We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Library Hotel - perfect location, service and features.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Library Hotel - perfect location, service and features.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I had previously stayed at the related Casablanca Hotel, and thought that was fabulous, but the Library Hotel was even better! The location was brilliant, the staff were welcoming, helpful and very friendly.
The included features (computers and printer in business centre, breakfast, reading room, rooftop conservatory and garden, tea, coffee and snacks, library of books and DVDs, nightly cheese and wine reception) were exceptional.
I stayed in the smallest room type, but was perfectly comfortable, and found the room contained all that I needed. It couldn't have been cleaner, and I loved having a docking station as well as the beautiful library and tv and dvd player.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    439
    74
    21
    12
See reviews for
323
1,569
290
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We paid $360/night for a deluxe queen room. These rooms are tiny and loud. This furnishings are a bit dingy and very low quality. It's got a Holiday Inn Express vibe. Low on style points, traditional decor, musty smells. Tiny slow elevators that are always packed with old tourists.

This is a $250/night place, not the high prices they are getting now due to these trip advisor reviews. BEWARE.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

To celebrate Easter, my mother and I decided to spend the long weekend in NYC. I decided on The Library Hotel after researching a lot of the popular hotels in the area. I was looking for a location that was central to everything we wanted to see (i.e. Grand Central, Central Park, Times Square etc.), was unique to New York, and wouldn't break the budget.... and we found it at The Library Hotel.

I've always been very particular about where I stay, and they lived up to my demands. The rooms were small (to be expected in NYC) but very clean. Also, the staff was extremely accomodating and willing to do everything they could to make our stay perfect. My mom really enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon, and I liked that after a long day running around town, I could come back to a nice peaceful room.

Overall, we had a splendid time there, and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Expectations were high after the reviews on here, but this hotel exceeded them. Casting aside previous experiences of sycophancy only in return for a tip in the US, the team here were genuine and made you feel like they really meant you to enjoy and "make yourself at home", as we were welcomed. Room was smallish but designed well and bed very comfortable. We were greeted with a rose petal strewn bed that was just fabulous so maybe I am biased! Requests for ice and/or fruit salad at breakfast without a particular allergy causing fruit very happily and speedily met with a smile. Breakfast room could get crowded, but staff happy to help you make up a tray to take back to your room or up to the gorgeous rooftop terrace. Coffee was the best (to this European palate) tasted outside Little Italy during our trip and a good range of teas. The only thing missing at breakfast was cheese, otherwise perfect. The evening wine/cheese/nibbles in the library very tranquil and a lovely aperitif; plentiful water bottles also a very much appreciated touch. Excellent location with all the main sights easily accessible. Loved it and did not want to return home! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I stayed here over Easter with my girlfriend and had the most amazing time there. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, with outstanding service given by breakfast room staff.
On 41st Street/Madison this hotel is very near to Empire State and walking distance to some of the bigger venues (Rockefeller Plaza, Times Sq, Broadway, Central Park).
All the rooms in the hotel are themed with books on that subject. We could have borrowed classic movie DVDs from reception, but with such a city out here, hey, who needs DVDs?
Breakfast is simple but well organized; also quite easy-going, they allow you to take coffee or full breakfast up to your room. Choice at breakfast could be only very slightly better (no cheese or ham slices or so).
The roof top garden bar is definitely something to experience; we had a balmy night there, with all the bustle of the city going on; staff is friendly too but cocktails could do with some work on it.
If ever back in NY, will definitely come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Hi all,

We stayed with my wife from for 8 nights and the only thing that i can tell you is that this hotel is probably the best you can find simply because the service, cleanliness,location( 2 blocks away from grand central) , and nice breakfast was all there. The only negative that i found was the quality of the food of the hotel's bistro Madison & Vine Restaurant. Rooms size is somewhat small compared to others in that amount of money but was not a big issue. Other than that we would definitely go there again since this hotel has all the ingredients for a good night sleep...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

After finding the hotel based on reviews in Trip Advisor, I'm very happy to confirm that this is the perfect place to stay in NY. We stayed here for 5 night’s late march/beginning of april. Both the address and the service at the Hotel are perfect. We easily got to everything we wanted from the Hotel, and it was great coming back after a long day walk around the city. The free Wine and Cheese hours from five o'clock did not make it worse :) Not to forget the rooftop snack bar at 14th floor. The employees where always helpful and nice talking to about our day. I would highly recommend this to everybody!
Lasse, Norway

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.