We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunchtime Fayre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eata Pita

Eata Pita
Grand Central Terminal Dining Concourse, 89 E 42nd Street, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
212-297-2500
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,692 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Israeli, Fast Food
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Dursley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunchtime Fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped off here when touring Grand Central station and tried the baby chicken which was presented with either rice or cous cous, a small side salad, tahini, humous plus pitta bread for $11. It was well worth the money and both my daughter and I struggled to complete our meal which shows the portion was more than adequate.
It's easier to secure a table first as this food area is really busy with native New Yorkers at lunchtime but once seated we enjoyed our food and saw no evidence of any tramps or hobos as Americans call them so I guess the area has been cleaned up.
Would definitely recommend this food o anyone visiting New York

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The big downside is eating at the nearby tables and encountering panhanders and people sleeping. As a take out, I would give it a 3 1/2 because the food is fresh, served quickly, and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food Court at Grand Central Station Lower Level. Tasty & Filling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed down the street at The Court by St Giles hotel. Enjoyed a bottle of wine at the hotel and then walked a few blocks to GSC. Went straight down to the food court and found Eata Pita for a Gyro and a Falaffel sandwich. Both were tasty and excellent. The cost including a bottle of water was less than $17. Tasty and filling. Plus, hanging out in the food court duriing rush hour is very entertaining from a people watching prespective. Love the food court and all of the options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Mediterranean Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

As an Israeli leaving in the US for the past 3 years, one of my biggest frustration is to find high quality Hummus/Tabuli/Falafel/Pita

These are rare and usually over priced.

The trick with that food, is that to achieve extra quality one dont need to invest more on material like in steaks etc, the secret is in the process, and very few in the US make those well.
We accidently tried medietiranian food at EATA PITA (Grand Central Station, under the museum) and were very surpirsed with the great quality of all the dishes we tried.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My favorite quick bite in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I think their falafel sandwiches are some of the best I've had, and I've eaten a lot of lebanese/middle eastern food on both coasts! I also loved their split pea soup and you can't beat their prices, therefore the 5 stars. There tends to be a long line during peak meal times, but the line moves surprisingly fast. I will go every time I'm in the city from now on!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eata Pita also viewed

 

Been to Eata Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eata Pita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.