We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As Everyone Says It Is” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Book of Mormon

The Book of Mormon
230 West 49th St, Eugene O'Neill Theatre, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 239-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$267*
and up
Ranked #119 of 810 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Oak Park, IL
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“As Good As Everyone Says It Is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is an irreverent, amusing, well-crafted musical, expertly produced, directed, and performed. We'd been concerned that the hype wouldn't be justified by the performance, and I'm pleased to report that the production completely lived up to the highest expectations. This is something you must try to see in NY. Keep in mind that tickets are expensive: the cast is large, and the Eugene O'Neill Theatre is fairly small. This is a worthwhile investment!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,822
    267
    121
    73
    109
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth $500/ticket”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Funny but wasn't worth the $500/tecket. I would have rather see Elliot or another fun show. My girlfriend did worren me but I didn't listen, so I hope you would listen to me :-).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best musical in decades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fabulous costumes, hilarious musical numbers, great dancing. Not at all disrespectful but watch out for the hidden obama message!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Better Options Elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

There were some funny parts here and the acting and music was good but some of the humor was just cheap, extreme and overall in bad taste and tended to restrain any real enthusiasm for this piece of work. I guess if you can get past hearing a blarring f*** you God athem and disparaging religion in general you'll be okay, otherwise there are too many other better options on Braodway.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Book of Mormon: Plan Far in Advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Unique. But it's sold out for almost 1 year, except scattered performances. The scalpers get 2-3 times the face amounts of $145, $155 and $175--so plan your trip around the show if you can.

Over the next 10 months, the show will be touring in about 1 dozen US cities. So consider planning ahead and seeing the show near where you live (if not NYC).

Enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Book of Mormon also viewed

 

Been to The Book of Mormon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Book of Mormon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.