We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing out of the ordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bakery

Magnolia Bakery
107 E 42nd St, New York City, NY 10017 (Central Park)
212-682-3588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #708 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Bakery
Neighborhood: Central Park
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Park
Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We purchased a few cupcakes recently for dessert and while they were good, they certainly weren't anything over the top. I didn't think the prices were terrible for what we got, I was just expecting a more flavorful cupcake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    71
    43
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“love those cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The cupcakes are always fresh, and I love their flavor combinations. The service was friendly, and they packed ours in a box so we could save it for the evening, after theater. We return every trip to NYC.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Price Swapping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was my first and last experience with this bakery. I selected a mini pie whose sign underneath said "snicker pie $5". It was the size of a small 3" tart. When the cashier rang me out, the pie was$8. I paid the cashier thinking i read the sign incorrectly. I asked the counter person about this price discrepancy. He called another man, who then spoke to cashier. Then they called a woman whom I assume was the manager. She said the trays were in the wrong spot. It was the slice of pie that cost $5. I told her the sign should say"slice of snicker pie" not simply "snicker pie". I am not a penny pincher when it comes to food. i've eaten more expensive desserts so paying $8 is not unusual. But I will not patronize this bakery again. It appears to be poorly managed and a rip-off. This was the grand central station location. I wonder how many tourists are ripped off at this location. Thinking they are paying one price because of the signage, but charged another! The staff seemed untrained and spent time talking to each other instead of waiting on customers. Company is losing lots of $$$ because of poorly managed staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

cheesecake are superb, with a slight preference for the lemon ones... and everything else too! People are very nice on 6th avenue and in grand central too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Red velvet cupcakes to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Try the red velvet cupcakes - they are amazing! Also look out for the specials of the day - the carrot cake cupcake is also amazing

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.