We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Save Saved
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 452 hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived we found the Library Hotel absolutely fabulous. The hotel was an oasis in the hustle and bustle of the city. The breakfast was a bonus and was just what was needed to start a day site seeing, the hot drinks and pastrys were also available, nice for a pit stop when returning after a full day. The room was comfortable with air conditioning, the only down side was the constant road noise but ear plugs did the trick and something that is a price to pay for the excellent location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor this may reduce the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,006
    397
    65
    20
    10
See reviews for
279
1368
268
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Library Hotel is first rate. We stayed for five nights, found the location to be excellent, the staff first class and the breakfast and evening wine and cheese very welcome. The rooms are a little on the small side but do contain all you need and are quite well set out, the lifts can be very busy especially with a 14th floor bar open to all but the compensations of location staff and refreshments make up for this. Wi-Fi is included. The street is a little noisy but we couldn't hear any noise from other rooms. Totally recommend, although be warned this level of service comes at a price but then again so does any accommodation in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was wonderful from start to finish. The staff were fantastic but not obtrusive and we felt very special on our honeymoon. Cheese and wine every evening was a treat and the nightly turn down with music playing as we came in from a night out was a lovely addition. Five stars.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in April. Being a Library themed hotel, you get a sense of relaxation and class. The rooms were comfortable and thoroughly cleaned daily. The 24 hour access to tea/coffee and pastries was much needed and appreciated after long days sight seeing in New York. All staff were extremely helpful and professional. We will definatley return to the Library Hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in April. The rooms are perfect size as you are hardly in them and have everything you could need. The bonus of breakfast and evening wine and cheese was well welcomed. As someone who is on a gluten free diet I was not expecting much but I asked on the first morning and the staff made sure they had some. Staff were very friendly and helpful will def stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The library hotel was one of our highlights when we visited New York recently. All the staff were really friendly and I looked forward every afternoon to go and sit for a while or longer :-) reading, having tea and cookies or juice and lovely snacks in the reading room. Should I have the opportunity to return to New York I hope I can stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and were delighted with it. Our room was on the small side but we had been prepared for this - thanks to other reviews! The reception staff were really helpful (particularly Tim, who welcomed us on arrival) and overall it felt like a 5 star stay. This was undoubtedly due to the helpful and attentive staff but also to the whole 'library theme' which lent an atmosphere of peace and quiet, in a hectic city that never sleeps! As regular NY visitors we greatly appreciated the free 24 hour tea, coffee and refreshments lounge (in the elegant Reading Room), the lovely breakfasts (included in our room rate) and the (again, free) evening wine-and-cheese refreshments. I personally appreciated the help given by one Server in the breakfast room, who as I had a heavy cold, helped ensure that I could have breakfast on a tray in my room; I didn't get her name and because of my illness was unable to thank her in person, but she is originally from Albania, and her helpfulness was greatly appreciated. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family, and we will certainly return. (oh and we did manage to do some reading, despite our busy visit!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;