We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Lovely Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Lovely Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Library hotel in March 2013 for 5 nights on a business trip to New York. The central location on Madison Avenue (by 41st St). close to Grand Central Station was perfect both for heading uptown or downtown and I was able to walk everywhere during my trip.

Best things about the hotel apart from the location? Firstly, they include a buffet breakfast in their second flour lounge. Not huge, but tasty fruit salad, cereals, toast, breads/bagels, yoghourts and boiled eggs. Just enough to set you up for your day. Secondly, in the evening the lounge is set up with free wine and drinks, cheese, biscuits and some other snacks. The wine (red, white and sparkling Prosecco) was good quality and just what you needed to unwind at the end of a busy day.

Thirdly they have wi-fi which works and was free. Perfect as one of my pet hates is having to pay ridiculous hotel prices for internet and usually charged per device which is a rip-off.

Typically for NYC the rooms are not huge, but all you need is in there with closet space, a desk area, room safe and large bathrooms. The beds are very firm, but again I prefer that. Also as there are only 6 rooms per floor there's not a lot of noise from the corridor with people passing by.

The guests all seemed a nice crowd whilst I was there, very quiet, considerate and polite at the buffet (as opposed to a bun fight in larger hotels). The staff on the front desk and 2nd floor lounge were all lovely too.

All in all highly recommended apart from the ridiculous number of taxes that are added to your bill (room tax, tourist tax, occupancy tax etc. totalling about 18%). Quite ridiculous but true anywhere in the city so not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the street but are double glazed. As is often the case with NYC there is a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    419
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
300
1,463
279
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot when I work. In short, getting to a hotel is something I do every week and it reminds me of work. Picking the right hotel for a vacation is therefore quite difficult for me. Clean rooms and healthy breakfast is not enough. There has to be something more. The Library Hotel had that something. The staff helped us with everything, they booked a bicycle-ride in Brooklyn, they asked how the show we went to was and we felt as if we were regular customers after only a day. The After Work wine was generous, the thematic rooms made us curious and the rooftop bars...
I actually hesitate to post this review on Tripadvisor, because I am afraid that this little gem of a hotel will become too popular, the prices will go up, and the feeling will be lost.
This hotel and The Marriott in Cairo are hotels I will return to when on vacation.
And yes, I bought their morning robe, I took it home to create the illusion that I never actually checked out.
Maybe I'm a sucker for this hotel because I'm a writer, but my guess is that anyone who loves books and New York will love it too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent decision. the hotel is very nice, the service excellent. The only thing to criticize is the size of the room, too small. The location is perfect, close to everything. Ideal to go with your partner.
No doubt return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We celebrated a milestone birthday at the Library Hotel. The staff was wonderful and welcoming.
Everything about the room was pristine and very comfortable. I loved the 2nd floor lounge with coffee, newspapers, wine and cheese....An inviting space to meet other travelers.
In short a serene home away from home in the middle of NYC..

Room Tip: Rooms have subtle themes according to the Dewey Classification system....cute -but not coy. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Library Hotel, and I was very pleased. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I felt like they were going out of their way to make my stay there a nice one. The room was small, but very clean and well maintained. The location is wonderful. I also thought that the NYSC passes were a nice touch. Finally, the continental breakfast was served until 11 am on weekends, which was great for people like me who like to sleep in on the weekends. It was also a much nicer continental breakfast than any I have had. There is also a great wine and cheese reception for guests in the afternoons. I was impressed and would recommend this hotel to any of my friends traveling to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wow! What a gem! We were recommended this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. This is the ultimate of boutique hotel. Small but exquisite - the nearest we have come to perfection. Ideally situated on 41st street for midtown New York. Refreshments, pastries, fresh fruit are available 24/7. Fantastic cheese and wine reception every afternoon. Really gets the evening off to a swing. Quiet rooms luxuriously furnished with quality bed linens to enhance a good nights sleep. Staff youg, enthusiastiv and extremely helpful without being intrusive. Cannot recommend The Library highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was everything the website and reviews described. There were extras we weren't expecting like complimentary use of an umbrella which was much needed on our first night. Breakfast was of a high standard and wine and cheese was always in abundance. The staff were friendly, helpful, informative and very welcoming. The cocktail lounge on floor 14 was very nice too, be careful of the "bookmark" cocktail, it was huge and very strong!! Excellent location, right next to Grabd Central Station and a short walk to Time Square, Broardway, Empire State Building and Rockefeller Centre. Some excellent restaurants and bars near by too. Fabulous holiday and highly recommend Library Hotel, it will not disappoint. We have to give it 10/10 because we could not find fault.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.