We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for your money, clean and comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harlem YMCA

Save Saved
You added The Harlem YMCA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Harlem YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel amenities
tastingfoodie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best value for your money, clean and comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Service : The staff was super helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, just a pleasure to meet
Value : you wont get anything cheaper in NY, the place is extra clean, there are 3 common bathrooms with shower on the floor and you get a complimentary soap. There is also a kitchen equipped with a vending machine, a sink and a microwave, those as well were super clean. You get a private small fridge in your room.
Sleep Quality: The rooms have bunk beds and its not a tempurpedic mattress, it's more the type of beds you get in summer camp but still comfy. Im very sound sensitive so I do sleep with ear plugs, if you do not, the sounds of the street (honking) or even other residents passing in the hallways might bother you. Just bring ear plugs.
Cleanliness : I was actually shocked on how clean everything was (rooms, kitchen and bathrooms). 10/10 for cleanliness!
Location: Its at one stop over from the subway station and there are really good cheap eats (try the tropical grill, nearby)
Rooms : Our room was super small, we needed to maneuver our way in and out of the room because 2 people didn't pass from the end of the room to the door. I did see other rooms that were bigger (don't get room 1024, that's the closet-sized one). You also have a mini fridge to keep your food in each room.
Room Service: well none but hey, you get to use the Y facilities like the pool for free
Spa: I think the pool has a sauna :)
Wifi: you can use the wifi only on the lobby floor, it doesn't really get to the 10th. They also have PC you can use at 10 cents a minute and print pages for 50 cents a page.

Keep in mind this is Manhattan and to find something this cheap would probably mean far from the city, or bug infested or worst, if you are a budget traveler, this is the best place to be, it will remind you of school dorms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room "bigger" than 1024, they will understand :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for the positive and useful review! The tip about earplugs was particularly ingenious. We are very happy to hear that you made the most of your stay here at the Harlem Y. You were correct as well about the sauna -- we have steam rooms and saunas in both the men's and women's locker rooms. We are currently working on a solution to extend our Wi-Fi access to the guest room floors so hopefully you will be able to take advantage of that during your next visit!

Safe travels,

Thalia
Harlem Y Guest Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
15
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I really didn't enjoy my stay here at the YMCA. I have heard that this hostel is suppose to be just somewhere to get a cheap stay but I will not be staying here again. The hospitality was good but the rooms and bathrooms were def. a 3 out of 10 rating. Easier just to spend an extra 20-50 dollars on a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, General Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your honest feedback about our guest rooms. We're very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time around and are working diligently to improve our facilities and services based on recommendations from guests like yourself. We are currently doing major renovations to our guest rooms floors which will include flat screen TVs in our deluxe rooms. A complete renovation of bathrooms on all floors has already been contracted for this year which will increase the number of restrooms available to our guests on each floor as well as the overall quality. I hope that you will get an opportunity to see the changes! Once again, we appreciate your review.

Sincerely,
Harlem Guest Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

YMCA would be the place...the hostel is extremely simple but at least they have beds and baths! And 24hours security, I would never recommend for anyone older than 25, can be humiliating.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalia K, Guest Relations Manager at The Harlem YMCA, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our site! Please let us know what we could have done differently or better to improve the experience next time. We strive to maintain an environment that is comfortable and appropriate for adults of all ages. We appreciate your honest feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I was looking for some cheap stay in NY for three nights and tried Harlem YMCA. It is truly cheap considering NY prices, reasonably located (1 minute walk to subway, 15 minutes ride to Times sq.), clean and safe (24/7 security) place to stay. Neighbourhoods could seem little gloomy at first sight, but it is nothing to be afraid of. Nearby IHOP restaurant serves tasty breakfasts (mmm the omelets), cheap chinese takeaway is two blocks away (5minutes walk). Rooms looks like small cells, but they are clean (and cleaned every day). Try to avoid rooms faced to main street (135st) - during night there used to be a lot of noise from ambulances!

Room Tip: Rooms facing 135st are noisy (ambulances from Harlem hospital are hear a lot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Useful informations about the hostel:
- Metro stations are five minutes away in each direction:
Station name: 135th street
Directions: Uptown/Bronx or Downtown/Queens/Brooklyn (map.jpg)
- Small Grocery Store: 135th/Adam Clayton Powell Blvd (7th Avenue), small bottle of water: 1$
- Breakfast: IHOP - International House of Pancakes, opposite of the Grocery, small stack of pancakes: 5,49$ - special (morning) offer stack/2.99ea
- Walking to the Central Park: 30 Minutes (normal walk speed)
- our room was on the 10th floor, we had 3 bathrooms (toilet, shower with hot water) on the floor
- our room: tv, bunk bed, closet, fridge, nice view on the skyline of NYC
- if the showers are occupied, you can always try the showers on the 11th floor (seperated rooms for men and women)
- there is a room (lounge with tvs and free WIFI access) in the basement reachable from the lobby
- the staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are simple but clean

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Harlem Y provides basic accommodation - a room with a bed, dresser, closet - shower and toilet down the hall. There is free wifi and a TV in the lounge downstairs. You can use any of the Y's facilities while there - pool, gym, etc. There are no frills. BUT - the place is absolutely spotless and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The subway is less than half a block away and there are plenty of delis and shops. I was in the area for a job interview and did not want to spend a lot of money for a hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

the room was very average. the tv had no cable, and there was no reception for the telly. there was no hot water for a hot shower! they were also like those `gym showers`, where there is one big room with a couple of showers in it, as opposed to individual showers. but the staff were very friendly, especially the lady at the booth that took the payments and stuff. i would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Harlem YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlem YMCA

Address: 180 W. 135th Street, at Seventh Avenue, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 182 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harlem YMCA 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more and pay less, when you stay with us at the YMCA! Enjoy our full-service fitness center which includes swimming pool, steam room and sauna, and cardiovascular and strength training studios. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi and television in the tourist lounge, business center, daily housekeeping services, and 24-hour security. For travelers who are on the go, we are conveniently located near four subway lines (2/3, B/C) which run 24 hours a day. A 10 minute ride will take you to the most scenic and serene sections of Central Park, and 10 minutes more will take you to the heart of Manhattan and hotspots like Times Square, Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center. Stay in the neighborhood and admire the historic architecture and rich cultural sites on a guided tour through Harlem, get a taste of soul by Top Chef Master, Marcus Samuelsson at Red Rooster, and polish off the night with some smooth jazz on Sugar Hill. We have private single rooms as well as private doubles (bunk beds). Guests share common bathrooms which are conveniently located on each floor. • Free unlimited Wi-Fi (in tourist lounge)• Clean linens & towels provided • No curfew or lockout • Each room is private with own lock and key• Each room has air conditioning & refrigerator• 24 Hour security• Elevator building• Free Tourist Information and Maps. If you would like to inquire about group rates, or have additional questions please contact us!Please Note: All guests must be 13 years of age or older. Valid Photo ID is required to stay at the YMCA. Maximum length of stay is 25 days. Visitors are not permitted on the guest room floors. Check-in after 2pm, Check-out by 11am. Reservations may be cancelled up to 24 hours prior to arrival date without incurring penalty charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your The Harlem YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harlem Ymca Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harlem YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.