites of Minetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Signature Mini Suites of Minetta
9 Minetta Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Monica, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“COMPLETE AND UTTER NIGHTMARE OF A STAY IN THE WORST HOTEL ON THE PLANET”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Pull up a chair and grab a cocktail--this is going to be brutally honest and we'll say it all. First of all, the only reason I rated it a "1 out of 5" is because it wouldn't let me submit the review without actually acknowledging the hotel's rating. This is the kind of place that you'd see in some seedy mid-'70s drug lord/action movie that has a main character who squats in a crack den. 9 Minetta? Way too shabby to be that crack den.

Please note, my wife and I lived in Park Slope and then on the Upper West Side for 6 years, vacationed to NYC and traveled here on business more than 15 times in the last 2 years, and it's our home away from home. We know the place pretty well and have stayed at plenty of hotels in all parts of the City. We are objective, rational people, own our own business and work our backsides off for a living. The economy may be down, but there are no excuses for what this pathetic property lays out for its guests. Here are the A-Zs of our less than 24 hour stay at the worst hotel we've ever been to on any continent by an extreme long shot:

Upon arrival, no sign. Didn't know where it was, which building, etc. Couldn't find the address as it was dark and there were also no lights in front. It was yellow--for those of you who decide to mistakenly brave going there after reading this--and it looked like a 4-story tenament. Also, upon arrival, you are to call--from your cell phone--the "manager" for him to let you in. After calling (from inside the car that picked us up at JFK), about 10 minutes later a guy strolls down the street like he's got nothing better to do than smoke a cigarette. We waved, he waved, then he commences telling us how to let ourselves into the front door. Forget the pleasantries, that would've been above and beyond. The guy looked disheveled and ill-dressed, had no "managerial presence" and we wouldn't have known he was even the manager had he not held up his cell phone and waved. In addition, he did not speak English very well.

We get into the archaic front door to the "lobby." The "lobby" is just a long, steep staircase that leads right up into the building. It's clear this is a converted 4 story, 4-on-a-floor apartment building that's now being called a "hotel." We understand that this is a "no frills" property, but there is absolutely no staff, no concierge, no maid service, no nothing. No elevator either--we carried our bags up 3 flights to our room and the manager didn't help until I asked him to.

As soon as we walked into the room, my wife knew that this place was going to be horrible--she even let out a little squeak! Not a good sign...The walls had hand prints on them, the carpet in the hallway was thread-bare, the railings were wobbly, the floors uneven, etc. And all the "manager" wanted to do was get us to sign his little check-in form so he could officially check us in and he could retire to his lair. I told him no, and that he'd have to wait until we inspected the room. Twenty minutes later I had plenty to tell him, mainly the following:

MOLD in the bathroom--not just a little, but all around the doorjam, around the mirror, outer base of the bathtub and on the floor.

Floor tiles in the bathroom were missing--about 30-40 of them. They were those little 2" x 2" ones and they're about 1/4" thick, so everywhere they were missing was an opportunity for a toe-stubbing adventure.

Broken window over the tub "fixed" with clear packing tape. A tall, narrow window with a one foot diameter asterisk-shaped crack loomed over the bathtub. All that kept the glass from falling were 4 or 5 pieces of packing tape that were clinging on for dear life.

No shades on the lamps, coffee maker didn't work, TV didn't work (barely got one channel that was only audible through the snow), phone didn't work--it came apart in my hands. Air conditioner? Yes. However, it was mounted up high and sounded like Krakatoa erupting when we turned it on, and probably hadn't been serviced since it was installed 20+ years ago. It cooled the room slightly. The furniture was filthy and we didn't want to sit on it. The bed was scary--we literally could squeeze the mattress flat in our hands, and it sat on a flat coil of springs. No extra anything. Not even toilet paper. When asked about maid service the "manager" said he didn't know about it and that we should speak to the management company in the morning when they opened.

He also had no answer as to why there wasn't any soap, shampoo, etc. So we ended up going to CVS to get a bunch of items later.

The main problems here were twofold: we were DESPERATE to get a hotel as it was graduation weekend for NYU and Columbia and we needed to go to the City for business last minute, so the pickings were slim. Also, we didn't really want to spend over $850/night for the last minute, 3-night stay. We spent the next couple hours of the evening (checked in around 8pm) calling everywhere we could to find a different place for the following 2 nights.

It was truly a terrible experience, and to feel like there's no one to call, no one to hear you and no one to help when all you want is an answer, made the experience far worse than it actually could have been.

The company that runs this property has no business being in the hospitality market. Their policies are terrible, their staff is unhelpful and discourteous, their properties are disgusting. Whatever you do, do not stay here.

