We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Worth every buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything about it makes it perfect location, facilities and Excellent service we stayed 3 nights and i'll have to thank sandra, miss rosario, ricky (front desk night shift) and over all zahir ask him for good places to go. We'll be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you had a good stay at our property. Our Team Members are one of our biggest assets; they are all professional, friendly, and eager to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours with the team. Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to TRYP Times Square South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    676
    131
    46
    27
See reviews for
766
508
72
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The location is great for us as it is close to Penn Station and yet away from the madness which is usually around that area. The 34th street Metro entrance is just at the corner of the street for trains A, C and E.

We stayed in a deluxe king room which was decently sized by NYC standards, especially the bathroom which was quite roomy. The breakfast buffet is slightly pricey at $22 per person but has a good variety of hot and cold breakfast foods and is of good quality.

The lobby has a nice ambience due to the bar and sometimes has a live music band. There are 4 elevators which makes going up and down quick and wait-free.

This will be our hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I don't usually stay in Midtown because I find it too chaotic, but this hotel, placed on an off- street, right next to the NYPD was mostly quiet. Certainly didn't hear any noise from inside the room itself (maybe because the A/C was a bit too loud, but I'll get to that soon enough). All in all, this hotel is a good value (for NY, that is) especially with the decent rates (again, for NY) I found on Booking.com. The staff is warm, friendly, and helpful, and the rooms are very spacious, modern, and clean. We stayed in 1011 with a nice view and while I would've preferred that our room had a refrigerator, this is obviously one of my small critiques. I know I mentioned the A/C being a little on the noisy side and it really wasn't that bad and didn't interfere at all with sleep or anything (too tired from all those hours of NYC walking), but it was a bit noticeable here and there. I think the problem was more a setting issue than anything else as it seemed to improve once I fiddled around with the dials a bit. My final, minor critique was the odd, motion sensitive lighting in the bathroom. This would've been a very nice feature, especially for environmental concerns, but it didn't seem to quite work all that well. No problem with the lighting itself, just the sensor, which turned off a couple times while I was in the shower. I never did figure out how to adjust it--or if it could be adjusted, but the temporary solution is to turn on the additional light above the sink to prevent being trapped all wet in the dark. The room itself was very well-appointed and comfortable. My favorite part was definitely the bathroom with its large shower, complete with a detachable head and dispensers filled with Zero% brand (the products are supposedly free of all harmful chemicals, but the ingredients are not on the actual dispenser; nevertheless, they smell nice) shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel. No more keeping track of silly, tiny, travel-sized bottles that don't provide all that much product, especially for more than one person! I think this was an excellent, smart idea by the hotel. Environmentally-conscious, too. The beds are not exceedingly comfortable, but soft enough and I slept well (even staying with my mother...Jokes aside, she slept well, too). On the last day of our stay, before we headed into the city one more time, the bellhop informed us that it would be difficult to get a regular cab by the time we would be leaving for the airport, so he arranged for a car to pick us up instead (with a very sweet, accommodating driver, by the way). The ride was at a decent price, but again, I must point out that this is as far as NY prices are concerned, not those of the rest of the world. While I'm still not a fan of staying in Midtown (I prefer uptown), this hotel was a nice, modern change and a very good choice overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I would like to rate this hotel good but the service wasn't very good. But most importantly, the guests need to watch out for additional charges on your bill. The hotel would tackle additional charges. The hotel couldn't provide written or signed authorization for the charges. Please be careful. I travel all the time and this was my first time experiencing this. However the bell services and some of the front desk staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. An experience such as the one you described is taken very seriously by all of us here at the TRYP Time Square South Hotel, and we look forward to an opportunity to make it better. Although I cannot undo what happened, I would like to personally discuss your recent stay, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

I appreciate your feedback, as this helps us become the very best that we can be, and I look forward to speaking with you directly concerning your recent stay. I may be contacted at 212-600-2440, or Kimiller@wyndham.com. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the Wyndham Times Square South.

Sincerely,

Kiana Miller – Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is very nice. Great location and huge rooms that are new. The lobby bar is a great place to grab a drink and something light to eat. The only issue was it was impossible to get a taxi. Not one taxi drove by the front of the hotel in 10 minutes. Overall, I really liked this hotel and will most likely go back!

Room Tip: Nice hotel close to Macy's and Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel was fun and modern, but very comfortable and welcoming. The New York inspired quotes inscribed on the wardrobe, the sky blue ceiling in the bathroom and the European feeling Gastrobar were just a few of my favorite things....The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews we had read. We were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a premium room and it was wonderful. Staff were helpful and extremely friendly. There was always someone available to assist with directions, make a reservation or just say a friendly hello. The room was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and bottled water and coffee available daily. We did not have an opportunity to eat at the hotel but the menu looked good and the bar was a "happening" place. Everything was perfect, especially the location. We were walnut distance to most of the things we wanted to see and do but hidden away from the hustle and bustle. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it for a few days or a couple of weeks stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
What an outstanding review! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.