We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but would require some improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good but would require some improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Not perfect but definetely a great hotel, very well located mid-town. You can wall to many many great places. Few minutes away from the metro station. Accessible by bus from airports. The Bryant park is incredible....
Highly recommended if you wish to visit NYC for 3 or 4 days.
Comments on trip advisor are very accurate!
+ location; design of hotel/rooms; wine and cheese party on the 2nd floor (with a special thank to the young lady assisting guests); nice roof top bar (when not full; go when it is closed!)
- rooms are very noisy; air conditioning is noisy too; breakfast is very good but always the same; some staff is friendly, some other less....

The big issue is internet. It does not work in certain rooms (xxx6? Facing the Library?). It is not acceptable. You cannot expect guests to pay +350USD a night and sit in the corridor looking for the wifi signal. This problem is not new (see many other comments).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob R, General Manager at Library Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Born P,

Thank you for your review. We are so very sorry to hear that you had such difficulty with our Wi-Fi! I am thrilled to share with you that today, we have started to install brand new routers throughout the hotel and by mid-next week, we hope to completely resolve the issue. It will be a complete upgrade to the infrastructure, which will provide the entire hotel with a more up to date system and improve the signal in the sleeping rooms. I truly believe that this will be a tremendous improvement to guests trying to connect to our Wi-Fi.

I am also very concerned to hear that you felt that the friendliness of our staff was inconsistent. More than anything else, we take great pride in a team that is dedicated to making each guest feel welcomed and cared for. I hate to hear you did not experience that same passion for hospitality from everyone you encountered. If you wouldn't mind, I like to have the opportunity to speak with you more about the interactions you had with our staff when you may have felt underappreciated, so that I may address the issue immediately.

We would very much like to see you back again to experience the upgraded Wi-Fi and to show you the level of service we have earned our reputation on. Please contact me directly at Robert@libraryhotel.com or 212-204-5410 and it would be my pleasure to personally make all the arrangements for you.

All the best,
Robert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    419
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
300
1,463
279
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The service was excellent. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Could not have asked for a better location. The hotel offered a reading area, excellent continental breakfast, pastries and coffee the entire day and wine and cheese from 5:00 to 8:00. We enjoyed having a drink at the "rooftop bar".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I did not have a bad word to say about The Library Hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and it's in an amazing location right by Grand Central Station. It was easy to pop back to and refresh before going out again. The cheese and wine reception is a great idea and offers chance for vital relaxation! You can also order takeaway into your room if you feel like NYC has taken it out of you (very likely after 4/5 days!). Ask the staff on reception for takeaway recommendations - the pizza was the best we'd ever had!

One thing we would say is we'd recommend one of the bigger rooms - our friends were staying in a smaller one and we think it may have been a bit cramped. Also getting to and from, all New Yorkers will be horrified about the idea of taking the subway. It is in fact very easy and far more economical ($5 each compared to $70 for a taxi) than a taxi so go for it! However, everything about our experience was fantastic, we'll definitely be returning :).

Room Tip: Go for the bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before. It is the best hotel we know. Staying there every time we go to New York City is proof. Three times a year usually. Our trip this past Christmas was just heavenly! The staff always go out of their way, fetching cabs at all hours, feeding us an incredible breakfast, providing books everywhere and great reads. Greeting our daughters who live in the city as they wait for us and sending them to the lounge for wine and cheese to wait in comfort. We love the suites and the comfort. Beds are superb.

I needed a pencil for drawing one night and the staff set out to find me one. They kept at it so that 20 minutes later, the doorman arrived at our room with a freshly sharpened pencil all wrapped up as a Christmas gift! Now, who could ask for more?

No one. Stay there and have a treat.

Room Tip: Call the desk. I always reserve that way. Call early for the junior suites as there just a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is hands down one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Location: excellent. all the little extras (wine and cheese in the evenings, themed library in each room, nice toiletries, rooftop bar, breakfast): wonderful. But what really makes this a truly epic hotel is the staff who gave us unparalleled service from before we had opened the taxi door on arrival (Thank you, Alvin) to exceptional pre and post stay communications (Thank you, Justine). Outstanding.

Room Tip: 405 Middle Eastern Literature was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and on its location. Located in midtown Manhattan, this hotel was excellent for being able to walk easily to places like Grand Central Station, Times Square, the United Nations headquarters, Bryant Park, the New York Public Library, Fifth Avenue, Broadway shows, Central Park, the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, and much more! The hotel itself was very clean and had everything we needed: free wi-fi, breakfast, food and drink 24/7, attentive staff, and the creative library theme of the hotel was very welcoming. We would definitely return to this hotel for our next trip to New York! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Although we only stayed one night our experience was excellent. From doorman to front desk to the server at the nightly wine and cheese party. The breakfast, included with the room was quick and had a bunch of choices. We will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.