We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #32 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Another delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We enjoy staying at Ritz Carltons whenever we are in a city where one is located, especially on the club floor or with club access. The last time we were in New York there was no club access availabilty left, but this trip we were able to have club access and really enjoyed the club at this location.

We had a deluxe room on an upper level. The check-in was smooth, the room was lovely and clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff in the club lounge were very friendly and the food presentations were very good. Some Ritz Carltons locations have had nicer presentations, others have been not as nice. Any help we needed, the staff was very willing to do all they could. The doormen were kind and went out of their way to be helpful.

We did not eat at the restaurant or spend any time in the bar because we enjoyed the quiet of the club lounge and talking to some of the very friendly people we met there.

The only complaint we have is no coffee maker in the room. We have gotten used to having a coffee service in the room and with the club lounge several floors below, it would be nice to have coffee in the rooms.

We enjoy the Ritz-Carlton Central Park very much. We look forward to staying here and love the view of Central Park. The location is wonderful for walking to so many stores, restaurants, and enjoying the park.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the park, upper floors are even nicer. We felt like the club level was worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    111
    43
    19
    8
See reviews for
144
248
36
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Decided to splurge and got the package complete with ballet tickets, personal shopper and stunning central park views (love the telescope by the window). Wonderful friendly service. Probably would say it was overpriced, but it is the New York Ritz Carlton after all, expect nothing short of old world opulence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every time we visit New York. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. The club lounge facilities are also great, with complimentary soft drinks and snacks available all day and alcoholic ones in the evening. The staff are so friendly and attentive, it makes for a really nice atmosphere. All this with the great added view over Central Park.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We often stay at this hotel when we visit New York, and it has been our favorite. The views of the park are amazing from the room and the service is great. I must say that our last visit surprisingly did not meet our expectations. They must have some new staff in the reception/ entrance area that they did not go out of their way to make us feel special, especially since we were celebrating my birthday. Unlike other reviewers, I happen to like the decor and I'll be disappointed if they renovate. We went to have a drink to the beautiful lounge before dinner and we were asked to move to another table because they had reserved our table for others. This would be fine if there was a "reserved" sign on the table but there was none. Then the waitress could not make eye contact, or a conversation. Too shy? The newly renovated restaurant lacks in service and food quality but not in prices. There some great restaurants close to the hotel (Marea, Benoit), so I would avoid the hotel restaurant. If this level of service and attitude continues, I'll start looking for other hotels with a view of the park.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Ritz in Central Park is not for the weak of wallet. The normal price ranges from $800 - $2,000 per night, depending on whether one books in advance and chooses a suite vs a normal king size room. Of the poor reviews I read, I was a bit worried about the hotel, but found none of these issues. The place smelled and looked lovely. Our afternoon tea was exceptional, including a variety of tea sandwiches, champagne and earl gray tea. No it was not cheap, but anyone concerned about price tags needs to skip this hotel altogether. Breakfast for two was $80;it's a 5 star hotel with a 5 star price tag. With the view of Central Park, and proximity to all in central and uptown Manhattan, I found it worth it. The only better woulld be the Pierre or the Carlyse, both of which will run up a $1,000 per night bill very quickly. The hotel staff and concierge arranged everything for us from transportation to theater. they were very kind to my daughter, and proactively sought to make us more comofrtable. I was able to host my friends in our roomy room, and catch up over room service drinks in leisure. The public spaces are understandably conservative, and largely cater to an international business class group. German bankers, Swiss businessmen, that kind of thing. We loved this hotel, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a view of Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked two rooms for a four night visit to New York.
Everything else was pretty good
Two good rooms.
The room itself was clean,Large windows give good light in the rooms
wonderfully comfortable beds
a great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to the afternoon tea at the ritz-Carlton.....boring! For 55 dollars you get a couple of dry sandwiches and one huge scones. Not the afternoon experience I was hoping! The hotel is in a great location, but definitely very old and would need a little revamp. The room smell like humidity due to the carpet. The view is amazing, don't pay the extra money for the club which is not worth!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking hotel with cosmopolitan elegance overlooking Central Park - Easy walking distance to famous Fifth Avenue shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.