We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Calzone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Matteo Pizza Espresso Bar

San Matteo Pizza Espresso Bar
1739 2nd Ave, 10128, New York City, NY 10128-3502 (Upper East Side)
(212) 426-6943
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #291 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Calzone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had not been there before and I ordered to take away by phone. When I went there to pick up the pizzas I really liked the place: rather small, cozy, you see the chef making the pizzas in a brick oven... I got the impression I would like to have dinner there. I got my pizzas in few minutes. And when I got home... what a calzone: it was delicious! The other pizzas we ordered were good too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    20
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Dinner outside at San Matteo is a great.
Their different kinds of pizzas are yummy, as is their pasta.
Great selection of wine as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not your typical NY pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Small intimate place with great Italian style pizza. Thin crusted and a great tasting sauce. Owner was hands on and even spoke Italian. Reminded me of my childhood days and my grandmother making homemade pizza from scratch in her small house in Brooklyn. Will most definitely go again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Neighborhood panuozzo spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Even though San Matteo only recently opened, they have managed to convince me that what they're doing with their Italian fare is for real. It all starts with their panuozzo. panuozzo is what happens when a section of raw, fresh yeasted dough is stretched and filled with various ingredients, and then baked in a wood-burning oven. The result is akin to a stuffed panino. It is so very delicious and there's many different options to choose from and many wines available to pair them with. The restaurant itself is a bit small but very intimate and the staff all seemed to hail from Italy ; specifically Salerno so they can talk up the freshness and authenticity of the ingredients and the food. Can't miss in the upper east side!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great food altogether. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and nice seating outside (I went last August!) Pizza was fantastic, really authentic. Staff were knowledgeable too and were friendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Matteo Pizza Espresso Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to San Matteo Pizza Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Matteo Pizza Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.