We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Complete Package” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duo Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Duo Restaurant and Lounge
72 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
212-686-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 27th St & 28th St
Transit: Subway: -Take the 6 local train to 28th street and Park Ave and walk one block to Madison Ave. -Take the N local or R part time train to Broadway and 28th street and walk 2 blocks to Madison Ave.
Brooklyn NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Complete Package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, modern decor, food & service were wonderful. I have been there twice and have given gift certificates to two other couples, both of whom could not stop talking about their experience. On top of all of this, we were able to get a Bloomspot Coupon for a pre-fixe dinner which also included a bottle of wine, Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“deliscious dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a Living social deal and the initial contact with the waiter was a bit sketchy, but he did eventually get better as dinner moved forward. The calamari salad and tuna carpacio (great presentation) was excellent. Main courses were delicious, chicken was perfect with an unbelievable sauce, as were the tortellini. Side of creamed spinach with gruyere was superb. Deserts were exceptional. We are tough to please when it comes to restaurants and this place was a pleasant suprise. we will go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I dined there recently for the first one after getting a discount. The food was delicious. For the appetizers we had the tuna tartare and the calamari salad. Both were excellent. The calamari salad has a nice combination of flavors as did the tuna tartare that my husband had. I had the Bordeaux short ribs for the entree and the ribs were very tender with a delicate sauce that did not overwhelm them. My husband has the veal and loved that as well. We found that the service was excellent. There were several waiters checking in on us to see if everything was fine. We also liked the comfortable atmosphere and definitely plan to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

A great restaurant, well priced lovely food, great cocktails and faultless service. Coat check was good and the interior was lovely. This is a great place to eat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Crabby hostess, Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The hostess is rude and unfriendly. The waitress seemed like she wanted to be someplace else. Our brunch was good, not great. The bloody Mary was ok, not terrific. Really, the only thing going for the place is the decor and location.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duo Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duo Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.