We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clean quaint and reasonably priced manhattan hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park South Hotel to your Saves list
Park South Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Gramercy Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
RATES FROM $179
Ranked #147 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Very nice clean quaint and reasonably priced manhattan hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband and I checked in to the Park South hotel and it is a very nice hotel at a good price. Our room was clean, small, but had a comfortable bed with a small but clean modern bath. It was quiet and located near some nice restaurants. We ate at Coppolas around the corner and they had excellent Italian food. There are many Indian restaurants in the neighborhood. The area was safe to stroll at night. I would defnitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    500
    108
    47
    25
See reviews for
217
363
54
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

The location was perfect because I wanted to be within walking distance of Union Square and the entrance to the No 6 line is at the end of the block. The atmosphere of the hotel is very welcoming, staff are helpful and accommodating and the complimentary breakfast is perfectly adequate - in fact better than I expected (I especially appreciated the real cutlery/crockery and hot milk!) i asked for and received a very quiet room. The room itself is adequate for a short stay - too small for 2 people - and the cupboard space is very limited. Aside from that, the bed was comfortable, the towels plentiful and the shower pressure was good. It is excellent value for money and a nice place to return to each night after the intensity of the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I have stayed at Park South a half dozen times and will continue to return. Great location (1/2 block from subway) within walking distance of many great restaurants even though it has a great bar and restaurant attached and free continental breakfast is satisfying. Very clean rooms and welcoming staff. I would recommend Park South to anyone visiting NYC. Best of all NO BED BUGS! I am returning in 2 weeks and have to say, as a single female I feel very safe at the Park South.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Location borders midtown but the hotel is right by a subway station and near bus links too. These will take you where you there in just a couple of stops. There are some restaurants and other shops conveniently located near the hotel as well.

The hotel itself was smart and elegant and smaller than some of those grand hotels out there that it felt homely. Service was excellent, staff very obliging. Breakfast a very pleasant experience.

Bed was very comfy - plump pillows and what felt like a quality mattress, unlike what you might get in some European hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

You really can't beat the value of this place. I did travel for business only so I did not spend a ton of time at the hotel. It was a few blocks from my office. It was mostly very quiet with the exception of a few noisy garbage trucks but that's what you get in the city. I would definitely stay again for cost and convenience. The bed was on the extremely firm side so sleep was not flawless. But that's probably my only complaint and not enough to deter me from staying again. Size of the room was generous for NYC standards. I did get "bumped up" or so they claimed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Roomy, esp. for Manhattan. Well-located in Murray Hill, easy to get around. Very pleasant and well-appointed. The rooms ARE as pictured in the website. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I like this hotel a lot for the price. It is a great value with rooms around $135 or so. It is very convenient, a half block from the 6 train and lots of restaurants around. The room is small and basic, but there is good free wifi and a really nice breakfast in the morning. This is the hotel I choose over and over when I have business at NYU dental school.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park South Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping pace with the renewed vitality that is making the Flatiron district and Park Avenue South Manhattan's hottest new destination, The Park South Hotel is refashioning itself to delight 21st century business and leisure travelers. Besides its dazzling upgrade of guest accommodations, the boutique hotel is enhancing the historic neighborhood with food and beverage concepts, starting with our unique rooftop cocktail bar. Guest Room The bright guest rooms have been refitted with sleek contemporary furnishings, flat screen smart TVs, top-notch lighting and digital connectivity. Executive level rooms have slate-tiled bathrooms with glass-enclosed showers, and all levels feature gorgeous new sinks, tile, fixtures and wall coverings. Now that guest room refurbishment is complete, the lobby, meeting rooms and public areas are being transformed and enlarged into social gathering places with an inviting registration area. Get ready to enjoy the brilliant style and friendly hospitality of the NEW Park South. Dining Table Meetings and Events.. COMING SOON Better Than Ever We're refreshing our meeting rooms for your comfort and convenience. The Park South's personalized catering and event planning services make it easy to mix business with pleasure. Schedule a private gathering in a sleek, well-appointed meeting room or, in mild weather, reserve our stylish new rooftop cocktail bar. We're adding new entrances on the hotel's 27th Street side to the meeting rooms and the rooftop (in addition to access from the lobby), to provide even more exclusivity and convenience to your private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.