We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good outweighs the not-so-good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Ranked #78 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The good outweighs the not-so-good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here over New Years and really enjoyed this place.

The good:
- It is relatively close to Times Square and for the price, very good value.
- The beds are super comfortable, and the rooms spacious.
- The wifi was also super fast, which is rare for hotels these days!
- The staff are really friendly and the concierge desk was always available to help with any query or recommendation we wanted. n

The not so good:
- The gym is connected to the same heating system as the rest of the hotel. It was difficult to work out properly because it was so hot in such a small room. It was clear they didn’t really have the gym sorted because they have a vending machine in the gym, a giveaway the space has not really been thought out properly.
- The iron in the room almost ruined my clothes. I don’t understand why you would skimp on an iron, especially when most of the amenities at this hotel are top notch.
- There is no mini bar / fridge in the room - this was kinda of annoying because we usually like to use the fridge to keep things in. Still, it was no big deal, just something to mention.

Overall, the good out ways the bad on this place. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we certainly do value the comments of our guests so we can improve our service and facility alike. We will surly take you recommendations to heart in an effort to better serve our guests. Thank you again and hope to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    676
    131
    46
    27
See reviews for
765
508
72
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are looking for a great hotel to spend enjoyable days in NYC, go for it. You won't regret. Location, very good. Services, very good. The premium room is terrific!!!
P.S. if needed, ask for help with Jesse (Concierge) and Zahir (Bellboy). They are awesome!

If you are looking for a great hotel to spend enjoyable days in NYC, go for it. You won't regret. Location, very good. Services, very good. The premium room is terrific!!!
P.S. if needed, ask for help with Jesse (Concierge) and Zahir (Bellboy). They are awesome!

If you are looking for a great hotel to spend enjoyable days in NYC, go for it. You won't regret. Location, very good. Services, very good. The premium room is terrific!!!
P.S. if needed, ask for help with Jesse (Concierge) and Zahir (Bellboy). They are awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Its sounds like our staff members gave you our 5 star service! I will be sure to share your kind comments with Jesse and Zahir! We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. Great location, close to Times Square. Perfectly situated for theatre goers, sight seeing, shopping and eating out. Found staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Our location sure is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel with fresh modern decor, very close to Penn Station. Our room was big and airy, with a good amount of daylight and a reasonable urban vista from the window. The lobby is appealing and service is efficient. It is easy to get to all sorts of places from the nearby subway entrances. The price was favourable for such a good location.
My only very small suggestions to the hotel would be to put some lighting next to the bathroom mirror as it is hard to see your face well with all the lighting behind, and to consider going further on the eco-friendliness by having a recycling waste bin available (or a note to guests about how bottle and papers are handled).
Overall, pleasant, and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Your recommedation on recycling will certainly be addressed with staff. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

stayed in this hotel in jan read a lot of reviews on different hotels this was the best value of money
and decent reviews we stayed on the 11 floor we had 2 rooms ours was the biggest room out of the 2 but if u r like us we only sleeped in the hotel and got ready we was only in approx 2 hours per day very clean big shower and a nice touch coffee machine ,didn't eat in hotel even though it looked nice found a better cafe which all the locals go to much cheaper it was called stage door next to ticket office to get into 911 memorial you have to go tasty food cheap tasty cakes cheesecake the best good b/fast and s/wichs and enterainment good to watch as if you get food to go they throw your food to the till area brill ,the drinks in the hotel very expensive the cheapest is a bud which is 8 dollars the penn station is yes 1 min walk down road not even that i would book this hotel again reception staff friendly ,clean ,value for money,and nice new hotel ,in the centre only 10 walk to times square do not go to andrews restaurant which someone told us to go on trip advisor not nice food hope this help book today

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel! It sounds like you had a very nice time, and got to enjoy all that our hotel and New York City had to offer! In future please stop by our concierge desk for great recommedations on restaurants. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was in NYC for the NY Times Travel Show. Really enjoyed the TRYP hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and the room was hip and contemporary.The lobby bar and restaurant was also good. I loved it being so close to Penn Station. I took the train from Newark Airport and then walked the 2.5 blocks to the hotel. Loved not having to take a cab. It is also 1/2 block to the subway and there were several good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
What an Outstanding review! I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for our guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. You are indeed an Honorary New Yorker! Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked a premium city-view room that had two queen beds, a sofa bed, a small refrigerator, an in-room safe, and a Keurig coffee maker. The room was large by New York standards. Upon our arrival, one of us put a small piece of luggage on the very flimsy luggage rack and it immediately broke. Even though we called the front desk to report it, it was not replaced during our stay. Since there was no carpet, one would expect clean floors. However, my slippers were VERY dirty on the bottoms after walking around on the floor. It was nice to have shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel dispensers in the large shower. Other amenities were not replaced daily. We did have a problem with water leaking onto the bathroom floor. Also, when we returned to our room once, the maid had left a large bag of trash (from everyone else's rooms, I guess) in our room. Eeeewwww! The front desk did not seem at all concerned when we called about it, so we eventually ended up putting it outside our door in the hallway. The location of the hotel was a plus - within walking distance of theatre, restaurants, shopping, and the subway. This was one of the few places we could find that had three beds, so we would stay here again if I had that need - but would choose somewhere else if we only needed two beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here at TRYP Times Square South Hotel take your comments very seriously, and we are eager to correct any failures on our part.

I would love an opportunity to discuss your stay and experiences with you directly, and am confident that I can restore your faith in us. I can be contacted at 646-200-8853, or belie@wyndham.com. I look forward hearing back from you!

Sincerely,

Ben Elie- Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#40 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.