We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very good location (particularly for Penn Street station and Macy's)!
Room was small but clean and nicely decorated.
Air conditioning was very noisy-we had to turn off the heating overnight despite the cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It sounds like you enjoy our hotel, in the future please do not hesitate to inquire about an upgrade to one of our larger Premium Rooms, we would gladly accommodate whenever we can. Thank you again for choosing the TRYP Times Square South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,091
    654
    125
    43
    26
See reviews for
733
482
70
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here for the first time in response to a TravelZoo offer. So it was great value for the money. Two nights on business. Arrived the first evening to a lobby bar and live trio. A good vibe. Per other reviews, asked for upper level room in book. Hotel provided "premium room"--corner room with windows on 2 of 4 sides, wet bar, and plenty of space. Attractive light wood (or light wood-looking floor) and furnishings. Ate at the tapas bar once; quite good. Would have awarded 3.5 stars if I could have but didn't have that option. Some minor annoyances. $19 hot breakfast works for those on expense accounts, but not for budget-minded travelers. They had cold options but by the item rather than having a flat cold buffet price. Stylish design led to having straight-backed chair at desk which was too low to comfortably work at computer on desk (though I'm below-average height). TRYP designers should find stylish recycle bin to allow separating paper/plastic from regular trash. Finally, I revved the heat up to 80 degrees but didn't help much in getting room warm. I assumed it was a design flaw for a larger room with lots of windows. Reported it on my way out and they said they'd send building engineer up to check it out. Maybe it was in fact just a faulty heating unit that I should've reported sooner. I'd return, as noted, though am always hunting for inexpensive deals via TravelZoo and other deal aggregators.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities. I do apologize for some of our design flaws, I will surely share your feedback with my higher ups. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and staying with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a business meeting. The staff was very friendly and the room was lovely, spacious, and comfortable. The bar downstairs was busy and fun and the tapas were delicious. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puttershoek, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and had a very pleasant experience. Staff is friendly and helpfull, room is spacy. 15 minutes walk to times square, 100 mtr from subway. 1 small drawback is the noisy heating system in the room which is difficult to adjust.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, I will be sure to have our engineering team pay close attention to our heating units in the rooms to ensure the experience you had does not re-occur. Thank you again for choosing the TRYP hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at tryp hotel recently with my family. The room was great. It's nice to see a hotel that can accommodate a large family like mine and not break the bank. The front desk and bellmen we very friendly even the housekeeping staff were very nice. However I was very disappointed one day when my family and I exited the room to head out when we noticed a young lady with glasses practically insulting one of the housekeepers in the most inappropriate, unprofessional tone. She must have been a manager for the housekeeper to feel like she can't defend herself and be practically in tears out of the embarrassment. I really liked this hotel and would love to stay there again but, if that how they treat their employees I would have to consider staying elsewhere. Not a good look for such a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We do apologize that you had to witness such an action towards one of our employee's. I can assure you that our management team in no way supports behavior such as what you explained. We’re delighted that you chose the TRYP Times Square South, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The room was very spacious and location was in the middle of everything ( food, subways). The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. I traveled with my family ( 2 adults and 2 children) and the staff was helped accommodate for both my children. the subway was 1 block away on the same block. The location of the hotel was perfect walking distance to see Times Square. Highly recommend this hotel when traveling with your family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. We're glad we could serve you and your children. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk in you feel like you've been transported to a European chalet. The decor is eclectic and the staff is superb. Friendly and helpful, they made every effort to make our stay comfortable.

Conveniently located, this hotel is a short walk from Penn Station and major subway lines. The rooms are spacious, quiet and super clean. I was impressed by the shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispenser in every shower.

The only down side is that the reception, bar and dining area are all very small and in one room. Other than this, The Tryp hotel is truly a value beyond compare.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are very happy that you had such a great experience here at the TRYP Times Square South! It makes us proud to know that you enjoyed our "eclectic oasis". We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.