We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - good value - great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park South Hotel to your Saves list
Park South Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Flatiron District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location - good value - great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recent visit to NYC and had a first time stay at Park South. The rooms are very small, clean and quiet. We had a room with a queen bed on the 8th floor and everything was spotless. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The small restaurant and bar was very cozy with a fireplace where we had drinks and appetizers. The flatbreads were very good. The breakfast is crowded and basic with yogurt, pastries, boiled eggs, and cold cuts. The service was good and people rotated through fairly well so very short wait if any for a table. The central location makes it easy to walk or the subway is very close.

Room Tip: 8th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    465
    102
    42
    25
See reviews for
197
333
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in the second week of March '13 with my wife and two sons aged 22 & 24. Some people have mentioned the small rooms but they were fine, you only sleep in them after all. You get a safe, iron / board, hairdryer, towels / flannels, toiletries and free wi-fi. We were at the rear of the hotel on the top floor, no view from here but so what, the views are outside ! If you are a light sleeper it would be good to bring some ear plugs because of other buildings air con fans - I am a light sleeper, any little noise would wake me but what lovely sleep I had, the pillows are very comfortable. A breakfast is included - excellent choices, sets you up for the day. Ideally situated for all the major locations - Empire state, Flat Iron, Grand central, Times sq. etc. Staff very friendly. You also get free use of a computer / printer - good for printing out your return flight tickets if you need to. Would definitely recommend . . .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

my brother and i stayed at this hotel in february for 5 nights. the breakfast was great; filled us up nicely. nice little bar to have a drink in at the end of a tiring day sightseeing! great location next to one of the main stops on the subway and within walking distance of times square. bed comfortable and good powerful shower. everything was clean and staff were all attentive. hotel is a little on the shabby side but this doesnt bother us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good location, friendly staff, great breakfast - perfect for a trip to NYC. Stayed for 8 nights. Yes the room is on the small side but when there is some much to see around and about the city this really did not matter at all. Would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for the first time on business, for me it was a convenient location. The hotel is in an old building and the rooms are very small there is really not much cupboard space for your clothing. The price however is for a NYC hotel outstanding and continental breakfast is also included as is WiFi. My room was at the back of the building and therefore very quiet. For a short stay where you will not spend much time in your room then this hotel is a good choice especially if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Book a room towards the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a very average hotel, not anywhere near the level of luxury their website would suggest. We experienced several frustrating issues 1) pre-booking requests for hypoallergenic bedding went unanswered and when alternative bedding was requested it took over 20 minutes to be delivered; 2) the beds are extremely uncomfortable and we even moved to another room only to find that all beds including the king beds are the same old spring mattresses that feel like an earthquake if your partner rolls over; 3) Service was very spotty, from an inconsistent number of towels left in the bathroom (even missing hand towels and a bath mat one day) to having a turn down service which is advertised on the website only 1 in 5 nights; and 4) the room doors slam shut very loudly, and with a long hallway full or rooms there is a door slam every 10 minutes after 7am. The only redeeming quality of this hotel was the breakfast, which had a lot of choice and very good coffee.
There must be something better in NYC, keep looking...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiaan A, Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry to learn of the unfavorable experience you encountered. We make every effort to review carefully our guest requests to ensure expectations are met. It would appear that this was not the case with your request for hypoallergenic pillows. It is rare that we get negative feedback on our bedding or even the services but it is clear that we did not leave a very favorable impression during your visit. I ask that you please reach out to me at your convenience so that we can discuss the details further and allow us to make amends. Please feel free to call our toll free number and ask to be connected to my office. Thank you and I look forward to your call.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Park South Hotel is located in the Murray Hill area of Mid Manhattan,on East 28th and Lexington Ave. This is a classic boutique Hotel, in an 18th century Brownstone building, truly lovely. The staff are helpful and friendly. We asked for a few tips on eating out and other local amenities and the reception staff couldn't do enough for us, drawing on their own local knowledge as well as printing off information for us from the Internet. A special mention to "Chuck" the doorman, he was always friendly, funny and again as the other staff, really helpful. The rooms are on the small side compared to British standards, however the room we had was on the top floor with massive windows,with great views, comfortable queen sized bed, good air con, fridge, coffee making facilities, good sized bathroom, towels were changed daily and the whole place was scrupulously clean. The only negative a can give is the hanging space for clothing is quite small, a larger wardrobe would be an advantage.
The hotels in New York are usually room only, unless of course you go for the high end ones like The Ritz Carlton, however, the Park South is one of a few that does breakfast at no extra charge. The breakfast is served in the bar area that is also known as the Black Duck Restaurant at night. This consists of a good selection of fresh bagels, rolls, cheeses, eggs, jams, coffee, teas and juices. This is just fine to set you up for a mornings sightseeing.

This was my first trip to New York, if fact it was a special trip for me, New York,my dream place, where I have always wanted to visit, so my husband took me for my birthday. The whole experience was wonderful, visiting the sights, seeing the well known buildings, and the little known ones and experiencing the unbelievable food portions they serve!!.
Ground zero was an amazing experience, a really lovely quiet and peaceful little church around the corner, welcoming all denominations. Messages of condolance were left, people gathering to remember, putting all into perspective.

The hotel is within walking distance to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Maddison Square Garden,Times Square, Grand Central Station, etc.
We stayed for 1 week, we were told that 3 days would be enough, don't you believe it, a week wasn't enough. Loved the whole experience, I believe the Park South Hotel played a large part in our enjoyment. We will go back to New York and to this hotel, and yes would recommend it to anyone, a good hotel for families, couples and for business.
I would also definately recommend this hotel to first timers to New York, after all, we were, one of those first timers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, corner ones are larger and offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Gramercy Park , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping pace with the renewed vitality that is making the Flatiron district and Park Avenue South Manhattan's hottest new destination, The Park South Hotel is refashioning itself to delight 21st century business and leisure travelers. Besides its dazzling upgrade of guest accommodations, the boutique hotel is enhancing the historic neighborhood with food and beverage concepts, starting with our unique new rooftop cocktail bar. Guest Room The bright guest rooms have been refitted with sleek contemporary furnishings, flat screen smart TVs, top-notch lighting and digital connectivity. Executive level rooms have slate-tiled bathrooms with glass-enclosed showers, and all levels feature gorgeous new sinks, tile, fixtures and wall coverings. Now that guest room refurbishment is nearly complete, the lobby, meeting rooms and public areas are being transformed and enlarged into social gathering places with an inviting registration area. Get ready to enjoy the brilliant style and friendly hospitality of the NEW Park South. Dining Table Meetings and Events.. COMING SOON Better Than Ever We're refreshing our meeting rooms for your comfort and convenience. The Park South's personalized catering and event planning services make it easy to mix business with pleasure. Schedule a private gathering in a sleek, well-appointed meeting room or, in mild weather, reserve our stylish new rooftop cocktail bar. We're adding new entrances on the hotel's 27th Street side to the meeting rooms and the rooftop (in addition to access from the lobby), to provide even more exclusivity and convenience to your private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.