We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTRAORDINARY BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN THE HEART OF MANHATTAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Save Saved
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 452 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXTRAORDINARY BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN THE HEART OF MANHATTAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

My partner and I went to this hotel at the end of june.
We stayed there for 9 nights.

Location: The library Hotel as a perfect location, it is closed to Grand central station, in the center of Manhattan (42nd/Madison Avenue), it is really easy to go wherever you want to and we appreciated it. It was our first time in New York and we walked a lot, had so many things to do, the location was important.

Hotel: If you don't like being in big hotels like Hilton etc...the library hotel is perfect, this is a boutique hotel, limited number of rooms, the hotel is not noisy.
We booked the small room..so yes it's not a loft but in New York usually you don't spend your time in your hotel room.
However the room was really clean, everyday, we got some bottles of water and some weather info every time we were back in the room. The bed linen is really good as well.
This hotel is not noisy at all but very nice because the terrace on the rooftop is great, you can have a drink or even your breakfast in the morning up there.

Breakfast: The breakfast was included in our package, in the first floor they have a kind of living room where you can relax every time you want, the breakfast in the morning is really good and at any time on the day, you can have some hot/cold drinks and some pastries.
From 5 to 8 you can have some cheese and wine for free every day.

Service: One of my favourite part, the service was really great, I remember Eric at the reception.
But everyone was very nice, very professional, they do all their best to make you feel really comfortable, we have nothing to say about their service, it was perfect and i cnan tell you that the service is one of our most important criteria.

We really enjoyed this hotel, and if we go back to nyc, we will stay there again without hesitating.
This is a boutique hotel, really charming, the atmosphere is nice and relax, and when you walked all the day, you are happy to get back in your little paradise in the heart of manhattan

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,009
    398
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
279
1370
269
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I booked this hotel mainly because of the great reviews I had read and I wasn't disappointed! The hotel itself is lovely but it's the staff that make it really special. The location is perfect for sightseers like ourselves and the little touches like Prosecco in our room, complimentary coffees throughout the day and a wide selection of DVDs to borrow (something to do when you are awake at 3am with jetlag!) made it really memorable. Even when we had checked out on the final morning we were still treated as guests as our flight wasn't untill later that evening. We were even encouraged to go and have a complimentary glass of wine in the lounge while we waited for our cab to the airport! A lot of reviews mention the extra small bedrooms but even though we had one of the smallest rooms, it was designed so well you didn't really notice the size.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Good: almost everything.
Not so good: Storage space inside the room is poor. Breakfest (included) is unsatisfactory for a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
We appreciate your feedback on your past stay with us and are happy to hear that you found the Library to be a very nice hotel.

We see that you had some notes and thought we’d mention that most of our guests truly enjoy our European style continental breakfast. In order to keep costs down for our travelers we must continue to offer our current selections. We all know NYC isn’t the cheapest place to travel, but we provide a value that is unmatched by other hotels. Not only does our rate include breakfast, but we also offer free wifi, free gym passes and free wine and cheese receptions every evening. Regarding storage space, we are uncertain as to which room type you were booked for. However, we do believe that the Library offers rooms that are of standard size & storage in NYC. In addition, we offer our 2nd FL Reading Room 24 hours a day and the 14th FL Writers Den & Poetry Garden (when not booked by private events) as an extension of your sleeping room. We hope to welcome you back with us very soon!

__ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian: yogini@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Good sized room with great facilities. Welcoming, informative staff with a high level of service. Well presented breakfast and complimentary cheese and wine reception every evening. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan and both shopping and sightseeing attractions are easily accessed by walking or subway. Overall, the hotel is excellent and we would recommend it as the place to stay when visiting New York.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Library for six nights in October and we loved it!

Staff: very welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful! They loaned us a cable for our computer and umbrellas for the rain. My favorite was doorman John who smiled every time he saw us – makes you feel special! AJ was also great. He helped us to our room and as I was fumbling for a tip, he just bowed out very quietly and quickly. I appreciate him overlooking my lack of tipping etiquette.

Room: though small, it had everything we needed. Space wasn’t an issue. My suitcase fit on the rack inside the closet. The room and bathroom had very nice finishes and linens. Wonderful hot water and water pressure.

Amenities: we used the second floor lounge many times, either for breakfast, wine and cheese, or just to relax, unwind, and refresh before heading out again. They had a good assortment of breakfast foods and beverages, all very fresh. I loved their cappuccino machine! They even provided paper coffee to-go cups so you can take it with you.

Location: perfect. The hotel is within easy walking distance to tourist draws but it’s far enough away so you’re not overwhelmed and engulfed by traffic and crowds. It’s also close to Bryant Park subway and Grand Central subway. Between the two of those stations, you can get nearly anywhere.

Cons: not many really. Yes, we did notice street noise from the 8th floor, but we weren’t really bothered by it. And there are less expensive choices on Manhattan, but you wouldn’t get all the wonderful things mentioned above.

We will definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is a good, but expensive hotel. The staff are excellent. The rooftop bar is amazing and quite a funky place for quite a formal hotel. The only weakness is breakfast which does not contain any hot food. Also if there is not enough space on the 2nd floor you're expected to take all your food to the 14th floor where there are no attendants. The suite room I booked was well equipped and roomy - although I've heard regular rooms are small. The ambience of the hotel itself is rather formal, but the rooftop bar makes up for it. The wine and cheese served every evening deserves a special mention - it was a perfect refuel after a 7 hour flight from London and set us up to explore a bit of Manhattan on our first night. Overall, a good stay with good staff in a convenient location - but could do something better with breakfast. If you stay there, I recommend checking out Moonstruck for breakfast - further down Madison Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear Londoner016,

We are happy to hear that you find the Library Hotel & its staff to be a solid choice for the Midtown Manhattan area. We understand that we are not the cheapest hotel. However, we believe our pricing falls well into the average rates being offered in NYC, while providing a great deal more amenities than ordinary hotels such as free breakfast, free wifi, free gym passes and free wine and cheese receptions every evening. I’ve been working at the Library Hotel for over 4 years now and do not often hear that our breakfast needs to be better or contain hot food. Most of our guests truly enjoy it. In order to keep costs down for our travelers we plan to continue offering our current breakfast, yet understand and have noted that we have room for improvement in providing additional service on the 14th floor Writers Den & Poetry Garden when the 2nd floor Reading Room is full. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back with us very soon!

__ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian: yogini@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Had a weekend getaway and this was the perfect hotel. The deluxe continental breakfast and thew wine / cheese sampling were great! Walking distance to many things.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.