We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food, fine drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neely's Barbecue Parlor

Neely's Barbecue Parlor
1125 1st Avenue, 62nd St., New York City, NY 10065-8301 (Upper East Side)
+1 212-832-1551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Neely's Barbecue Parlor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,218 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 62nd
Transit: Trains N,R,Q or 4,5,6 to 59th street Lexington Stop, Walk east to First Avenue, then north to 62nd street.
Description: For a true Southern comfort experience in the heart of NYC, Neely's Barbecue Parlor is the place to go. We serve authentic barbecue and southern-style comfort food in a friendly, down-home atmosphere. Our unique space allows you to choose from several different dining rooms, as well as a den, sitting room, front porch, and living room. Neely's embraces the parlor feel! Whether you're in the mood for a fun family outing, a tasty business dinner, or a romantic night for two, Neely's offers the perfect backdrop for every occasion. Enjoy our full-service bar, with seating for up to 50 people, several beers on tap, and a great happy hour with signature sangrias and much more. We have five TVs in the bar area and a projector screen for you to kick back and enjoy the game with friends. We are best known for Pat and Gina's delicious BBQ staples, from Kansas City spare ribs and Memphis-style baby back ribs to pulled pork and much more. We also offer a great selection of other food items including candied bacon, blackened catfish, and salmon. All of our barbecue is smoked in-house in our large Southern Pride Smoker. Can't stay for your meal? Don't worry - we offer takeout! We can also provide delicious catering for birthdays, meetings, and more so consider us for your next event!
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“nice food, fine drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we visited Neely's for dinner during our stay in New York City. the food was very nice, although i believe a bit over priced. the service was great! if you can't tolarate spicy good don't order the Neelly's spicy cocteil dring. it has halopenios peppers in it, as a main ingredient!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    37
    30
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't do it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm southern so I am probably pickier when it comes to BBQ but this was just BAD. So much potential in this restaurant. It's so cute (not as fancy as it looks online) and everyone is very nice but the food was just so blah. I normally have a rule to never go to a restaurant that is named after a mid-level chef especially in NYC because tourists will flock there and there really is no incentive to try to make the restaurant great. Why put in an effort if people will flock there anyways? How I ended up at this place is a long story but basically I had idea who were the Neelys were (shockingly this foodie doesn't watch the Food Network unless it's a competition show) until I got there. The fried pickles were really good. The pulled pork and brisket were SO dry and the mac and cheese tasted like cream cheese...which isn't good and I love cream cheese. My friend loved his collard greens. But we literally left our plate's full of meat because it wasn't worth the calories to even eat it.

This place is on the Upper East Side (which is also bizarre) so it's a bit outside tourist-land and probably won't last long but don't waste your time. The food isn't even average. The fact that it was dead on a Saturday night probably should have tipped us off.

If you are in NYC and really need to eat BBQ try Hill Country or Blue Smoke (the former is better). To the Neely's ---if you read this - PLEASE intervene because this place could be SO great but it needs fixing ASAP. Especially with such an awesome decor and bar area this place should be PACKED.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonder Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A delicious Sunday Brunch for 3 diners! Chicken-N-Waffles: Crispy!, flavorful an juicy and more than ample portion. Brisket Hash: delicious, tender meat, flavorful and filling. BBQ RIbs, baked beans and coleslaw: never better, really tasty, beans were obviously slow cooked according to deep flavoring; cole slaw was the just right combination of cream and crunchy.

Attentive servers; very nice layout allows for coziness and elbow room, private room(s) available. No waiting for a table on a Sat. afternoon after about 1 p.m. Will definitely do this again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great brunch with no lines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've had great experiences with Neely's the many times we've been there for dinner, but it really shines for brunch. The Southern food isn't the best I've had in the city, but it's very good with some menu standouts (crab cakes, maple glazed bacon). For brunch, expect their full lunch/dinner menu with added items like fried chicken and waffles, and country fried steak. The prices are comparable to other brunches in the city, but the food is better, the place is quiet and there is NO LINE. That's right, noon on a Saturday in NYC and there's a great brunch place with NO WAIT. Whenever I have out of town guests who want to "do brunch" in the city, I take them there, because maybe it isn't as legendary for brunch as Sarabeth's, but the food is less fussy, it's less crowded and no question about getting a table. It's a good place for friends with children/strollers. They also have some of the best cocktails in the city - treat yourself to a "Spiked VIP," an alcoholic Arnold Palmer (iced tea/lemonade mix). I'm always amazed how empty this place is on the weekends, definitely give it a try.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“fried green tomatoes a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in NYC for Thankgiving and ate here. Although they ask you to fill out a form to comfirm your reservation, most restaurants do on Thanksgiving. The food was great!!! I had the thanksgiving special and my daughter had the best Shrimp and Grits ever with mac and cheese that melts in your mouth. The sangria are unique and fried green tomatoes a must.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neely's Barbecue Parlor also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Neely's Barbecue Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neely's Barbecue Parlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.