We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; lovely hotel;staff very friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 463 Hotels in New York City
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location; lovely hotel;staff very friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is just around the corner from Grand Central Station and within walking distance of Central Park, 5th Avenue. Times Square, Empire State Building - in fact most places. Breakfast included and plentiful which is a bonus to begin the the day. There also day long tea/coffee and fruit/snacks available in the reading/breakfast room and don't forget the cheese and wine between 5- 8 if you need a snack. Staff are always ready to help but without being too intrusive. Despite central location, noise was not an issue. We had a Deluxe Room Queen Bed - which was spacious and a good size bathroom. TV available in room if needed and a list of DVDs to borrow if needed. All in all a lovely hotel which we wouldn't hesitate to revisit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,274
    434
    72
    21
    12
See reviews for
322
1,547
290
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is an oasis of calm and a welcome refuge from the heat (it was july in a mini heatwave) and bustle of the city. The staff are helpful, friendly and very attentive. The first floor dining area doubles up as a comfortable chill out room which was open all the tome, with free wifi, coffee, snacks etc and a perfect planning/working/social/reading area. Lovely roof garden/bar on the 14 floor.

This hotel is also well located just off 42 st near grand central station, which is conveniently located for the main station and the coaches to the airports.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here on my daughters recommendation for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. First rate hotel for location, room size, staff friendliness, breakfast and evening cheese and wine reception. Room (on 11th floor) not massive but just the right size. Breakfast choice of fresh fruit salad, bagels, croissants, cereals, hard boiled eggs, toast, preserves, blueberry muffins, orange / cinnamon scones tea coffee fruit juices more than enough to set u up for a days site seeing. All staff go out there way to ensure a most enjoyable stay.
Easy to get to Grand Central station for use of subway, TIP if staying 5-6 days buy yourself a $30 7day unlimited pass it's the best buy around. Hudson side and East River walkable within 40 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher levels tend to avoid morning traffic noise. NOTE ! Be prepared for ambulance / police and fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff at the small but perfectly located Hotel were exceptional.
The accommodation was great for New York, we had a junior suite, with masses of room, quiet and wonderful amenities.
Breakfast and evening wine and canapés were included as was all day tea coffee and juices.
I would recommend this hotel to all, we shall certainly stay again.

Room Tip: A suite is the best choice for a stay of more than a couple of nights, although our friend had a del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the Library Room. The room size was adequate. The hospitality (i.e. wine reception, breakfast service, front desk staff) were very pleasant and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic. The location of the hotel is perfect. The wine reception was great (they kept the wine flowing and flowing).

They were clearly trying to create a remarkable customer experience...and they succeeded!!!

I travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels, but this was the best hotel experience I've had!

We will be returning.

Room Tip: Don't miss the wine reception!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I loved staying at Library Hotel. The room was small, but cosy, extremely clean and stylish. I stayed at the 9th floor. There is some noise from the street, but that is not to be escaped in NYC. The reception provided me with the earplugs and the headphones with relaxing music - amazing to fall asleep to.

They are serving wine, cheese and bread in the afternoon. Lovely way to have a rest and grab some food/drink. People working there are extremely nice!

Breakfast was somewhat disappointing for the European standards. I missed some cheese, rye bread, omelet etc.

Enjoy their lovely rooftop terasse.

Nevertheless, I will get back here for sure. I and recommend that you do too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is well located just of Madison ave and a short walk to Times square and Grand Central station. It has a boutique and individual feel that makes it more rewarding than staying in a mass market chain. The rooms are small but well appointed. The lounge/reading room is fantastic. It is a very pleasant place to have breakfast overlooking Madison avenue and they serve complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings. It was a very quiet hotel and I heard no street noise whatsoever. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.