We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spider-Man, oh man! What a GREAT show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark

Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark
213 W 42nd St, Foxwoods Theatre, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #212 of 808 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mineola, New York, United States
1 review
“Spider-Man, oh man! What a GREAT show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Other reviews have been favorable with little negative press so, it was safe to say that, being a huge comic book and Spider-Man fan, that I expected to like the show. I didn't, however, expect to LOVE the show! It was fantastic! We had 5th row seats which were great but, the aerial choreography and staging makes every seat in the theater a front row seat. The humor, stage set and props really kept with the comic book/cartoon theme. The music is catchy and you will leave the theater singing “Rise Above” in your head, I can almost guarantee that much. The absolute best part about this show is, by far, the cast. The cast is armed and fabulous with amazing voices, believable acting and, most importantly, chemistry with each other! And, not to mention, you have to give major props for their high flying/dangling stunts. I mean, flying from center stage to the upper balcony is no easy task. All in all, this is a must see for all ages! I, definitely, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    346
    191
    81
    75
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More than a super hero show!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spider-Man:Turn Off the Dark is one of the best broadway shows I have seen in a while, and I go to broadway pretty often. I suggest sitting in the "flying circle" when you book your tickets and you will really enjoy the action that occurs in the air. This show is excellent for all ages and both male and female audiences. I took my husband to see this show as a father's day present and he and I both really enjoyed every moment of it! The music was enjoyable as well as the action. There are a few slow parts where Spiderman and his girl get cozy and small kids may get bored for a few minutes, but for the most part it is really great!!! If you have really young kids, I would suggest seeing Matilda on broadway....that show was really great as well!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant stunts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My Husband is a huge comic book fan so this show was really for him, saying that I really enjoyed it! The music was ok, but the lead guy was brilliant, the story is the standard spider man so its easy to follow, but its really all about the effects as thats what makes the show and it really is impressive. A definate must see for any comic fans.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spidey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It wasn't a usual broadway show but very entertaining. My children loved it. Very animated but I do not think it fits the broadway. But something to see for a change.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Entertaining - great staging and stunts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to this show on a recent trip to NYC with our 11-year-old son. We were looking for a show on Broadway that was age appropriate and this definitely fit the bill. We took advantage of a Kids Free night on a Wednesday evening, which helped on the cost of the tickets. We sat in the front box on the right side (first balcony level) and we were so pleased with the choice, as we could see everything and were at eye-level with all of the arial stunts. Whereas people in the front orchestra section had to crane their necks around to watch Spiderman fly around the theater, we had a great view and he even flew right by us several times. That totally thrilled my son.

It's true that the story line, music and lyrics are not as strong as other shows on Broadway. The acting by the leads was ok, but the Green Goblin was great. The staging, set design, and stunt work is awesome. Bono and The Edge from U2 composed the music, and you could hear echoes of their usual work in some of the songs. There were even nods to them in some of the script and other music cues.

My son was surprised at how much he enjoyed it. If you have kids who like superheroes, they'll enjoy the stunt sequences, but may be bored with some of the ballads. It may be too long for some younger children. We'd definitely recommend the box seats on either balcony level. These were less expensive than the "flying circle" seats, and even though Spiderman didn't land right in front of us, we had enough close fly-by's that we didn't feel it would be worth the extra cost to upgrade the seats.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark also viewed

 

Been to Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.