We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngam

Ngam
99 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10003 (Central Park)
2127778424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ngam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,727 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Park
Cross street: 12th & 13th Streets
Transit: MTA Subway 14th Street and Union Square (MTA Line N / R / Q / L) 14th Street and 3rd Avenue (L Line) MTA Manhattan Bus M 101 / 102 / 103 M 15 M 1 / 2 / 3
Manchester, NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed a dinner with family at this tiny little Thai restaurant, and were delighted with how great the meals were. The service was quick, friendly, and very helpful. The food was awesome -- the appetizers were delicious, creatively presented, and very tasty. The pad thai was a little dry, but others with me thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Best part: The meals and drinks were very reasonably priced, given the quality and creativity and presentation of the meal. Highly recommend it. I'll definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    19
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Thai Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've been to Ngam several times and have never had a bad meal there. The atmosphere is friendly and comfortable and the food is amazing. Most is locally sourced, extremely fresh and amazing flavors. Spring Pea dumplings, green curry fried rice, and zucchini pad thai were really delicious! My only regret is that they don't deliver to my office.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AWESOME, innovative, cosy Thai place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I am very partial to places where you can watch the cooking and or dish assembling process. It's like dinner theater but with much better food and sometimes a more interesting and definitely spontaneous plot line. Ngam has some of my favorite elements: 1) fun, friendly staff and an owner who is very present, 2) the spectacle of cooking in front of guests, 3) a brick wall, gotta love it, 4) a very laid back atmosphere as if everyone there is in on a secret without having to talk about it openly, 5) GOOD food that is a great deal.

The Thai food is super innovative--pad thai with a duck leg, yes please! The hanger steak that comes with the appetizer sampler is amazing (according to 2 meat-loving men who joined me for dinner) so much that they asked for a plate of it and even though it is not on the menu, a plate was delivered (see? nice). the squid-ink noodles were delicious and my fresh zucchini pad thai (strands of zucchine rather than noodles) was just awesome and one of those things where you feel like the chef had you in mind when they created it.

Also just love that there are these home-cooked meal quotes all over about how a good meal is a gift- I bought it for sure, I am hooked on this place, will def. be back--and in a sea or restaurants in NYC, especially when it is a 30 min subway and walk to get there, that is saying something.

Oh, and get this: they take reservations. A concept that many, many places have not embraced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

NGAM is definitely the best Thai food I've had in NY. The ingredients are fresh, locally sourced gems. The flavors are excellent. And there are excellent vegan and gluten free options. This is a neighborhood gem and more!

The Saa cucumber slaw (salad) and the Pad Kee Mao (with rice noodles and chicken) are our favorites. Hubby also loves it with lobster.

NGAM offers private as well as communal seating. The decor is just awesome. And the waiters are all sweet are attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a cute place, great for a large group. We called ahead and made a reservation and they were extremely accommodating. The inside looked really cute, although a little dark.

The service was great, the food was good. I had the pad thai and my only complaint (along with others) was that the serving sizes were just a little too small. We were hungry a couple fo hours later.

The best part was the birthday special. They brought this amazing lychee custard. Also, Chef Hong herself came out to say happy birthday.

Overall, service and food were good. Serving size not great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngam also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.