We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Ritz Carlton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #32 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Love this Ritz Carlton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel and a great Ritz Carlton. Location is really nice, of course, right on Central Park South. Service is outstanding and friendly. Very active and vibrant bar area (especially since the LA Lakers were staying there when we were there). My only complaint is that they need a new restaurant to fill the space that used to house BLT Market. The current restaurant in the hotel is really not up to par. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    112
    43
    19
    8
See reviews for
145
250
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent a weekend here on points (LOVE the Marriott points)
Room was clean and well appointed - no park view but we have been told these rooms are quieter.
Our only gripe was that we should have had access to the Club Lounge but it was "oversubscribed".
We found a welcome gift in our room - were wished "happy anniversary" at the front desk and a "Happy anniversay" dessert was brought to us after dinner.
In all a very plush place to stay if you want to feel spoiled - pricey if you are paying but well worth spending points on if you have them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We checked in at 6 PM on a Sunday and the person at the front desk was completely clueless. Not a good beginning for such an upscale hotel. The room itself was okay. It was clean.
The real positive of our room was the club level. There they went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The food presentations were fresh and tasty. The Spa is not really a spa. It did have a steam room that worked very very well but something truly was missing from the spa experience. The massage therapist was very good. The location could not be beat. Its a lot of money for what you really get, but its NYC after all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked a Ritz Carlton Suite for 7 night with my wife and 2 children. For more then 800USD a night I have to admit it is very pricey but this is NYC. We booked the limosine service from Kennedy airport which came on time. Check-in took just a few minutes. Our Ritz Carlton Suite was very spacious and had perfect views of Central park. We were also upgraded to a Ritz Carlton suite Club Room. The club had nice food and beaultiful views. Food was very good with a choice of both local and international cuisine. I really liked the Bistro and Bar which serves very nice and tasty seafood. I would defitney recommend it.

Room Tip: Book a club room despite the higher price, they have much better service and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I could write ten pages about this experience but I will try to keep it as short as I can.

We booked a room for the Macy's Parade View many, many months in advance. We stayed at this hotel about two years ago (I failed to write review) so we somewhat knew what to expect. We were contacted prior to our arrival to find out if there was anything that could be done in preparation for our arrival. One of the few things we requested was not to be given a handicap accessible room. When we arrived after a long messed up day of travel we were placed in a handicap accessible room on the sixth floor. No door on toilet room, no bathtub for our two year old, grab bars all over the place. Called the desk and was moved to another room on the third floor. This room overlooked the top of a scaffolding that had work stuff all over it and blocked the first lane of Sixth Avenue where the parade would be. It ruined the view and would have ruined any pictures I had hoped to take. I called the desk again, asked manager to come to room. It is now around 10pm and I have a two year old! She informs me the rooms I had been offered were all that was left for the parade view but that certain guests were not there for the parade and would be checking out of ideal rooms the next day. At this point I am baffled that I, the customer who paid $1500 per night many months in advance am given the leftover crummy rooms. But someone who is paying probably half that amount and isn't even there for the parade view is in the good parade view room? I got pretty upset-wanted to cry. After going back and forth with the night manager begging her to do something she called with "good news". She had a guest move out of an ideal parade view room on the sixth floor. We had to wait for the room to be cleaned and they comped us dinner at their restaurant while we waited. When we finally got in what should have been our room all along it was perfect.

The room was very clean (maybe the cleanest I've ever stayed in) except the outside of the windows were quite dirty. After a couple of phone calls they came and were able to swing the window open from the inside and cleaned them really well.

The two large windows were perfect for watching the parade. The have a huge ledge you can actually sit in, my toddler stood in, and you can crank them open at the top and hear the sounds.

They really did not do anything special for the Thanksgiving Holiday or for the customers paying huge amounts for the view. Their "Parade View Package" turned out to be nothing beyond the room and hot chocolate on the morning of the parade. That seems pretty silly to me. I don't think someone paying $1500/night for a basic little room is really going to think hot chocolate is a great deal. Besides we aren't eight years old! Hot chocolate?! I would have much rather had a nice welcome note from management saying "Happy Thanksgiving, thanks for staying with us". A small fruit basket maybe? A couple drink vouchers? They often do things like that at Ritz Carlton even if you're NOT there for something special! Disappointing!

I give the rating four stars because the room was very clean (big deal to me!) and all problems ended up fixed in the end. We had an unbelievable view of the parade! But I am still pretty shocked about our initial room assignments and their lack of attention to detail for the guests there for the very costly "Parade View Package".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz the weekend of November 30. Very nice hotel, nice room, enjoyable restaurant and bar. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good. Room had no view but clean and nice size. Compared to our stay at the Pierre, I felt the attention to detail at this hotel was lacking.

We didn't use the spa or gym (went for runs in central park). Can't best the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Central Park Ritz is a nice, boutique like property which is well located. Rooms are smallish, but very well-appointed. The lobby is small and very understated. This is definitely a Ritz which flies under the radar and feels more like an apartment building than a hotel.

I have stayed here many times on business. The service is good and it's hard to find fault.

As a business traveler, the hotel is on the pricer side. Rates fluctuate, but it's not uncommon to pay close close to $1000 a night (or more) for a modest non-suite room, which is nearly double the price to stay of the neighboring Essex House (which happens to be a very nice property, at least while it was in the hands of Jumeriah...We will see what Marriot does with it).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking hotel with cosmopolitan elegance overlooking Central Park - Easy walking distance to famous Fifth Avenue shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.