We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #30 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We sat in the lounge for a few cocktails and some snacks. We had meatballs, hummus, and caviar. The food and service was outstanding. We told them it was my birthday and they surprised me weith hot molten chocolate cake, ice cream and a song!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    112
    43
    19
    8
See reviews for
145
250
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just spent 2 nights and 3 days here 12.20 - 12.22. The staff are all truly spectacular. The property is perfectly located across from Central Park. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the park on the 16th floor. Club Lounge Access is well worth the additional charge. We used the lounge throughout the day for a break from walking and the hustle and bustle of the city. Truly 5 star from start to finish. You definitely get what you pay for here!!

Room Tip: High Floor facing Central Park !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

While in NYC this past weekend my travel companions (4 of us) stopped into the Ritz for a drink to warm up after frolicking in the Central Park snow. To our dissatisfaction we waiting 10 minutes at the bar without even being looked at. Once we finally order our drinks (3 hot chocolates' with Baileys & 1 Irish Coffee) we were told it would just be a few minutes. We asked for a few waters in the meantime & that never came. 45 minutes later & 3 different managers assuring us our drinks would take just a few moments longer and having to ask 5 times for a glass of water we received cold hot chocolate, half a glass of water and barely an apology. I am never one to complain as I was in the service industry my entire teen/early twenties life & get crass customers, but this was not the case. Trying to be friendly as it was Christmas time we asked for the bill so we could get on our merry way. We got the bill and as I am a Platinum Marriott rewards member I picked up the tab with my Marriott credit card. $80 for cold hot chocolate & a mediocre Irish coffee. Nothing was comped and there was not even an apology. We did not stay here, nor would I ever, but I can honestly say I was less than impressed with the hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Woodstock, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Delightful rooms, excellent service and much pampering. The location was perfect for a weekend in Manhattan. The staff was excellent and took great care of two women alone in the city. I highly suggest a few nights here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The suite has a touch of class while still being modern. The room looks over Central Park which is an amazing view any time of year, from the plush greens in the summer to the changing colors of the trees in the fall you can not go wrong, There is even a room for staff/security with a small kitchen area, but kept private from the rest of the room.
The lobby has remained with the traditional look but with upgraded furniture, Staff was very friendly. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel with a cozy fireplace to keep you warm in the winter but there are plenty of bars and restaurants around if that did meet your needs.
The other rooms were a good size, when last seen, they needed some upgrading on furniture, i am sure has been completed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Of course the hotel is exquisite and the location is amazing. But what surprised me was how lovely, helpful, and kind every single employee (whom I encountered) was....literally everyone...the doorman, the front desk, housekeeping, etc. I know they are 'supposed' to be nice...but this is New York...not to mention the snootiest area of the New York...so I guess I expected a little more aloofness or something. I am always when my negative stereotypes are proven wrong :-) And you should have seen the amazing chocolate extravaganza they sent to our room to wish us a happy anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place is gorgeous and has top-notch service. The concierge emailed us a few days before our visit to see if there was anything we needed (we didn't, but it was a nice touch). The room was stunning, overlooking central park. Even though Central Park South is a busy road, there was little street noise. The hotel is convenient to all of mid-town, including the theater district, 5th and Madison avenues, and, of course, the park.

My only gripe: I do wish they put coffee service in the room -- I had to go to the lobby to get it in the mornings. I suppose I could have asked for one, but I didn't think of it at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking hotel with cosmopolitan elegance overlooking Central Park - Easy walking distance to famous Fifth Avenue shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.