If you'd like a few other suggestions, we'd be happy to name them--for all budgets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    17
    7
    20
See reviews for
2
14
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Small room, max. 20m2, bathroom included (!) while advertised as 30m2. No (space for) table and chairs. Very shabby entrance hall and staircase. Shower broken, damaged shower hose. No batteries in remote for airco. Only 3 towels for 5 days (for 2 persons). No wifi. No checkin but forced to go to the office of the agency 3 streets further. For this price you'd better rent yourself a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We recently stayed at Signature Mini Suites Of Minetta New York. The location is fantastic, subway around the corner West 4th St station. Located in Greenwich Village you are close to some great restaurants and convenience stores. The room itself is basic. The bed was comfy, there is no soap or shampoo etc. We did have a spare set of sheets in the cupboard. The towels were not changed during our stay nor was our room serviced. In fact I saw no staff in the 10days I stayed there. There is no lift in the building so if you are not capable of carrying your cases up stairs this is not for you. The building and our room needed some maintenance work. In saying this I would stay they again purely because of the location and $$. If you want no frills - this place could work for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This really is nothing more than 3 star accommodation. Very small, no elevator, BUT comfortable bed, TV, bath, plenty of hot water, rooftop terrace, and most importantly, fabulous location. We stayed 5 nights and I really felt like I was living like a local. Close to NYC so some good value for money restaurants nearby too. As long as you are not looking for luxury you will love it. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Hey, it's New York - this place was tiny, with some nice touches (mirrors, deep bathtub, enough hot water), but also had some minor broken stuff (no way to hang up the shower head, so it had to be handheld, a missing lightbulb, a broken fixture, only 1 hanger in the closet) but nothing huge. It is good if you want to reheat leftovers or cook very very simple things (2 pots, a tea kettle and a giant espresso machine in my room). It's got a great location, was clean enough, and once you know that you have to call to check in, it was pretty great. I'd recommend it to those who need to cook a bit, but not anyone who can't manage a 4-floor walk-up. It was a great deal for NYC and its location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed at Minetta Mini Suites for 1 week in March 2009.

Like most places in New York the room was tiny but luckily we found a cheap deal which included a small single room where we could keep our luggage. We still had to crawl over the bed or turn sideways to get from one side of the room to the other. The rooms are no frills and in need of some attention but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom worked. Unfortunately we had a ground floor room with a very bright street light outside the window which did not switch off until 7.00am - it lit up the whole room and there wasn't much we could do about it. It was also very noisy with people coming home from the pubs on Bleeker Street and from the trucks/taxis on 6th Ave.

The location is brilliant and shows you a little of what it would be like to live in New York (albeit in a dog box). The subway is a few minutes away, Broadway 10 minutes and we walked to Times Square a few times in about 30-40 minutes.

The office staff were very friendly and we had no problem with the door codes. We did make sure we called their offices before we left for NY to make sure they had the booking and that we understood the check in procedure which helped. They also let us store our luggage in their offices after check out which we really appreciated.

You have to pay for the internet service in the rooms and the signal was very poor from the ground floor. There is an Aroma Cafe on Houston about a 5/10 min walk away which has free internet (if you have your own laptop) and has reasonable coffee. The bagel cafe across 6th Ave was nice but the Mexican restaurant next door to the suites was appalling quality, overpriced and we had a spectacularly rude waiter.

We wouldn't stay here again as we found it a little depressing for a holiday - we'd rather go to a hotel next time but it was good value for money and a good base from which to explore NY.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

This hotel was in a great location in Greenwich Village, right in the heart of things, easily accessible by subway and around the corner from tiny streets filled with independent cafes and restaurants. You definitely felt like you lived in NYC for a few nights, as you have your own doorcode to come in and out of the building. You have to call before you check in, and sign in at an office down the street, but then the hotel room / apartment is yours. It was very cute - old style with fireplace (not working) and great wooden floors, but renovated with new amenities like a flat screen tv, cappuccino machine, and nice modern bed and linens. A few problems included a broken hand-held shower head in that it didn't attach to the wall, a broken jet tub that wouldn't "jet," and no toiletries (i.e. no soap in the bathroom or in kitchen for washing dishes. Otherwise, very lovely. The heater made some noise at night, but not enough to keep us awake. Great rooftop terrace to lounge on in the late afternoon. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Signature Mini Suites of Minetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature Mini Suites of Minetta

Address: 9 Minetta Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 182 Specialty lodging in New York City
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Signature Mini Suites of Minetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signature Mini Suites Of Minetta Hotel New York City
Mini Suites Minetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signature Mini Suites of Minetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.