We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hostel but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Harlem YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Harlem YMCA to your Saves list
The Harlem YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap hostel but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Ymca is a very pocket friendly hotel in nyc. The location is easily accessible by metro.
Very international back packers.
In our booking, wit was stated that no check in allow after 12 mid night. Our flight was delayed and we tried contacting them. They never pick up calls after numerous tries. We even left a voice mail and email. Luckily we arrived just before mid night.
Upon arrival, we did the 'first part' of check in and was told to do '2 nd' part on the morning. They even took our passport.
The next day,they lost the check in card we filled the night before and was told thatbwe could pay when we check out but5 minutes later,was told to pay.
The room is clean and no bed bugs HOWEVER although we are on the 10th floor, we can still hear the traffic downstairs. There is an air condition in The room, but it was extremely noisy, imagine a car with the engine turn on in the room. It's loud. The corridor was also noisy with ppl slamming their doors and talking loudly. On sunday night, i guess the cleaners were cleaning the toilet at 3 am. It was VERY noisy... Perhaps we are also unlucky enough to have a group of noisy spanish students staying on the same floor...so, be ware, it's not sound proof.
The rooms are clean with thick mattress and a small fridge. The bath room....it's shared and you can only use the 7th, 10th and 11th floor. The bath room has alot of hair on the floor. I think, it will be great if they have more bath rooms on every floor, either you wake up early to use the toilet or queue.
Wifi is only available on the common room on the ground floor.
In all, if you are really on a tight budget and dont mind noise, this is a good place. Cheap but i couldnt really recommend it though...

Room Tip: Avoid rm 1024 to 1026 as it is near the toilet and shared area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, General Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Leslie,

We're very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our hostel!

We appreciate your feedback about the overnight check-in. We do have 24 hour security to help facilitate overnight check-ins, but because security staff have no access to our booking system, only our trained guest rooms staff can complete the payment and check-in. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused you, and are always looking for ways to streamline the check-in process.

I also want to apologize about the noise. During the low season we plan to carpet the hallways which we hope will dampen some of the sound that travels.

Once again we appreciate your feedback, and will continue to work to provide the best possible experience for future guests.

Kind regards,
Thalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
23
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tastingfoodie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Service : The staff was super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, just a pleasure to meet
Value : you wont get anything cheaper in NY, the place is extra clean, there are 3 common bathrooms with shower on the floor and you get a complimentary soap. There is also a kitchen equipped with a vending machine, a sink and a microwave, those as well were super clean. You get a private small fridge in your room.
Sleep Quality: The rooms have bunk beds and its not a tempurpedic mattress, it's more the type of beds you get in summer camp but still comfy. Im very sound sensitive so I do sleep with ear plugs, if you do not, the sounds of the street (honking) or even other residents passing in the hallways might bother you. Just bring ear plugs.
Cleanliness : I was actually shocked on how clean everything was (rooms, kitchen and bathrooms). 10/10 for cleanliness!
Location: Its at one stop over from the subway station and there are really good cheap eats (try the tropical grill, nearby)
Rooms : Our room was super small, we needed to maneuver our way in and out of the room because 2 people didn't pass from the end of the room to the door. I did see other rooms that were bigger (don't get room 1024, that's the closet-sized one). You also have a mini fridge to keep your food in each room.
Room Service: well none but hey, you get to use the Y facilities like the pool for free
Spa: I think the pool has a sauna :)
Wifi: you can use the wifi only on the lobby floor, it doesn't really get to the 10th. They also have PC you can use at 10 cents a minute and print pages for 50 cents a page.

Keep in mind this is Manhattan and to find something this cheap would probably mean far from the city, or bug infested or worst, if you are a budget traveler, this is the best place to be, it will remind you of school dorms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room "bigger" than 1024, they will understand :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for the positive and useful review! The tip about earplugs was particularly ingenious. We are very happy to hear that you made the most of your stay here at the Harlem Y. You were correct as well about the sauna -- we have steam rooms and saunas in both the men's and women's locker rooms. We are currently working on a solution to extend our Wi-Fi access to the guest room floors so hopefully you will be able to take advantage of that during your next visit!

