We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel to your Saves list
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, primarily picked this hotel because of its location and proximity to public transportation. Was able to check-in early, rooms were average and price was fair. I didn't try the breakfast but what I heard was it was basic, but I guess when you're in New York, you can find great food anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    899
    248
    65
    55
See reviews for
370
571
91
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Average services, small rooms and poor breakfast. If the location wasn't good for business i would never go again. The last time that i was there i had quite an inconvenience. Apparently there was a leak of water in the room next door and to fix it, the technicians, they had to enter into my room. The problem is that they were entering three days in a row, at inappropriate hours almost without knocking the door. The beds are excellent though...

Room Tip: Rooms with double beds are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Marios N,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our beds to be excellent, but are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay overall. For breakfast we receive fresh food every day and try to provide as much variety as possible. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the leak next door. We can assure you that the staff is trained to be courteous and professional during all situations.
We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

great location. staff very helpful. the private taxi the hotel booked for our return to JFK airport,an asian man in a turban drove like a maniac,got into a road rage with another car and scared the life out of me and my wife.We think we were lucky to get to the airport in one piece.!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

There is so much good to say about my hotel stay at NYMA. I stayed there for four nights and had no bad experiences.

Price was really good. The location was brilliant when I arrived by train from Newark Penn Station. The check in went smoothly. Got otherwise good service.

The room was clean and more than big enough for me. Also had been fine for two people as well. Having breakfast included I also greatly appreciated. Breakfast is simple but good and tasty start to the day. I had read on the internet that it could be smart to come early to get the room since breakfast room is a bit small, so I did. And had no trouble getting a table.

Located in Korea Town in the shadow of the Empire State Building. It provides many benefits. It's close to the subway with many lines. There are many shops nearby as Macy's and the Manhattan Mall. And countless more shops a short walk away. Koreatown has many exciting places to eat where I ate lunch two days.

The fitness room is a bit small with few appliances vekttening, but it gave only challenges to find new exercises. It is the just a few days, then it went just fine. Some adaptable you can be even if you are on vacation :)

All in all a successful stay in a hotel I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels in Manhattan. I've gone on a number of occasions and have had a great experience every time. Nice beds, good rooms. Definitely recommend this to all looking for a good place to stay in the city.

Room Tip: Great rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.