We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Option in New York City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Option in New York City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Library Hotel. The staff was remarkably friendly, warm and professional. No request was too large or too small. The hotel has a fair amount of amenities -- free continental breakfast (not that memorable), wine and cheese (very pleasant), round the clock expresso and cappuccino machine with assorted cookies, free access to a local gym, strong (and free) wireless internet service, free (and unlimited) bottled water, room service from a fine little restaurant on the ground floor, a rooftop lounge and bar (a bit of a scene), a fairly large in room safe, and exceptional concierge service. The overall aesthetic is not particularly consonant with mine, but it has clean lines and everything is immaculately maintained and clean -- a real treat in NYC where some of the luxury hotels could use a thorough remodel and cleaning.

I opted for a prepaid single room which was exactly as represented on the website and a good value. In retrospect, I wish I had opted for a larger room as I am used to high end hotels and this felt a little depressing and claustrophobic other than for sleep. On the other hand, it was smartly furnished, clean and highly functional and there are some very nice public spaces to make use of. The whole Dewey decimal system of organization was a hoot and gives the hotel a unique feel, particularly given the proximity to NYC's famous central library. The location was convenient to the theater district, luxury retail and the Upper East Side. Taxis were plentiful at all but the oddest hours of the day. Opportunities for pizza by the slice and other New York delicacies were plentiful. Many of the hotel guests seem to be twenty and thirty somethings, but that fit the decor and vibe and may have been a result of the New Year's Eve weekend.

On the whole, I think the hotel is worthy of a repeat visit in a city where the hotels tend to be substantially overpriced, often inhospitable and less than immaculately maintained. This hotel gave good value for the money, was friendly and beautifully turned out. An optimal choice for NYC. If you are debating room choice, take a larger option and spend the extra money. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    419
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
302
1,463
279
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alex Jenkins
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Staff put us into the 'Love room' on the 11th Floor, which was exceptional - the best in the house they said (and I believe them). Gorgeous balcony overlooking Madison Ave. - with a bottle of Champagne waiting for us on arrival. Clean, thoughtfully decorated and very memorable hotel. Perfect. The bar on the top floor is actually very good - the drinks are excellent. Full marks and thanks to ALL the Staff for making our elopement and NY City Hall / New Year's Eve Wedding even more special.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

When I arrived at the Library, I was a bit surprised by the almost-seediness of the lobby/reception area. I expected something larger, cleaner, more elegant. But the room was lovely--quiet, modern, tasteful. The size was perfect for a single traveller (I booked queen room). A couple might feel a bit tight. The included evening wine/cheese and continental breakfast were very nice touches. The public spaces lovely for hanging out with a book or chatting with friends--nice view from the living room across Madison Ave. Rooftop terrace lovely as well. I probably would not stay here for a romantic weekend, but would recommend for business or for peace and warmth for the single traveller who wants to be in midtown. (No breakfast room service).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Library Hotel was a perfect fit for us. I took my 14 year old daugther to New York for a mother/daugther get-away. We were so impressed with The Library. They had a wonderful staff, who were incredibly helpful with restaurants, activities, navigating the city, etc... The hotel was fabulous too! The room was small - but very functional and darling. My 14 year old thought it was 'awesome'. The amenities were endless....free movies rentals, free breakfast, gym, free internet (my sister stayed in a hotel in New York and had to pay $11/day for internet), snack and drinks available 24 hours/day, a beautiful sitting room/bar on the 14th floor and a great restaurant right next door to the main lobby. The location was perfect too - right between mid-town and the villiages - 2 blocks from Grand Central Station. I would highly recommend The Library and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We were totally happy during the time at this hotel. Room, location, staff were very great. Beds are really comfortable, nice flat screen TV, safe in the room, free Internet, and a nice big shower that even has a seat, but no bathtub (in case you care...we didn't).
Great in everything and we must come back next time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed here for four nights in between Christmas and New Year. We booked on the strength of the reviews on this site and on the whole were not disappointed. The room was very small (it was a petite room) and the bed was likewise small, but otherwise we were very pleased with it. The ipod docking station was a nice touch.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a block away from Grand Central and within easy walking distance of a lot of places. The 'business centre' was really useful and we were encouraged to check in online here for our flight home where we could print our boarding passes etc. Breakfast was good with coffees and teas, juice, pastries, bagels, fruit, yoghurt and cereals. We didn't have the cheese and wine but this was a nice idea and many people seemed to enjoy it.

The only downside was that on the evening of our departure when we wanted a cab to the airport we were told that we would find it difficult to get a yellow cab because all of the drivers change shifts at that time. This seemed to us to be a little unlikely as there were cabs everywhere. We were told the hotel could organise a private cab for $140 - as the yellow cabs only costed $50 this seemed ridiculous! We ended up going out and hailing a cab ourselves without any problems at all. We felt this was quite bad of the hotel and were disappointed as it seemed that they just couldn't be bothered.

Otherwise we found the hotel to be excellent and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a very festive stay in the Big Apple and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. We'd researched for weeks (there are so many to choose from!) and had been recommended to The Gansevoort and The Standard, modern hotels downtown, but decided to go with The Library because of it's location and the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed!

If you're visiting the city to shop, eat well and see the sights, but get a peaceful, good nights sleep, The Library is for you. In walking distance of all the big department stores, Central Park (10 mins), the Empire State building (3 mins), Grand Central Station (just round the corner) and of course The Library, which you can see from the window and surrounded by good eateries it was ideal.

We booked a Junior Suite which I would definitely recommend. The bed was enormous and amazingly comfortable and we had plenty of space for luggage (and shopping!). Traffic noise was minimal, something hard to find in the buzzing city, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. (The doorman virtually sprinted to me when he saw me trying to carry my own bag from the car when we arrived!)

Cheese and wine is available late afternoon, a tasty breakfast of pastries, cereals and fruit in the morning, and tea, coffee, cakes and muffins are replenished regularly and available all day - all complimentary. There's also a computer room with unlimited free internet access which was handy.

The Library is warm and cosy, yet modern and sophisticated and definitely somewhere I would recommend and hopefully experience again soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.