We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crisp Outside and a Good Chew” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ess-a-Bagel

Ess-a-Bagel
831 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
212 980 1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Crisp Outside and a Good Chew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here many times and always enjoy it. The everything bagel is my favorite, while my wife prefers the sesame. My go to spread is the lox cream cheese and my wife likes the plain. Sometimes we get them toasted and at other times we don't. I think it depends on whether or not we want a little added crunch. We ate here twice over a long weekend and the first time was a little better than the second because of a mix up on my bagel that resulted in me getting lox rather than lox spread. I accepted it and paid for it and enjoyed it---I just hadn't planned on getting a breakfast sandwich---there were not many slices of lox and I had read of similar issues. All in all, it is a fun place to eat and watch visitors who are unfamiliar with the ordering process look like deer in the headlights. I think the confusion occurs when people walk to the take out bagels only area instead of getting a "dressed" bagel in the regular line when they want it to go. The servers seem to take it in good stride because they seem to realize that their idea of speedy service just doesn't jive with some first time visitors. The bagels are large, fresh, and a perfect way to start the day. I knocked down the ratings by one circle because of the mix up on receiving lox rather than lox spread one day. I guess I could have refused it but hey, sometimes you roll with the punches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    83
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great breakfast bagel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So much choice of fillings & bagels & at good prices. I was here twice at 6 a.m. but the third time when I fancied a bagel for lunch I gave up becaue the line was so long. Great place for an early breakfast though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is where you get a real NY bagel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are many excellent bagels in this city but these are the BEST bagels. Why? Warm, chewy, and huge. The experience is NY too. You walk in to the most delicious smell and you will see two lines. Along the wall on the left is the bagel sandwich line... it is always long and getting a sandwich increases the cash outlay. But, for those of us who need bagels for the week, we go to the smaller counter on the back wall and get a baker's dozen of warm (sometimes hot) delicious bagels. You can ask for a small (or big) container of cream cheese or butter or lox spread.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Bagels and other breakfast items Close by the hotel and reasonable prices. Quick service, and a wide variety of bagels and cream cheeses.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eh, it is ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I wanted an authentic NY bagel after hearing people rave about them my whole life. I searched the web and found this was voted one of the best, so we decided to check it out. I got a plain bagel with chocolate chip cream cheese and an iced coffee. My husband got a pizza bagel and a soda.
The bagel was just ok. It tasted like a Lender's bagel. The cream cheese though was AMAZING. IT was like eating cheesecake on a bagel....so good. The iced coffee was good, but not the best. The price was sort of high for what we had (about 15 dollars for our breakfast).
We also tried Murray's bagels and I recommend it over Ess A Bagel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ess-a-Bagel also viewed

 

Been to Ess-a-Bagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ess-a-Bagel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.