We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay Here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked two rooms for a four night visit to New York.
Everything else was pretty good
Two good rooms.
The room itself was clean,Large windows give good light in the rooms
wonderfully comfortable beds
a great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    128
    47
    18
    8
See reviews for
164
280
39
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to the afternoon tea at the ritz-Carlton.....boring! For 55 dollars you get a couple of dry sandwiches and one huge scones. Not the afternoon experience I was hoping! The hotel is in a great location, but definitely very old and would need a little revamp. The room smell like humidity due to the carpet. The view is amazing, don't pay the extra money for the club which is not worth!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As a native New Yorker who moved to Chicago, I am very picky about staying in NYC hotels. For the past few years, my husband and I have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Central Park during the December holidays. I have to admit that it has become somewhat of a tradition for us and returning to this property is like coming home for the holidays! From our curbside greeting to the check-in, our stay and departure, we have found our experiences very satisfactory.

During our 2011 visit, there were a few glitches and we mentioned them as we left the property. When we returned for our December 2012 visit, we were surprised at how wonderful everything was. Apparently they remembered our concerns and made several efforts to make up for them. We enjoy staying at this property because it is a central location for our visits with family and friends from all the boroughs. It is very convenient to anywhere we needed to go whether shopping, the theater, or restaurants. We enjoy chatting with the folks at the front desk, as well as the concierge staff, and we enjoy ending the evening with a drink in the lounge at the end of the day.

Although I would like to keep this wonderful property a secret, I must admit that I whole heartedly recommend it to anyone who is destined to NYC. With the level of service that they offer, it will continue to be one of my NYC favorites!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I wrote a review a year ago where I was less than pleased with our experience at the Ritz. They lost our reservation and it just went downhill from there. However, the Manager offered us a complimentary night, to allow the Ritz to "get it right this time". So, we took them up on it and it really was a great experience this time. The room was fabulous with a great park view. We went to the bar where we had a wonderful experience - mostly because of Eric the bartender - who was friendly and served great drinks and fabulous snacks. I would definitely stay at the Ritz again. They did a great job this time and did absolutely "get it right". We'll be coming back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The view of Central Park is the most unique I have ever seen. The service was impeccable. Norman- the bar tender- is an institution. Best stay I have ever had in NYC. I also learned that going after the holiday rush gives you great access to the best places, at a lesser cost/crowds, and you still can get the Christmas decor! The Ritz location and staff is the best in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful stay! From the second we stepped out of our car until we left there was nothing less than the absolute highest standards of service. A beautiful hotel with all the trappings that one would expect from a luxury hotel.

Amazing food in the restaurant, well maintained rooms and common areas. Service was beyond reproach.

We will be back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

While walking Mid Town Manhattan, and Central Park, we found the best place to relax and enjoy a nice drink. Inside the Ritz sits a very nice, but small, intimate bar. We found service to be what you expect , outstanding! Simply put, they remember clients by your last names, and are very friendly as well. You feel like they are truly glad you stopped by. Norman has been there for 30+ years, and has the best Irish coffee recipe I have ever had. Drinks are generous, poured the old fashioned way, and served with a warm smile! The decor is classic, upscale,staff friendly and not at all stuffy. We came back the next evening for our last evening meal during our visit in NYC.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel this trip, but would most likely do so on our next Trip to NYC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking hotel with cosmopolitan elegance overlooking Central Park - Easy walking distance to famous Fifth Avenue shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.