We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fantastic location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Mini Suites of Minetta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Signature Mini Suites of Minetta
Save
You added Signature Mini Suites of Minetta to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Minetta Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, fantastic location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This really is nothing more than 3 star accommodation. Very small, no elevator, BUT comfortable bed, TV, bath, plenty of hot water, rooftop terrace, and most importantly, fabulous location. We stayed 5 nights and I really felt like I was living like a local. Close to NYC so some good value for money restaurants nearby too. As long as you are not looking for luxury you will love it. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    11
    6
    19
See reviews for
2
14
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Hey, it's New York - this place was tiny, with some nice touches (mirrors, deep bathtub, enough hot water), but also had some minor broken stuff (no way to hang up the shower head, so it had to be handheld, a missing lightbulb, a broken fixture, only 1 hanger in the closet) but nothing huge. It is good if you want to reheat leftovers or cook very very simple things (2 pots, a tea kettle and a giant espresso machine in my room). It's got a great location, was clean enough, and once you know that you have to call to check in, it was pretty great. I'd recommend it to those who need to cook a bit, but not anyone who can't manage a 4-floor walk-up. It was a great deal for NYC and its location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed at Minetta Mini Suites for 1 week in March 2009.

Like most places in New York the room was tiny but luckily we found a cheap deal which included a small single room where we could keep our luggage. We still had to crawl over the bed or turn sideways to get from one side of the room to the other. The rooms are no frills and in need of some attention but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom worked. Unfortunately we had a ground floor room with a very bright street light outside the window which did not switch off until 7.00am - it lit up the whole room and there wasn't much we could do about it. It was also very noisy with people coming home from the pubs on Bleeker Street and from the trucks/taxis on 6th Ave.

The location is brilliant and shows you a little of what it would be like to live in New York (albeit in a dog box). The subway is a few minutes away, Broadway 10 minutes and we walked to Times Square a few times in about 30-40 minutes.

The office staff were very friendly and we had no problem with the door codes. We did make sure we called their offices before we left for NY to make sure they had the booking and that we understood the check in procedure which helped. They also let us store our luggage in their offices after check out which we really appreciated.

You have to pay for the internet service in the rooms and the signal was very poor from the ground floor. There is an Aroma Cafe on Houston about a 5/10 min walk away which has free internet (if you have your own laptop) and has reasonable coffee. The bagel cafe across 6th Ave was nice but the Mexican restaurant next door to the suites was appalling quality, overpriced and we had a spectacularly rude waiter.

We wouldn't stay here again as we found it a little depressing for a holiday - we'd rather go to a hotel next time but it was good value for money and a good base from which to explore NY.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

This hotel was in a great location in Greenwich Village, right in the heart of things, easily accessible by subway and around the corner from tiny streets filled with independent cafes and restaurants. You definitely felt like you lived in NYC for a few nights, as you have your own doorcode to come in and out of the building. You have to call before you check in, and sign in at an office down the street, but then the hotel room / apartment is yours. It was very cute - old style with fireplace (not working) and great wooden floors, but renovated with new amenities like a flat screen tv, cappuccino machine, and nice modern bed and linens. A few problems included a broken hand-held shower head in that it didn't attach to the wall, a broken jet tub that wouldn't "jet," and no toiletries (i.e. no soap in the bathroom or in kitchen for washing dishes. Otherwise, very lovely. The heater made some noise at night, but not enough to keep us awake. Great rooftop terrace to lounge on in the late afternoon. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Hard to review this place. The room was extremely tiny but lovely and clean. The location was fanatastic with free street parking within blocks. Now that i know what to expect I would go again... BUT... before you book you HAVE TO KNOW - there is no check-in desk, no on-site staff, no SIGN outside or even an address. The only reason we found it was because of the picture we saw of the building on-line. When they say check-in is at 3, that means wait oustide until the guy/person shows up at 3 to let you in.
There are phone numbers listed inside the door but none of them get you anywhere. OK, I'm sure you're turned off, but again, the room was lovely (tiny but clean) with a Euro kitchen and a court yard in the back, the street is sweet and relatively unknown even to seasoned New Yorkers, though it is off of MacDougal Street in the West Village. There is a Mexican restaurant next door that had great food and margueritas. You get what you pay for and for $150 on a holiday weekend, we were thrilled! Bring soap, shampoo, etc.

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

My daughter and I have travelled to NYC several times over the last year and this is the best value we have found. If you have never experienced NYC accomodations this place would definitely scare you off due to the wacky check in procedures and the drunk guy with a foreign accent who lets you in the door after phoning the numbers listed inside the front door. That aside, the room is a definite value considering you get the wall of kitchen ( micro, refrig, coffee maker, and sink) beside the bed. NYC is not the place for value. A 2 star hotel is smaller and offers less in the room than Minetta. I like the neighborhood and the access to the 4th St. station is convenient. You land at the suite just out of the Holland tunnel which cuts drastically down on the dreaded NY driving scene. Easy in easy out. Minetta Lane and Minetta St. are tranquil. Amazing that you can be in the big apple and turn down this street to complete tranquility. Try the Washington Square Diner for breakfast and the Whole Food across from Washington Square for groceries.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Check in is scary
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Booked a three night stay in the Minetta through a travel website. Having read reviews of the place I decided to ring the phone number I was given on confirmation to suss out the situation as many people had said there was no office at the Minetta...you had to go to an office around the corner etc so wanted to know where to actually go! The guy on the phone informed me my booking had been changed to another building called The Atrium on Bleecker St which I wouldn't have known if I hadn't called and gave me an address. This all sounded very odd and I must say I was a bit concerned but it turned out to be great! The company run from an office in the atrium just two minutes from the minetta and our apartment was HUGE. It was fairly clean and the decor was kind of dated but it was just so big we were delighted. The kitchen I wouldn't personally use it was very old looking but that didn't matter as you'd never be eating in. If you want to go to a hotel and have hotel service this isn't for you but if you want to be left alone and have a nice apt then this is perfect. Also personally Greenwich is one of the best places to experience true New York, it's full of amazing restaurants and bars and shopping and it's not as busy as say 5th avenue. So if you get the atrium don't be concerned. But I am not sure if this is a proper licensed company or someone just renting a few apartments!

  • Liked — The size
  • Disliked — The sketchy management details
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#186 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#141 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Jade Hotel
The Jade Hotel
#129 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soh...
#132 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#6 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signature Mini Suites of Minetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature Mini Suites of Minetta

Address: 9 Minetta Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 187 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:2 star — Signature Mini Suites of Minetta 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Signature Mini Suites Of Minetta Hotel New York City
Mini Suites Minetta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signature Mini Suites of Minetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.