We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Concierge Sets This Hotel Apart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #30 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Concierge Sets This Hotel Apart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz for a work reward trip - my budget is usually more of the Marriott or Hilton variety. My husband was unable to accompany me on the trip so two girlfriends went with me - thus we requested a room with 2 double beds. Just beware - apparently they only have one room with double beds per floor and this does not come with a park or a city view, rather the view of the wall of another building 2 feet in front of you outside every window. Needless to say our room was not equipped with the fabled telescope so many others mentioned.

The bathroom in the room was huge and very nice with a separate shower and tub and enough room for 3 "girls" to get ready in at the same time.

This being New York , we were not in our room all that much and I will have to say that when it comes to Concierge services the Ritz is top notch. The Concierge assisted us with several reservations prior to our arrival. On the afternoon we checked in we mentioned that we wanted to stop by somewhere for a quick drink prior to dinner and before we even unpacked our bags an envelope was slipped under the door with spot on recommendations.

The dinner reservation (Beauty & Essex) and lunch reservation (ABC Kitchen) that the Concierge recommended and made for us were exceptional and provided the exact tailored experience we had requested.

Of course you can't beat the Central Park location and getting a cab is a breeze. Additionally, we were always greeted by name each morning down in the lobby by the endearing Enders (sp?).

One thing we found peculiar was that when they do turn down service they place the pillows in the window behind the drapes. The first night we returned we had no idea where our pillows were and called housekeeping for more, only to discover the others the next morning.

All in all we had a great experience, but had I been paying don't know if I could justify the additional $200+ per night it costs to stay there over other hotels.

Room Tip: If you want a room with two double beds, just know that you wont have a view of the city or the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    112
    43
    19
    8
See reviews for
145
250
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What an amazing hotel! We stayed here for two nights, and had a great experience! It was a very romantic weekend for us because we got engaged! This was the best hotel to stay in for this special weekend. We had a room with a park view and everytime we looked out the window, we were amazed. The room itself was classy and bright. It was an above average size room for a NYC hotel. The bathroom was clean and refreshing The staff was friendly and attentive. Great hotel for a special weekend!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Sometimes I find myself waiting way to long to write a good review, not this time. Planned a girls shopping trip to NYC 6 months ago and booked Ritz over other considerations. Have stayed at Ritz- Central Park one other time many years ago with family and had a magical experience. So in the efforts to recreate the last experience I booked again. In my opinion the location can not be beat (I am shocked when folks say they don't like mid town, sooooo much to do within feet from hotel). From the second you arrive you are made to feel increadably special, amazing welcoming staff. We splurged and upgraded to club level (highly recommend for many reasons), so we checked in and headed to club level for a much needed cocktail. The Club lounge is beautiful and very welcoming. Equiped with heavy appetizers, wine, champagne, bottled water, etc it was a sight for sore eyes (We had been traveling for @ 9 hours). Within a minute of arriving, Lazar who was on duty asked if we would like a beverage we said yes 'Martini's please' (can't say enough about how much we enjoyed Lazar, great personality, great martini maker, great representative to the hotel). The room was very lovely, what you would expect of a Ritz. The location of this hotel is right accross the street of central park, blocks from the best shopping anywhere in the world and you can walk to Time Square & Theatre district. Sit in the lobby bar and it's people watching galore. Keep eyes pealed you just might see a celeb or two. I had very high expectations (based on last visit) and the Ritz effortlessly topped themselves. Will be back, and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm very late in writing this review, but remember it well. I had a cancelled flight due to weather while on a business trip and booked a last minute reservation at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park. Located at Central Park South, you can't find a better location in Midtown to see the sights, walk around, find great restaurants, and easily get to other areas of Manhattan to enjoy during your stay.

For the business or family traveler, you can't go wrong at this Ritz. Only one room per floor has double beds, but you can always ask for a rollaway if you need it. The property's rooms are the older English style, but very, very well appointed and manicured. The room was pristine and the bathrooms are very up to date and more modern than the rest of the room's style.

The gym has no view, but is adequate for basic workouts. The lobby bar/cafe is beautifully done and has the feel of old world New York. Make sure you stop in. Also, ask for a room with a view of Central Park. While the Ritz commands a high price, you're paying for luxury and location. If you can splurge, do. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a Central Park view or partial view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Significant other and I had a couples weekend away at Ritz Carlton on Central Park South in NYC. We opted for the club level room for about $150 more per night and were glad we did. Also opted for the more expensive park view regular room: nice with the view and a telescope in the window. Even though there is some scaffolding and work being done on the building's exterior, it was an elegant and totally relaxing stay. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is a bit old-school and it would be nice if they did a refresh on the room decor, however, things were spotlessly clean and all the internet and flat panel tvs worked flawlessly. Everyone from doormen to check in desk personnel were extremely kind and professional. No wait for check in, and each time we left the room it seemed like it was cleaned immediately. Turn down service, newspapers in the AM, etc. The club lounge staff were a real highpoint: chatty and friendly and full of info. Free drinks, nice snacks, different tidbits being put out four or five times per day. One evening we missed the hors d'ourvres and arrived back around 9 PM a bit hungry: the staff gave us a nice little place with some cheeses, nuts, etc. Would definitely stay there again. Can't beat the location!

Room Tip: High floor park view room was super quiet and had full view north from Central Park South. Even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Old fashioned charm and elegance, rather than a modern feel, but I happen to like that quality in a hotel. The service was exceptional and the minute you check in, every staff member remembers your name. You feel valued. Central Park is right across the street. Taxis are easy to get, but you're walking distance to most everything in midtown. It's a great location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. This is Manhattan, after all. And ask for a room with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in July and it was just as amazing as you would imagine the Ritz in Central Park to be! Cross the street to enjoy the park, and near wonderful restaurants! We enjoyed lunch in the hotel restaurant, gorgeous salads and fantastic wine. Luxury at its finest

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking hotel with cosmopolitan elegance overlooking Central Park - Easy walking distance to famous Fifth Avenue shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.