We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a friendly host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harlem YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Harlem YMCA to your Saves list
The Harlem YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place with a friendly host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed two nights here while visiting the city. The house is very nice and appointed with beautiful and interesting art and furniture. The room was comfortable and Rick , the owner and host made us feel right at home. He was also very helpful with hints on getting around and choosing attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
15
28
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place was a nightmare no bathrooms easy acessible only on the 7th floor (1 shower and toilet) 10th floor being renovated and on the 11th floor.
we were moved 4times in one night as we had been put 'on the wrong floor' and 'shouldnt have been on that floor' which was rather worrying as the other floors housed 'long term' residents who all looked like drunks and drug addicts and homeless people. Then we were put on the floor that was being renovated and we couldn't stay there either..Next put on the 7 th floor and given a dirty room finally got in to a cleaned room.
my boyfriend was racially abused in the gym showers!
The rooms weren't very clean tiny with bunk beds and a fridge ..no room to swing a cat.
the staff were pleasant and the security guard was brilliant after watching me walk round the floors looking for showers came and rescued me and pointed me in the right direction.
location was ok seconds away from the subway.
I would not stay here go to the vanderbilt one my sister was in there while we were in the harlem hostel and hers was much better.

Room Tip: Dont stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

If travelling on a budget this no frills hostel is a good option. When I was there the elevator did not work properly but otherwise all was well functioning. The pool I found a great extra, although I did not find the time to use it. Friendly staff. Great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

You certainly don't expect a lot from a hostel in this price segment at the big apple.

Firstly, the room was really small! The shared bathrooms couldn't give us a better impression, but seemed to be pretty much clean.

This part of the neighborhood of Harlem and the walk to the close-by tube station seem to be safer than other parts of Harlem apparently are. With the tube it takes about 10 minutes to Times Square.

Staff at the reception was nice and helpful, even while canceling the remaining nights.

All in all: This hostel offers rooms at a great value, considering the short distance to main attractions and seems to a suitable for backpackers and hard-boiled hostel guests!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My friend and I spent three nights there and we were just looking for a good place with a reasonable price for us. Because we used to spend all day in Manhattan and just went back to YMCA to rest at night, our experience was ok. They provided one courtesy breakfast in a restaurant nearby. The subway station is located less than five minutes walking. The building, rooms and bath/restrooms are quite clean but not very attractive, maybe because the building is old. Wi-fi is available particularly in the lobby. It suited for us specially because of the price.

Room Tip: Choose the new rooms on the 11th floor, if possible. They have been recently reformed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed in plenty of NYC area Ys and was not expecting anything glamorous; however, for the amount you pay to stay here, things should be a bit better.
I live in the NYC area but had to go into town for a show at JALC on a snowy evening. The weather was expected to worsen as the night went on, so I took an overnight bag and booked a room here in case the trains went down.
I got to the Harlem Y after 10 PM. During late hours, check-in is done with the security guard who will take your ID (drivers license or passport) as security. You get it back after you formally check-in and pay the following AM.
I ended up with a room on the 7th floor - 715, I believe. Spartan even by Y standards. Tiny room with barely enough space for the twin bed and dresser. There was a large college type fridge that was very clean inside. There was also a closet with its door torn off the hinges. The room itself was not incredibly clean. The corners of the floor were grimy. Heat is by radiator. There was an air conditioner still in the window on a snowy December night although it appeared to be sealed well and did not cause a draft. A 'do not disturb' sign was provided as well as a large mirror over the dresser.
A towel is provided but not a washcloth. Also, bring flip flops if you plan on staying here. You'll need them, especially for the showers.
The 7th floor was very quiet. The lounge had a microwave, soda machine, and a circular table with chairs. It seemed clean.
There is one women's toilet and shower on the 7th floor. The faucets to the sink in that bathroom are not fixed and move around when you try to use them. I used one of the private bathrooms on the 10th floor to shower. Did not find it terribly clean. There was grime and mildew in the shower stall. I will say that this was a Sunday AM and most Ys that I have stayed in have more of a skeleton cleaning crew on the weekends. Someone else had left her towel and toiletries in the shower stall, which I found annoying.
Check out was quick and no problems. The subway is very close to the entrance and I don't find this part of Harlem (half a block away from Harlem Hospital) all that rough.
Basically, I would book at the Y in Greenpoint before here. Also, if you can, would put out what is probably an extra $20/night and stay at the Y on the Upper West Side, which is basic but nice and a very nice location. Would only stay here in a pinch. It is safe and quiet though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a floor other than 7, especially if you are a woman. There are more bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Comfort Inn
#15 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#389 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#345 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#34 of 188 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#36 of 188 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harlem YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlem YMCA

Address: 180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 188 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harlem YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more and pay less, when you stay with us at the YMCA! Enjoy our full-service fitness center which includes swimming pool, steam room and sauna, and cardiovascular and strength training studios. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi and television in the tourist lounge, business center, daily housekeeping services, and 24-hour security. For travelers who are on the go, we are conveniently located near four subway lines (2/3, B/C) which run 24 hours a day. A 10 minute ride will take you to the most scenic and serene sections of Central Park, and 10 minutes more will take you to the heart of Manhattan and hotspots like Times Square, Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center. Stay in the neighborhood and admire the historic architecture and rich cultural sites on a guided tour through Harlem, get a taste of soul by Top Chef Master, Marcus Samuelsson at Red Rooster, and polish off the night with some smooth jazz on Sugar Hill. We have private single rooms as well as private doubles (bunk beds). Guests share common bathrooms which are conveniently located on each floor. • Free unlimited Wi-Fi (in tourist lounge)• Clean linens & towels provided • No curfew or lockout • Each room is private with own lock and key• Each room has air conditioning & refrigerator• 24 Hour security• Elevator building• Free Tourist Information and Maps. If you would like to inquire about group rates, or have additional questions please contact us!Please Note: All guests must be 13 years of age or older. Valid Photo ID is required to stay at the YMCA. Maximum length of stay is 25 days. Visitors are not permitted on the guest room floors. Check-in after 2pm, Check-out by 11am. Reservations may be cancelled up to 24 hours prior to arrival date without incurring penalty charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your The Harlem YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harlem Ymca Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harlem YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.