We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel. I will probably when return to ny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harlem YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Harlem YMCA to your Saves list
The Harlem YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel. I will probably when return to ny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Close to subway station (1 block)
Nice neighborhood
Friendly staff
Gym and pool
Cheaper than average in ny
Clean rooms and bathroom
Great option for low budget travelers

I will probably come back here again when i return to nyc

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
23
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed two nights here while visiting the city. The house is very nice and appointed with beautiful and interesting art and furniture. The room was comfortable and Rick , the owner and host made us feel right at home. He was also very helpful with hints on getting around and choosing attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place was a nightmare no bathrooms easy acessible only on the 7th floor (1 shower and toilet) 10th floor being renovated and on the 11th floor.
we were moved 4times in one night as we had been put 'on the wrong floor' and 'shouldnt have been on that floor' which was rather worrying as the other floors housed 'long term' residents who all looked like drunks and drug addicts and homeless people. Then we were put on the floor that was being renovated and we couldn't stay there either..Next put on the 7 th floor and given a dirty room finally got in to a cleaned room.
my boyfriend was racially abused in the gym showers!
The rooms weren't very clean tiny with bunk beds and a fridge ..no room to swing a cat.
the staff were pleasant and the security guard was brilliant after watching me walk round the floors looking for showers came and rescued me and pointed me in the right direction.
location was ok seconds away from the subway.
I would not stay here go to the vanderbilt one my sister was in there while we were in the harlem hostel and hers was much better.

Room Tip: Dont stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

If travelling on a budget this no frills hostel is a good option. When I was there the elevator did not work properly but otherwise all was well functioning. The pool I found a great extra, although I did not find the time to use it. Friendly staff. Great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

You certainly don't expect a lot from a hostel in this price segment at the big apple.

Firstly, the room was really small! The shared bathrooms couldn't give us a better impression, but seemed to be pretty much clean.

This part of the neighborhood of Harlem and the walk to the close-by tube station seem to be safer than other parts of Harlem apparently are. With the tube it takes about 10 minutes to Times Square.

Staff at the reception was nice and helpful, even while canceling the remaining nights.

All in all: This hostel offers rooms at a great value, considering the short distance to main attractions and seems to a suitable for backpackers and hard-boiled hostel guests!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My friend and I spent three nights there and we were just looking for a good place with a reasonable price for us. Because we used to spend all day in Manhattan and just went back to YMCA to rest at night, our experience was ok. They provided one courtesy breakfast in a restaurant nearby. The subway station is located less than five minutes walking. The building, rooms and bath/restrooms are quite clean but not very attractive, maybe because the building is old. Wi-fi is available particularly in the lobby. It suited for us specially because of the price.

Room Tip: Choose the new rooms on the 11th floor, if possible. They have been recently reformed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harlem YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlem YMCA

Address: 180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harlem YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more and pay less, when you stay with us at the YMCA! Enjoy our full-service fitness center which includes swimming pool, steam room and sauna, and cardiovascular and strength training studios. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi and television in the tourist lounge, business center, daily housekeeping services, and 24-hour security. For travelers who are on the go, we are conveniently located near four subway lines (2/3, B/C) which run 24 hours a day. A 10 minute ride will take you to the most scenic and serene sections of Central Park, and 10 minutes more will take you to the heart of Manhattan and hotspots like Times Square, Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center. Stay in the neighborhood and admire the historic architecture and rich cultural sites on a guided tour through Harlem, get a taste of soul by Top Chef Master, Marcus Samuelsson at Red Rooster, and polish off the night with some smooth jazz on Sugar Hill. We have private single rooms as well as private doubles (bunk beds). Guests share common bathrooms which are conveniently located on each floor. • Free unlimited Wi-Fi (in tourist lounge)• Clean linens & towels provided • No curfew or lockout • Each room is private with own lock and key• Each room has air conditioning & refrigerator• 24 Hour security• Elevator building• Free Tourist Information and Maps. If you would like to inquire about group rates, or have additional questions please contact us!Please Note: All guests must be 13 years of age or older. Valid Photo ID is required to stay at the YMCA. Maximum length of stay is 25 days. Visitors are not permitted on the guest room floors. Check-in after 2pm, Check-out by 11am. Reservations may be cancelled up to 24 hours prior to arrival date without incurring penalty charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Harlem YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harlem Ymca Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harlem YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.