We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were in NYC for just a few days to attend a conference and enjoy a little of the city. Tryp has a great location just blocks from Javits Convention Centre and Macy's. Short walk into Times Square, the rooms were a comfortable size and the staff very friendly. I was pleasantly surprised and had a wonderful stay. A little disappointed that we didn't get an upgrade like the other person travelling with us but that's ok we enjoyed our room anyway, loved that the floors were not carpet. Really enjoyed the modern feel of the hotel, the room and the bathroom. I want that showerhead! Thanks again for making out stay an enjoyable one and we will definitely be staying at TRYP the next time we are in NYC. I have already recommended it to someone travelling to NYC later this year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    707
    135
    46
    27
See reviews for
780
531
73
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Fantastic hotel locate nearby the subway, 5 Minutes walk by times square. Comfortable, silent, fresh and not so formal. Staff extremely kind with high sense of hospitality. What to say ! Perfect !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have booked this hotel as it seems such a great place to stay for my forthcoming big 50 birthday holiday. I booked it with Travel republic. Within a day ( I don'yt know why I did it retrospectively but there we are live and learn-and it may help others) I found the identical room in the same hotel same date etc £ 500 cheaper with Booking .com. It was even cheaper to book directly with the hotel than with Travel Republic. Needless to say there will be no refunds as Travel republic state they are an ABTA approved travel agent. Personally I don't find this to be much consolation and certainly no compensation. I had also booke another holiday to France with Travel republic but this I have to add is the last they'll have of my custom and money.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianett G, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
I do apologize for the issues you experienced when booking with Travel Republic. Next time you come to stay with us, please feel free to contact us directly at 212-600-2440. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

For a Manhattan hotel, the hotel rooms are ginormous. We stayed in both a standard 2 queen and a premium 2 queen. The standard was largish for a NYC hotel room, the only nit were the low-back chairs. the premium room was essentially a suite with two rooms, two bathrooms, two HDTVs, two closets etc. The tapas bar was good for breakfast and evening drinks and snacks. The staff is still learning, but they have the customer service basics down pat. They all stepped up to answering our questios and any cconcerns that cropped up were responded to satisfactorily. Will totally stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianett G, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Very nice! Thank you so much for your really excellent comments and great review of our hotel! It makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay, and that our staff provided you with rock star service. We hope to see you again soon at the TRYP Times Square South Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice and clean, fantastic service and reasonable prices. What more do you want?

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My co-workers and I chose to dine at the TRYP's Gastro Bar before a concert at Madison Square Garden. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted by exceptionally friendly staff. The ambiance and service was second to none. Our server was Elba and she was amazing. Elba was very attentive, extremely friendly and very helpful with suggesting different tapas we should try. The brussel sprouts were phenomenal as well as the rest of the food. We will definitely be back again and I would highly recommend the Gastro Bar to everyone. Thank you for a great dining experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianett G, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review. I especially appreciate the kind review given of Elba. It is always wonderful to hear when the staff does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with them as they will be ecstatic. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at the Tryp NYC on March 17th, even though we did not have any reservations, they accomodated us as if we did, the staff were so nice and a spectial thanks to Mr Massy that was so helpfull, and knowledgable about the area, the hotel was so clean and modern, the room was spacious, and very confortable, the area is very safe, for sure this is my next hotel for the next time we are in NYC (next month)... oh ya, and the price is very competitive, its on west 35 street, and is very close to EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianett G, Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review. I especially appreciate the kind review of Massy. It is always wonderful to hear when the staff does a wonderful job. I look forward to sharing your comments with them as they will be ecstatic. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.