Safe travels,

Thalia
Harlem Y Guest Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I really didn't enjoy my stay here at the YMCA. I have heard that this hostel is suppose to be just somewhere to get a cheap stay but I will not be staying here again. The hospitality was good but the rooms and bathrooms were def. a 3 out of 10 rating. Easier just to spend an extra 20-50 dollars on a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, General Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your honest feedback about our guest rooms. We're very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time around and are working diligently to improve our facilities and services based on recommendations from guests like yourself. We are currently doing major renovations to our guest rooms floors which will include flat screen TVs in our deluxe rooms. A complete renovation of bathrooms on all floors has already been contracted for this year which will increase the number of restrooms available to our guests on each floor as well as the overall quality. I hope that you will get an opportunity to see the changes! Once again, we appreciate your review.

Sincerely,
Harlem Guest Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

YMCA would be the place...the hostel is extremely simple but at least they have beds and baths! And 24hours security, I would never recommend for anyone older than 25, can be humiliating.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, Guest Relations Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our site! Please let us know what we could have done differently or better to improve the experience next time. We strive to maintain an environment that is comfortable and appropriate for adults of all ages. We appreciate your honest feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I was looking for some cheap stay in NY for three nights and tried Harlem YMCA. It is truly cheap considering NY prices, reasonably located (1 minute walk to subway, 15 minutes ride to Times sq.), clean and safe (24/7 security) place to stay. Neighbourhoods could seem little gloomy at first sight, but it is nothing to be afraid of. Nearby IHOP restaurant serves tasty breakfasts (mmm the omelets), cheap chinese takeaway is two blocks away (5minutes walk). Rooms looks like small cells, but they are clean (and cleaned every day). Try to avoid rooms faced to main street (135st) - during night there used to be a lot of noise from ambulances!

Room Tip: Rooms facing 135st are noisy (ambulances from Harlem hospital are hear a lot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Useful informations about the hostel:
- Metro stations are five minutes away in each direction:
Station name: 135th street
Directions: Uptown/Bronx or Downtown/Queens/Brooklyn (map.jpg)
- Small Grocery Store: 135th/Adam Clayton Powell Blvd (7th Avenue), small bottle of water: 1$
- Breakfast: IHOP - International House of Pancakes, opposite of the Grocery, small stack of pancakes: 5,49$ - special (morning) offer stack/2.99ea
- Walking to the Central Park: 30 Minutes (normal walk speed)
- our room was on the 10th floor, we had 3 bathrooms (toilet, shower with hot water) on the floor
- our room: tv, bunk bed, closet, fridge, nice view on the skyline of NYC
- if the showers are occupied, you can always try the showers on the 11th floor (seperated rooms for men and women)
- there is a room (lounge with tvs and free WIFI access) in the basement reachable from the lobby
- the staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are simple but clean

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Harlem Y provides basic accommodation - a room with a bed, dresser, closet - shower and toilet down the hall. There is free wifi and a TV in the lounge downstairs. You can use any of the Y's facilities while there - pool, gym, etc. There are no frills. BUT - the place is absolutely spotless and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The subway is less than half a block away and there are plenty of delis and shops. I was in the area for a job interview and did not want to spend a lot of money for a hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harlem YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlem YMCA

Address: 180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harlem YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more and pay less, when you stay with us at the YMCA! Enjoy our full-service fitness center which includes swimming pool, steam room and sauna, and cardiovascular and strength training studios. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi and television in the tourist lounge, business center, daily housekeeping services, and 24-hour security. For travelers who are on the go, we are conveniently located near four subway lines (2/3, B/C) which run 24 hours a day. A 10 minute ride will take you to the most scenic and serene sections of Central Park, and 10 minutes more will take you to the heart of Manhattan and hotspots like Times Square, Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center. Stay in the neighborhood and admire the historic architecture and rich cultural sites on a guided tour through Harlem, get a taste of soul by Top Chef Master, Marcus Samuelsson at Red Rooster, and polish off the night with some smooth jazz on Sugar Hill. We have private single rooms as well as private doubles (bunk beds). Guests share common bathrooms which are conveniently located on each floor. • Free unlimited Wi-Fi (in tourist lounge)• Clean linens & towels provided • No curfew or lockout • Each room is private with own lock and key• Each room has air conditioning & refrigerator• 24 Hour security• Elevator building• Free Tourist Information and Maps. If you would like to inquire about group rates, or have additional questions please contact us!Please Note: All guests must be 13 years of age or older. Valid Photo ID is required to stay at the YMCA. Maximum length of stay is 25 days. Visitors are not permitted on the guest room floors. Check-in after 2pm, Check-out by 11am. Reservations may be cancelled up to 24 hours prior to arrival date without incurring penalty charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Harlem YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harlem Ymca Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harlem YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.