We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel. Nice location. Good service. Interesting theme. Lovely rooftop terasse.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel. Nice location. Good service. Interesting theme. Lovely rooftop terasse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I loved staying at Library Hotel. The room was small, but cosy, extremely clean and stylish. I stayed at the 9th floor. There is some noise from the street, but that is not to be escaped in NYC. The reception provided me with the earplugs and the headphones with relaxing music - amazing to fall asleep to.

They are serving wine, cheese and bread in the afternoon. Lovely way to have a rest and grab some food/drink. People working there are extremely nice!

Breakfast was somewhat disappointing for the European standards. I missed some cheese, rye bread, omelet etc.

Enjoy their lovely rooftop terasse.

Nevertheless, I will get back here for sure. I and recommend that you do too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,352
    453
    74
    21
    12
See reviews for
331
1,618
299
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is well located just of Madison ave and a short walk to Times square and Grand Central station. It has a boutique and individual feel that makes it more rewarding than staying in a mass market chain. The rooms are small but well appointed. The lounge/reading room is fantastic. It is a very pleasant place to have breakfast overlooking Madison avenue and they serve complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings. It was a very quiet hotel and I heard no street noise whatsoever. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location, ambience and attitude at this hotel is first class. This will become our regular haunt when we stay in New York. The nicest thing about it was that it was small and because of that it encouraged you to interact with other guests. What a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday following short visits to Philadelphia and Delray Beach. This hotel was in a different league (and price band). The staff are very good, helpful and attentive.

The location is great for the subway, but Broadway is within an easy walk, Bryant Park is just across Madison Avenue and the Morgan Library 5 minutes away.

The hotel has real charm, the early evening Wine and Cheese Reception in the Reading Room was excellent. The bedroom was comfortable and clean, as you would expect at this price level, and the bathroom was great.

We visited the roof garden and bar twice and it was fine but in the end we spent more time in the Irish Bar across the road. The elevators are a bit slow, they could do with at least one more.

This is a great boutique hotel, and we would cheerfully recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment we checked in until our departure four days later, our stay at the Library Hotel was perfection. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The clerk/concierge called me as soon as our room was available to check in- after storing our luggage so we could begin our exploration of the city.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We were so close to everything we wanted to see- WTC Memorial was a quick subway trip away, Times Square was within blocks and of course the beautiful city itself was all around us.

The amenities of the hotel are exemplary. From the continental breakfast, to the afternoon snacks, to the turn down service, we were pampered all day long. I loved the coffee machine in the reading room (where breakfast was served). I was able to quickly make a cappuccino or latte for myself throughout the day. The breakfast was also wonderful- the staff is available to toast a bagel or make some oatmeal or help in any way possible. Really wonderful.

We so enjoyed our trip and are looking forward to staying at the Library Hotel the next time we travel to NYC. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from spending a week at the Library Hotel and my husband and I loved it! The location was great, convenient to public transportation everywhere, a short walk to Bryant Park or Grand Central Station, and 5th avenue shopping. One block to the M42 bus to Times Square shows and Water Taxi, Circle Line, and Intrepid Museum at Pier 84. Staff at the hotel couldn't have been friendlier. We loved the 2nd floor lounge for breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese. It was a great place to relax between forays into the city. The 14th floor open air patio spaces were also great areas to plan the day. The rooms are small, but the high ceilings, big windows and modern decor kept it from feeling cramped, even after a week. I felt like the area surrounding the hotel was really safe, compared to hotels closer to Times Square.

It was my birthday so when we arrived a bottle of wine was waiting in the room along with a birthday card from the hotel! Our room was immaculate and so were all areas within the hotel. Because this is such a small hotel, the service is very personal and the other guests were friendly. If you prefer an intimate setting to a large franchise hotel, you will enjoy staying at the Library Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 9th floor and could barely hear any street traffic unless there was a police ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a charming, tidy and clean boutique hotel! If you love books and want a little quiet escape after a busy day, stay here! My husband and I, and our 8 year-old had a Jr. Suite on the 5th floor (Math & Science floor), which afforded nice views of Madison and 41st. The Jr. Suites are spacious with a King bed and sofa bed, but keep in mind 3 people to a room is max. Each room features a theme from a section of a library. Our room was Astronomy; next door was Dinosaurs!

Customer service was fantastic. The staff is eager to help with restaurant reservations, directions or show tickets. The friendly bell/door man greets you and will hail you a cab.

Complimentary breakfast, snacks, and a wine and cheese happy hour (5-8pm daily) are available, in abundance! So convenient when you've been out all day, and want to come "home" to refresh for the evening. The servers are very pleasant - they'll greet you warmly and offer you wine, prosecco, and coffee. They promptly replenish the food. Pastries and fresh fruit are available throughout the day.

Location is great. Madison & Vine restaurant is attached to the hotel, and there is a bar at the rooftop. Starbucks is across the street, and Grand Central is a short walk if you need to catch the subway or train.

Only complaint would be the air conditioning unit in the room, which was very loud - but we got used to it after a few days. And did you know? For a restful sleep, you can borrow Sleep Phones, which are comfortable eye masks with ear phones connected to a little iPod that plays calming meditation tunes. I didn't think the street noise was loud, but this may be an option if you're a light sleeper.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check their website often for discounts and promotions, and book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.