We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location -- wjth free breakfast and good restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park South Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park South Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park South Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Flatiron District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Special !
Ranked #140 of 451 hotels in New York City
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location -- wjth free breakfast and good restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions -- it never disappoints. The rooms are fine -- not so big but efficiently planned. The continental breakfast has numerous choices, and the restaurant is open late enough to enjoy a post-theater drink. With a subway stop a half block away and the ever-present bowl of mini-chocolate bars at the check-in counter, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It’s always nice to hear from our returning guests, thank you for the wonderful feedback. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to meet you in person on your next visit. I hope you will look me up or send me a note. Thanks again.

Very Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    458
    95
    43
    23
See reviews for
172
308
49
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was our first trip to NY, but hotel was easy to locate. It's steps away from the subway station. It is centrally located with easy access to downtown or uptown towards central park. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Water pressure was very good. Every day when the room was made up, the staff would leave some chocolates for us. That was a very nice gesture. There was some renovation works going on at the hotel but we were not affected (our room was on the 5th floor) Breakfast was the same throughout our 7 days stay, but the spread was adequate and we liked it. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We especially appreciate their willingness to accomodate our request for slight extension of check out time, as our flight back home was at night.

We had a great 1-week stay and would plan to stay at this hotel if we visit NY again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. It sounds like you had a lengthy stay with us. I’m very pleased to hear you enjoyed all our amenities and services as well as the staff. It is true, we are under a property refurbishment at the moment which is mainly focused on our guest rooms but will ultimately encompass the entire property. We are looking forward to the launch of our NEW rooftop bar and other food and beverage outlets soon. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was attracted by the word 'boutique' in the hotel description. I understand this to mean smart,chic & clean. This was not the case. I had to ask Reception to change our room as the carpet seemed l & dirty & there was no room to swing a cat. Bathroom was clean though. Both rooms were dark & the antiquated a/c unit was so noisy at night with its cluncking & crashing that it woke us up a few nights. My daughter could not stop sneezing the whole time we were there.
Most of the staff were friendly especially on reception & at breakfast & also the cleaners. However, it did not occur to the doorman to help us hail a taxi when we were leaving..in fact he disappeared! As a woman travelling on her own with 2 children I felt that we had been given the worst room as a 'cheap' option.Everything was old & tired looking & the lobby was so dark (probably to hide the fact that the leather sofa had seen better days) that the whole experience was rather depressing. The area as you came out of the Hotel to the right was dirty & smelly so I would advise you to turn left!
Never again.!!


I would NOT return to this hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for making the time to post your review. I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations. It’s obvious that we also failed to provide you with a proper level of service. I do apologize for the shortcomings. I would very much welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly in the hopes of making amends and to truly show you the level of service we are capable of and that you should expect. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at our main number. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I spent the night in NYC and we booked the Park South as our regular hotel was booked up. The room was clearly in need of updating and a good scrubbing. The chairs were visibly dirty and the carpet was nasty. The tables were chipped and scuffed and the mini fridge was set on the floor. If you wanted to use it you had to kneel on the floor to get a bottle of water in there. The bedding and bathroom were immaculately clean which was a relief and the staff was very nice. There was a sign in the hallway that said they were in the process of updating their guest rooms. It's past time I'd say.

The restaurant off the lobby, The Black Duck served a lovely Manhattan cocktail and a very nice complimentary breakfast the next morning. Wait staff was typical NYC snooty.

I doubt I would go back unless I heard of a lovely renovation. The neighborhood was fun but there are other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your honest and articulate feedback. I’m sorry that the condition of your room was not a 100% as it should have been. As you pointed out, we are under a complete guest room refurbishment which is being carried out in stages to minimize any guest disruption. I would very much welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly in the hopes of making amends. Please do not hesitate to contact me at our main number. I look forward to your call.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Bistro hotels in New York can be exorbitant. This one isn't. It's convenient enough, situated on the Midtown-Chelsea border, a short walk from the subway, with a nice bar and restaurant, free internet, friendly staff and a pleasant ambience. What's not to like?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind feedback about the Black Duck. It sounds like you came by during a week day. I hope you will come back again soon preferably on a Friday or Saturday so you can enjoy some great Jazz.

Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, the room was clean, the shower head was amazing. The hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. With free wifi in the rooms and the complimentary breakfast each morning, and close to transport and various attractions, making it a great hotel for travellers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It’s always wonderful when our guests take the time to post their feedback. Thank you so much. It sounds like you tried one of our newly refurbished bathrooms with the rain shower heads. It’s a very soothing and relaxing way to start your day. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

An excellent hotel with lovely period features. The rooms were a good size for NY and were comfortable and quiet. The staff were welcoming and very helpful and we had free use of the hotel computers to book tickets and to print our boarding cards. The complimentary continental breakfast served to set us up for the day and we generally felt very relaxed. The hotel is just a few steps from the subway and within walking distance of the Empire State Building! Should we return to New York we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your informative feedback. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our services. I hope you will not hesitate to reach out to me personally on that next visit.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Gramercy Park , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park South Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Park SouthA charming boutique hotel in Gramercy ParkIn midtown Manhattan on 28th Street between Park and Lexington avenues is The Park South Hotel, a rare gem among New York City boutique hotels. The beautifully restored 1906 building lies between the stylish Gramercy Park and Murray Hill neighborhoods, drawing discerning corporate and leisure travelers alike.Central location, deluxe accommodations, and consistently excellent service. • Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast• Complimentary WiFi• Complimentary use of the Fitness Center• Iron and Ironing Board• Hairdryer• In-room safe• Bath robe and slippers• 141 guestrooms with king, queen, and 2 double beds • High quality linens on pillow-top beds• Elegant furnishings• Flat screen TVClassic design meets high-tech amenities Photographs of the city from the New York Historical Society archives set the tone. The mezzanine library and European-style lobby evoke a warm, welcoming ambiance rooted in our high quality service—details that keep our guests coming back again and again.Midtown Conference SpaceLet The Park South host your corporate meetings, events, and social functions in our 1,600-plus square feet of meeting space. For sightseeing or business, start hereNavigating New York City couldn’t be easier from our convenient Midtown location. The Six Line subway is steps from our door at Park Avenue and 28th Street. It’s the fastest way to get everywhere in New York – from Central Park and Harlem, to Times Square and the Theatre District, to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island ferries.Proud to be a leading Manhattan hotelOur personalized service, comfort, and style match those of celebrated brand names, and our attention to detail ranks favorably with smaller boutiques. Your satisfaction is the number one priority of everyone here, from doorman to executive team.Stay at the Park South Hotel. Make us your home in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.