We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, good price, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park South Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park South Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Park South Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off Special !
Ranked #151 of 446 hotels in New York City
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay, good price, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel and have no complaints. Excellent location, accessible to many restaurants, shopping, sites, etc. Subway on the corner. Rooms were clean and updated and quiet; did not hear any other guests, just some elevator traffic. Also, very spacious room for a NYC hotel; I actually enjoyed spending some downtime in the room in between activities, which is a rarity for a NYC hotel - usually the rooms are so cramped, I don't even want to spend time in them, but I liked the hotel so much, I looked forward to having a break and sitting in the chaise lounge, using the free wi-fi and ordering a glass of wine from room service. High celiings made the room appear even more spacious and the bed was comfy. Staff was great and friendly and responsive when we needed our shower worked on (it needed a bit of repair, nbd). Small TV but I never even turned it on; who needs TV when you are in NYC? Free breakfast was decent, but again, not going to eat hotel food when I am in NY (I just grabbed a cup of coffee and a croissant to tide me over). MP3/iPod or iPhone can plug into alarm clock for music and they had free wi-fi. For the price, you cannot do better. We took the train, so I can't speak to the parking situation or any of that, nor did we eat in the restaurant. They accommodated early check-in (1pm) and held our bags for our entire second day in NY without problem. I highly recommend and will stay here again!

Room Tip: request and upper floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and thorough review. I’m very pleased you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished executive rooms. We have a number of features still to come including lager flat screen TV’s which will have the capability to interact with your entertainment devices very seamlessly. We are also looking forward to the launch of our NEW rooftop bar in the spring so maybe we can entice you to have that wine on the roof. Either way, I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    429
    92
    42
    23
See reviews for
151
290
48
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Terrific hotel - clean, comfortable and quiet. includes continental breakfast like European hotels, and free WiFi. The rooms at the front and back of the hotel (facing E 28th and 29th Streets) are larger - I got one of these even though I booked through one of the discounters. Check the hotel website before booking - they had the best price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendation. I’m glad you enjoyed your newly refurbished executive room. I hope you will reach out to me directly for an even better deal on your next accommodation. Thanks again, I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location and helpful staff. The recent renovations are awesome!
Free wifi and breakfast is a bonus.
Location is great for subway, walking, restaurants and the price is right.
Have stayed here many times over the years.
I keep coming back.

Room Tip: The king room and awesome new shower is a real treat! These rooms are away from the elevators so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the thoughtful and kind feedback, we are always happy to hear when our guests are pleased. I hope you will allow me the opportunity to take care of your arrangements on your next visit. I’m always eager to get to know our frequent guests. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any service. Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Park South is an amazing hotel in the heart of NY, design is present in the rooms, bed are amazing I had an amazing sleep and the bar was great too, very, very well located and price reasonable, I will come back to this hotel in the future!, ah almost forget u have a place to park, if your driving in front of the hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation and for taking the time to post your informative feedback. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our services. I hope to see you back with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We picked up a room via Hotwire and were very pleased with the accomodations for the price we paid. I am convinced hotels give you the more run-down rooms when they see you have booked through Hotwire, but when you don't plan on spending much time in the room and just need a clean place to lay your head each night, this fit the bill. If they are renovating rooms, they have not made it to our 2nd floor room yet. The carpeting was wrinkled and some of the paint was peeling in the bathroom. BUT, the room, bed, and bathroom were all very clean. The towels were big and fluffy; shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion were available (this seems to be the first things hotels skimp on lately!); and chocolates were left on our pillows each night when they turned our bed down for us. The breakfast spread was more than adequate with fruit, cheeses, meats, bagels/creamcheese, cereal, yogurt, etc. and we hit the pavement for sightseeing with full bellies each morning. Staff were all very friendly; location was very convenient to subway stops; and we heard no noise - from other guests or the street - at night.

It was about what I'd expect from a 3 star hotel, and we were pleased with the accomodations for the money spent. I will definitely include Park South in my hunt for a good hotel deal when we return next fall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thorough and kind review. I do want to assure you that we do not assign rooms based on the booking source and that our room refurbishment is still underway. We have managed to complete more than half of our room inventory but should be completed by early 2014. I hope you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to offer you a direct special rate for your next visit. Thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Love to stay in a boutique hotel and Park South fit the bill. Arrived early, left luggage, enjoyed a delightful breakfast before heading out to the New York Open for an awesome day of tennis. We were within walking distance of everything - Grand Central Station for all subway routes - additional subway connections - etc. Our room was on the small side for 3 adults, but it was clean, quiet and just what we needed for our stay. The staff was so helpful and friendly! Breakfast buffet perfect and we had dinner at the Black Duck - nice wait staff, great food and fun bar scene. A jazz band was also there to add to the ambiance. Would stay here again - close to great restaurants, bars, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: Faced the interior - roof view ... very quiet, but not much to look at if you are looking for a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I’m not certain which room type you requested but I would strongly suggest one f our executive doubles next time when traveling with three adults. Please be sure to contact me directly on your next visit so I can see to your arrangements personally. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The staff is very welcoming and nice. They offer help even without you asking and step out of their way to make you feel at home. Our room was quite spacious but most importantly super clean. The only draw back was how long we had to wait to check in although we had a toddler and had just landed after a 14 hr flight. We got to the hotel, our room wasn't ready, we left and came back to find a big group of teenage girls being checked in and we had to wait for them all to finish before getting our room.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I’m pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us however I do apologize for any delays you encountered upon arrival. I can totally understand and sympathize with the challenges of traveling with a toddler let alone for 14 hours. I do appreciate your understanding and graciousness under the circumstances. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly for assistance, I’ll make there is no wait or delays. Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park South Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Park SouthA charming boutique hotel in Gramercy ParkIn midtown Manhattan on 28th Street between Park and Lexington avenues is The Park South Hotel, a rare gem among New York City boutique hotels. The beautifully restored 1906 building lies between the stylish Gramercy Park and Murray Hill neighborhoods, drawing discerning corporate and leisure travelers alike.Central location, deluxe accommodations, and consistently excellent service. • Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast• Complimentary WiFi• Complimentary use of the Fitness Center• Iron and Ironing Board• Hairdryer• In-room safe• Bath robe and slippers• 141 guestrooms with king, queen, and 2 double beds • High quality linens on pillow-top beds• Elegant furnishings• Flat screen TVClassic design meets high-tech amenities Photographs of the city from the New York Historical Society archives set the tone. The mezzanine library and European-style lobby evoke a warm, welcoming ambiance rooted in our high quality service—details that keep our guests coming back again and again.Midtown Conference SpaceLet The Park South host your corporate meetings, events, and social functions in our 1,600-plus square feet of meeting space. For sightseeing or business, start hereNavigating New York City couldn’t be easier from our convenient Midtown location. The Six Line subway is steps from our door at Park Avenue and 28th Street. It’s the fastest way to get everywhere in New York – from Central Park and Harlem, to Times Square and the Theatre District, to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island ferries.Proud to be a leading Manhattan hotelOur personalized service, comfort, and style match those of celebrated brand names, and our attention to detail ranks favorably with smaller boutiques. Your satisfaction is the number one priority of everyone here, from doorman to executive team.Stay at the Park South Hotel. Make us your home in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.