We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convenient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Save Saved
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 452 hotels in New York City
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming and convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just had a wonderful six night stay at this lovely little hotel in midtown. The service and amenities are wonderful and the hotel is beautifully decorated - don't mIss the stairwell! We stayed in a Deluxe room and it was a great size for the two of us and accommodated all the shopping bags that piled up after a week.

Very convenient location, near Grand Central, Bryant Park and Times Square. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Almanac room, on the 10th floor and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,006
    397
    65
    20
    10
See reviews for
279
1368
268
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I visited New York September 2013. Our entire stay at the Library Hotel was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We were excited upon check in that the Hotel upgraded our room to the Love Room with the only private terrace. Our room was on the 11th floor and we had no trouble sleeping. We loved the continental breakfast and the evening complimentary wine and cheese. The rooftop area was also wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is our 3rd stay in New York and the Library is our best hotel to date. The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. The hotel is well placed in Mid town close to Grand central station and the city Library, close to lots of the main attractions.
We booked a junior suite on the 10 floor which had fantastic views up and down Madison Avenue and ideal if you are planning a longer stay. The complimentary breakfast is perfect and sets you up for the day as did the wine and cheese served every evening. You will not be disappointed if you like small, friendly and stylish.
David & Jayne

Room Tip: The junior suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, really friendly staff and excellent service. We spent some time here, whilst on our honeymoon and a free bottle of wine and card were in our room on arrival. Only thing I would say is that if you are staying as a couple book one of the bigger rooms, the smaller rooms are a bit cosy for 2. But will definitely be staying here on our next trip to NYC, the location is fantastic for shopping and site seeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I will never know as I cant afford either the time or cash, to go to them all. All I can say is that I would not bother going elsewhere. Just go back to the Library. Seemingly perfect location next to Grand Central, with easy access everywhere.
We had the smallest room, and it was totally adequate for two if what you require is a room for sleepring, changing, and washing. Very clean, great complimentary toiletries, enough room for a weeks stay, which is what we had. Enough time to find out if there were any problems. Problems and faults were, and we had to scrape the barrel here, a lift that was occasionally slow to arrive. A slightly better selection of the free cheese! Told you this was difficult. Tea, Coffee, iced water, biscuits and cakes along with fruit free all day long. Wine and Cheese free from 5pm till 8pm. Red, white or Prosecco. All of a good quality. Whats more, the wine is borought to you with top ups all evening should you wish, however we thought we would see a little of New York. Staff all very polite and helpful. Any tickets for events that I bought on my ipad, I just sent to reception and they printed them off, no issue. If you are used to a grand hotel lobby, and that sort of hotel feeling such as the Grovesnor Park lane, the Library might not be for you, but otherwise, my recommendation (check the cost first- not cheap) is go straight to the Library. It is for New York exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just back from 4 nights stay at this Hotel. Absolutely fabulous in every way - customer service, location and comfort all contributed to a fantastic holiday.

Its located very close to Grand Central Station and a lot of the tourist sights; Rockefeller, Chrysler Building, 5th Avenue, Empire State building however once in the room, there was no noise whatsoever. We had requested a high floor before arriving and staff were more than happy to accommodate.

There is a fantastic wine & cheese session every night 5pm-8pm which gives you the chance to relax after a days sight seeing before heading out again for the night.

It was our first wedding anniversary and on arrival there was a bottle of prosecco awaiting us in the room! Also the roof top bar offered great views to unwind with a cocktail or two.

When we come back to New York I wouldn't stay at any other hotel!

Room Tip: Request a room on the 11th floor, away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It's really hard to praise The Library Hotel too highly. Every encounter with them, long before we stepped into the hotel, was effiecent, fast and friendly. Nothing is a problem. The rooms are great and serviced to a high standard every day. The breakfast is varied, of a high quality and served in a relaxing lounge which is open 24 hours a day for tea, biscuits, pastries and fruit. There is even a light snack served from 5pm which we found quite sufficient if we had a good lunch. All the staff, ALL!, are friendly and helpful - they can't be faulted. You won't be sorry if you choose to stay at The Library Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.