We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Central Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #34 of 449 hotels in New York City
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ritz in Central Park for my twin nieces 16th birthday and it was an amazing stay. Jo, the Special Events Manager, decorated the room with the material i had FedExed a couple days in advance and also with balloons that Balloon Saloon had delivered. They also gave the twins a beautiful cake that was personally decorated. The staff was so sweet with recognizing the twins and wishing them Happy Birthday for the rest of our stay. The Club Lounge is worth the extra money with the attentive waiters, (thanks, Lazarus!) and the yummy food at our convenience, all day long. We will always remember the special time at the Ritz and can't thank you enough for the lifetime memories !!

Room Tip: We loved suite 401 because the bedroom was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    100
    42
    18
    6
See reviews for
132
222
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location is superb, the fabric of the hotel is stylish and comfortable. We took a premium room overlooking Central Park, 7th floor. The room was tastefully and elegantly appointed, the antique telescope in one of the windows is a nice touch. All aspects of the stay were top notch, delivered by a professional and committed hotel staff team. People always make the business. This business clearly has and enjoys keeping excellent people. We will stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for business. View of air shaft so in perpetual darkness all day. Room super dated and shabby. Service was snobby. Maybe I'm spoiled by the hotels in Asia, but I would've thought you should be able to do much better with $500 a night (even Paris is much better value). Anyway didn't have to pay myself, but still wouldnt choose this place if i had a chioce. No idea what anyone would stay here - I suppose if you pay more you might be able to get a better room with a view or something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We did not have a chance to treat ourselves this holiday season so in January, after all the traveling and craziness we decided to treat ourselves.
We had an amazing dinner with grilled veal chops, fine wine and the service level where you never ask for a thing and whatever you wished just appeared!
Anticipated every imaginable need and want - a magical celebration!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I hadn't stayed here for 5 years+ yet was welcomed as if I had only just left. Nothing was too much trouble and it felt exactly as if I had never left.

What more can I say? The bar is fantastic, the new restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Simply cannot fault the service in this hotel. From the moment I arrived, the staff were incredibly courteous and helpful. Within a day they all seemed to know me by name, which was remarkable. I arrived at 7 in the morning having caught a red eye from California yet they managed to find me a room immediately so I could shower and change before my meetings. In the evening with half an hour's notice they were able to cancel a previously booked dinner reservation for five people in one restaurant and find space for that party somewhere more local. Umbrellas were provided when it rained and they manage to conjure a cab out of nowhere, no mean feat during a storm in NYC. Room was very nicely laid out. Bed was incredibly comfortable. One minor issue is that when it is very still one notices the subway trains moving under the building but I cannot say that it impacted on my stay. Pressing and shoe cleaning available overnight and coffee delivered complimentary with wake up call. Everything was really as a hotel should be.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We enjoy staying at Ritz Carltons whenever we are in a city where one is located, especially on the club floor or with club access. The last time we were in New York there was no club access availabilty left, but this trip we were able to have club access and really enjoyed the club at this location.

We had a deluxe room on an upper level. The check-in was smooth, the room was lovely and clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff in the club lounge were very friendly and the food presentations were very good. Some Ritz Carltons locations have had nicer presentations, others have been not as nice. Any help we needed, the staff was very willing to do all they could. The doormen were kind and went out of their way to be helpful.

We did not eat at the restaurant or spend any time in the bar because we enjoyed the quiet of the club lounge and talking to some of the very friendly people we met there.

The only complaint we have is no coffee maker in the room. We have gotten used to having a coffee service in the room and with the club lounge several floors below, it would be nice to have coffee in the rooms.

We enjoy the Ritz-Carlton Central Park very much. We look forward to staying here and love the view of Central Park. The location is wonderful for walking to so many stores, restaurants, and enjoying the park.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the park, upper floors are even nicer. We felt like the club level was worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Central Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking hotel with cosmopolitan elegance overlooking Central Park - Easy walking distance to famous Fifth Avenue shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.