We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Club Regular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added City Club Hotel to your Saves list
City Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“City Club Regular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I absolutely love this little gem. It's an adorable boutique hotel in a great location. I first stayed here about 4 years ago and I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in the city! The management and staff are very friendly and helpful and will go above and beyond to accommodate you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    208
    64
    37
    26
See reviews for
101
188
64
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Small room - think your college dorm room but cute. The bench seating is awesome; there is very little wasted space in the room.

Hard to spot on the street as the entrance is subdued compared to the Sofitel a few doors down.

Comfortable stay. 5 blocks or so from Grand Central Station. Good restaurant downstairs. No view, at least from the room I used.

I would stay here again if I only needed for a night or two, or didn't plan to spend a lot of time in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recently moved to Boston from NYC and now when I go back for work, I generally just need a place to crash. So I don't need much room.

This hotel was fantastic. I had one of the petite rooms and it was more than enough room. The bathroom was large.. the water pressure was good... and the bed was super cozy.

There was no view---but I don't think a view is necessary depending on the type of stay you.

The turn down service was great.

Loved it :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The purpose of our trip was to celebrate my 30th birthday and was also part of our 'baby-moon'.

Our first impressions of the hotel was that it looked smart but was very small. We originally booked a double bed room, however, as soon as we entered the room we knew it was way too small for our 5 night stay, so I called the reception for an upgrade. We was advised the cost would be an extra $30 a night, which we was willing to pay because the room we was allocated was too small. Unfortunately, their system was down so they wasn't able to upgrade us until the next day. When we went downstairs the next morning to enquire about the upgrade, we received a very nice surprise and they were willing to upgrade us to the queen sized room for free!!! We were very grateful for the free upgrade and was pleasantly surprised at how much bigger the room was. Furthermore, they helped us move all our luggage, so on our return to the hotel having explored the Time Square area, all we had to do was retrieve the keys to our new room.

The bed in the double/petit room was more like a large single bed and my husbands legs were hanging off the edge (he is 6'1) and there was no room to put our two medium sized suitcases nor were there any space to hang our clothes. The double/petit room literally just had a petit bed, with no additional space for desk or chair. However, the queen room that we was upgraded to had a queen bed, with additional seating section by the window as well as an additional section for a desk and chair. Needless to say we were very happy with the upgrade to the queen room and the fresh cookies we received every night was a bonus.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel but only the queen room (if staying for more than 3 nights or more) and the staff were friendly and polite to us during our stay. However, if you are only staying for one or a maximum of two nights by yourself then the petit/double should be sufficient. If we were to visit NYC again, I would stay here again because of the convenient location. The hotel is located between 5th and 6th Avenue and only two blocks from Times Square.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a queen sized room because the 'petite double' is ultra small and the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I decided to surprise my partner for his Birthday with a night on the town with a few drinks, dinner, and a romantic evening in the city where we don't have to commute back home and mar the mood.

Its hard not to give the hotel 5 stars when you were in the best room of the house. The "Grand Duplex Sutie". It was two levels and with a spiral staircase leading up to the loft Kind Bedroom with full bath. Honestly I could have moved right in. The decor was one part library and one part luxury hotel room. The small Juliet balcony was just big enough to enjoy a drink and listen to the sounds of the city. I think the room is bigger than out condo back home, and the service was impeccable. The lobby was tiny but really what do you need in a lobby other than to check in.

The hotel also houses the DB Bistro Moderne which I recommend for some very accessible french fair. The Hotel is closer to Times Square but out of the way of the crowds. It make a nice little getaway for a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, convenient to theaters, restaurants, bars, and coffee shops. The rooms are spacious with lovely amenities, fluffy beds, and, in our room, a couch along one wall. They have a table and chair and plenty of room for writing or reading. The staff is polite, helpful, and knowledgeable. My daughter and I spent one night at City Club, and were upgraded to an accessible room since she has issues with mobility. We loved the walk-in glass shower and the large bathroom.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was looking for a flight and came across travelation.com. And luckily I checked their hotel deals and got the best one for city club in new-york. Actual price was $439 and I got it only for $373. Very good discount from travelation. And the hotel was great. Their service was very good. Room were very spacious and clean . Such a great room for such a low price was incredible. Thanks to travelation and city club hotel for such great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters, Midtown
Club Quarters, Midtown
#203 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#170 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#30 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#277 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#198 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,916 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#134 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Club Hotel

Address: 55 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your City Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.