We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice Hotel - Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Save Saved
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 451 hotels in New York City
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Choice Hotel - Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

How clever of our daughter to choose this Hotel for us! We came to celebrate a special birthday and everything was perfect. A superb location, lovely comfortable room, and such helpful and friendly staff. New York was better than expected, with friendly
people and so much to see. Can't wait to visit again - as long as we can stay at the Library
Hotel .....

Room Tip: I would think any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,964
    390
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
270
1337
262
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Book lover or not, you will enjoy this unique boutique hotel in the heart of NYC. It is brilliant how they have worked a library system into the accommodations, service is over the top, the rooms are impeccable and oh so quiet for a mid city hotel. Michelle and Amaan were extremely helpful in guiding us to restaurants during restaurant week. I cannot say enough about this gem of a hotel! The complimentary wine reception was more than my husband and I expected and the breakfast was very, very good as continental's go. Check-in was a breeze. The Writer's Den offered the perfect cocktails but unfortunately, it was too cold to venture out on the terrace. My husband and I will have to return when the weather turns to take full advantage of the terrace and the view it affords. I have stayed at many, many top class hotels but I have to say this one has the cozy niche that you sometimes look for. I would highly recommend it to anyone. There was a mix of business, couples and leisure guests, so I would not be inclined to say it is for one group or another. I would, however, not recommend this for families with small children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My partner and I visited NYC for the first time to celebrate NYE; the entire week was one of the most amazing experiences, enhanced by one of the best city hotels we have ever stayed in! Everything about the Library Hotel has been carefully considered. The customer service was second to none, the location was superb and the rooms were cosy and perfect for a rest after a long day sight seeing! The themed aspect of the hotel was cleverly done, not over the top, but a bit of fun - my partner and I were placed in the Erotic Literature room! The complimentary breakfast offered a great selection and was very much appreciated, whilst room service from the restaurant was of a very high quality. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in NYC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love the well-designed snug little double rooms with all the books, as we always have --even better than a bigger room we tried once. Someday maybe we'll even get the luck of the draw and score a room that features some books we'd especially enjoy like Mysteries or Fiction. But the best feature is the second-floor Reading Room where we enjoyed breakfast that included protein (eggs) and homemade oatmeal (new offering since our last stay) as well as the usual good coffee and pastries. Ask for soy milk if you are lactose-intolerant as I am now. And the late-afternoon wine period offers hospitality to guests and their guests, for which we made ample use with local family and friends.

Room Tip: Watch for specials for exceptionally good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel is in a great localization. Just a block from the New York Public Library/Bryant Park and Grand Central Terminal. Very nice neighborhood. A 10 minutes walk from Madison Square Garden, 15 minute walk through 5th avenue, to Central Park.
Staff is great! Everyone trying to please you as much as they can, making you feel right at home from the minute you step into the lobby until the moment of saying goodbye.
Rooms were very nice, clean, tidy, the welcome was very warm, with a prosecco bottle. I don't feel the need of posting photos, since the hotel site publicity describe the rooms very accurately. The Wine and Cheese at 5pm is a must. Waiter are wonderful, serving all kinds of cheese, aperitifs, juices, wine, crackers, etc. Definitely the place I will stay in when I go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I visited the Library hotel on a recent trip to New York to visit his parents. The room was clean, efficiently designed given its small space, warm, and the restroom was newly renovated. We enjoyed the experience from top to bottom. Bookmarks lounge on the top floor had a great atmosphere and delicious signature cocktails. The free wine and cheese display was phenomenal. Prosecco & smoked Gouda cheese- oh la la! We also frequented Madison & Vine, the restaurant downstairs, and it was fantastic as well. The library's central location, friendly staff and wonderful accommodations were fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just held a wedding here and the Library Hotel was the perfect choice. Many of us stayed at the hotel (some for several days) and all enjoyed the experience (both the bigger rooms and the smaller rooms). The Poetry Garden on the 14th floor was perfect for the event and then afterward both families liked the fact that there was a communal space on the 2nd floor for everyone to meet later for either breakfast or the wine and cheese in the evening hours. All staff was great, but a big shout out to Ivana Bolf who helped coordinate. Lifetime memories for sure. Can't wait to come back for our 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.