We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Library Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved Library Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first trip to NYC and we were thrilled with our accommodations. It was so cozy in the reading room and loved being surrounded by all the books inside and the wonderful views outside. Breakfast was tasty and loved the coffee machine with all its assortments! Location was ideal and after an evening out loved coming home to the rooftop bar. Library Hotel is a definite recommendation to all our friends and associates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,182
    425
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
305
1,494
282
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here because it was close to the Public Library where I was doing some work. Although it was very pricey, it was fabulous - love being surrounded by books - all interesting and intriguing. Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Husband and I have been to New York quite a few times and have stayed in many different hotels, but we were absolutely blown away with everything at this lovely hotel!
The staff are so friendly, and not in a false American way of 'have a nice day' but genuinely happy to help and chat to you, and you can ask them anything you need to know without it being too much trouble!
The petite room we had was arranged beautifully and very clean. The breakfast was a lovely bonus and to come back mid afternoon and be able to have a cup of tea and biscuits was heavenly. The cheese and wine were amazing and you also were offered prosecco and believe me when I say you never ever get anything like this in other New York hotels! We will definitely stay again and thank you so much to the lovely staff for making our Nine days special!!

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor when booking and were given the tenth floor (out of fourteen)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for three nights in early April. Ideal location in Midtown, close to Grand Central. Room met expectations: size, decor and comfort. Breakfast: choice of cereal, bagel, orange juice, hard boiled eggs and muffin was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Chilled water, wine, cheese and biscuits in the Reading Room between 5 and 8 pm was a bonus. Fantastic view from the rooftop terrace. Gym session at NYSC at 200 Madison courtesy of the hotel.

Minor quibble: I was on the eighth floor but street noise audible from 5 am, but at least there was no risk of oversleeping.

I have no hestitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went there to celebrate our 5th Anniversary and was wonderful!
The staff is very nice and always ready to help!
The rooms are very confortable and extremly clean; and the location excellent!!!
We are looking foward to come back!
We really recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The New York Times was right in describing the lovely Library hotel as stylish, sleek and geeky. We loved the book theme. We're a family of five that had two interconnecting rooms and stayed 8 nights. The rooms are modern and stylish. The standard rooms are small however the suite sized rooms are large and look out to the New York Public Library. The rate includes breakfast, all day coffee and pastries, an amazing cheese and wine couple of hours in the evening and hot chocolate and biscuits for supper. This all occurs in a very stylish reading room and you're encouraged to linger. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous next to Grand Central Station. Any part of New York is a quick train ride away. The hotel is central to many landmarks including Broadway and Times Square and next to the beautiful Bryant park. We also walked to many amazing restaurants and would recommend the Bryant Park Grill and Placido Domingo's restaurant Pampano. We had a fabulous time and look forward to staying again at this stylish, friendly boutique hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms looking out towards the New York Public Library have a great outlook and are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 nights in Manhattan. After much research we decided from the many great reviews to stay at The Library and were not disappointed.

The location is fantastic - just around the corner from Grand Central station so access to the subway is easy. Transfer from Newark Airport could hardly be easier. We just hopped on the Manhattan Express bus which drops off at Grand Central, about a 5 minutes walk to the hotel. Times Square, Empire State and the main shops on 5th Avenue are all within 15 minute walk.

We decided to stay in the deluxe room and it was genuinely as pictured on the library website. The bed was very comfortable, linen a good quality and everything was exceptionally clean with a great turn down service. The room was a good size for a short stay and some of the small touches like next day weather forecasts and a chocolate left in your room each night was lovely. We were on the 7th floor so there was some low level street noise but this was not enough to disturb. The hotel have added some nice touches such as the 2nd floor reading room which is available all day to use with tea/coffee and snacks available, At 5pm they put on cheese and wine so you can return from your busy day and have an hour to relax with a glass of wine! The breakfast served each morning is continental and has a good choice of cereal, fruit, bagels and croissants. Again all these areas are spotless clean and the ladies who serve the breakfast are helpful and couldn't do enough to help. In fact, we found all the hotel staff throughout to be really helpful and kind. From the time we enquired about our reservation via email, the service and attention to detail has been exceptional. We mentioned to the reservations manager that it was our 40th birthdays, hence the special trip, and they put a card and bottle of sparkling wine in our room as a welcome gift. The check in and out was easy and quick and all staff will help with info and reservations.

We want to particularly mention one of the concierge's (sadly can't recall his name but think that it was Billy) who helped us to obtain tickets for the Mets baseball and went out of his way to help. He was a big Mets fan himself told us how to get there, where to eat and booked us great seats by taking time to call the club himself. He was interested in our trip and even made an effort the next day to see how we had gone on. It's not often you get service like this!!.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and if we every return to the city wouldn't look any further than the Library.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.