We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality vs price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best quality vs price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The very rare hotel in the heart of NY that can accomodate a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids from 13 to 2 years old). The staff is really nice and warm. The decor is simple, elegant, practical and comfortable.
The hotel is very well located, it is within walking distance of known attractions.
We will surely come back to the same hotel on our next trip to NY.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With today's economy, we understand how important it is to offer competitive prices, and we strive to make sure that our service value far exceeds that. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the TRYP Times Square South in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    670
    130
    46
    27
See reviews for
758
500
72
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here and my room was spacious and clean. I did have an issue in the bathroom that was quickly resolved after speaking with the front desk. The location is good for me since I travel for business and can walk to Javitts convention center. But for the tourist it may not be ideal- a location more midtown maybe better. For the price, I find it good for my needs. I do wish they had more choices on their food menu, but being close to 9th avenue there a lot of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and, that we could be a convenience for your needs while here in the city. We hope to "consistently" serve you well during your stays with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Walking from 8th ave to the hotel on 35th ave, seems scary but you are heading towards a police station that is just across the street from the hotel.........the doors to the rooms are heavy steel doors and they make a lot of noise when they close. This maybe a problem for light sleepers because you can hear almost any door close on the floor when your neighbors go in or out of their room......The staff at this hotel is excellent, Ben and Christina at the desk were especially helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms because our first had noisy neighbors, both rooms were very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We really appreciate your nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel had to offer! We really appreciate the feedback in regards to the room doors being loud when shutting; I'll be sure to share your feedback with my higher ups. And I'll be sure to share your comments with Christina! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my first stay at the TRYP Times Square South and as a former resident of NYC all I can say is WOW!!

The staff was most friendly & helpful and service was impeccable. The lobby bar/restaurant and rooms were well appointed and most comfortable. With a great location near Times Square and multiple travel options to traverse the city, this hotel is perfect and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with that "5" star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, Brazil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I travel to NYC every year and this time I made the best choice. TRYP Hotel is greatly located, the room was spotless and the staff is fabulous. The perfect place to reach the nice restaurants of Hells Kitchen, the rush of fifth avenue and the cool districts in south Manhattan. All that a few steps away from Penn Station (which means close to JFK using Airtrain + LIRR). Finally I found a NYC hotel worth going back. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
The right choice indeed! We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I like this hotel very much and highly recommend it. The staff are fabulous....in fact, they are always so happy to see me, with hugs and a big welcome back, that I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The lobby and hotel rooms are immaculate.
I do have some strong suggestions I hope the management will read and consider. The hotel rooms are very poorly lit....it's very difficult to see by the poor lighting. There should be lamps on both sides of the bed that are good reading lights. The lamp on the desk offers poor cold lighting. The "overhead" lighting is cold. Wall sconces or floor lamps with up-lighting would make a huge difference. The decor in the room makes the room feel like it's a big bathroom in an upscale restaurant....easily improved with better and warm lighting.
The bathrooms are lovely with an absolutely wonderful shower...but, please get rid of the plastic-wrapped paper cups and replace them with glass. The paper cups are tacky!
The rooms need welcome magazines and materials and fridges.
I look forward to my next visit to this hotel and hope some improvements will have bee made.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Vicki,

Thank you so much for the outstanding review of our staff members, they truly are our shining stars. We will certainly take your feedback to heart and will do our absolute best to improve in the near future. Thank you as always for visiting us & we all look forward to seeing your bright smile again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room was great, but always smelled like food for some reason, we were on a high floor so it was a bit strange.

The location was great, just two blocks away from the 34th and 8th subway station

The customer service was exceptional, everyone was willing to help-

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We are very happy that our excellent staff was able to provide such great service during your stay! Our staff is the heart of the hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.