We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe it isn't No.1!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dubbo, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Can't believe it isn't No.1!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have stayed in many fine hotels over the years but none has come even close to The Library Hotel.

This was our second visit and this time we took elderly parents with us; they are still raving about the hotel. Level 2 is a great place to debrief over a coffee or glass of wine, or just the place for a spot of quiet reading and the fact that you can grab a coffee anytime you like, is a real bonus.

I can honestly say have never met better staff than the guys at the Library Hotel. They are actually interested in you as a person and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be. They give you great tips on where to eat and step by step instructions on how to navigate the Subway and bus services. They will also book tours or check on tour times if required.

But one of the things they do that no one else does is take the time to learn your name! I know that we Australians are an informal lot, but most of us like to say hi as you enter or leave or have a chat about what you did that day. These guys are engaging and interested in what you do; and they even have a sense of humour!

My daughter has issues with sleeping in fold out beds- so much so that often its mum or dad who score the fold out. When we came home one night, the guest services lady had made up the sofa and put all my daughters treasured dolls and teddies against the pillows. The bed looked just like home and she gladly went to bed and slept in the fold out for the 5 nights of our stay. That lady knows what it takes to make a room a home; the fact that she works at this hotel does not surprise me at all. That level of thoughtfulness and service is indicative of what you see every day from the staff at the Library Hotel. So many great staff but special shout out to Billy and the dashing Tim.

Yes, the elevators get cramped, thats because the hotel is so good that everyone wants to stay there! To the able bodied sooks who stood at the elevator whinging that it took 10 mins to get a lift to the second floor: seriously, its one floor- take the stairs!

We highly recommend the Library Hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms which were accessed by an outer door. You could lock the outer doors and leave the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,309
    446
    74
    21
    12
See reviews for
327
1,587
290
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived we found the Library Hotel absolutely fabulous. The hotel was an oasis in the hustle and bustle of the city. The breakfast was a bonus and was just what was needed to start a day site seeing, the hot drinks and pastrys were also available, nice for a pit stop when returning after a full day. The room was comfortable with air conditioning, the only down side was the constant road noise but ear plugs did the trick and something that is a price to pay for the excellent location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor this may reduce the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Library Hotel is first rate. We stayed for five nights, found the location to be excellent, the staff first class and the breakfast and evening wine and cheese very welcome. The rooms are a little on the small side but do contain all you need and are quite well set out, the lifts can be very busy especially with a 14th floor bar open to all but the compensations of location staff and refreshments make up for this. Wi-Fi is included. The street is a little noisy but we couldn't hear any noise from other rooms. Totally recommend, although be warned this level of service comes at a price but then again so does any accommodation in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel was wonderful from start to finish. The staff were fantastic but not obtrusive and we felt very special on our honeymoon. Cheese and wine every evening was a treat and the nightly turn down with music playing as we came in from a night out was a lovely addition. Five stars.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in April. Being a Library themed hotel, you get a sense of relaxation and class. The rooms were comfortable and thoroughly cleaned daily. The 24 hour access to tea/coffee and pastries was much needed and appreciated after long days sight seeing in New York. All staff were extremely helpful and professional. We will definatley return to the Library Hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in April. The rooms are perfect size as you are hardly in them and have everything you could need. The bonus of breakfast and evening wine and cheese was well welcomed. As someone who is on a gluten free diet I was not expecting much but I asked on the first morning and the staff made sure they had some. Staff were very friendly and helpful will def stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The library hotel was one of our highlights when we visited New York recently. All the staff were really friendly and I looked forward every afternoon to go and sit for a while or longer :-) reading, having tea and cookies or juice and lovely snacks in the reading room. Should I have the opportunity to return to New York I hope I can stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.