We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy City Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy City Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Definitely reading ready. Stayed here for a weekend when I had plans to see a play on Broadway. I had visited their Bookmarks rooftop bar and Madison & Vine restaurant on previous trips and was very pleased. My husband and I stayed in the encyclopedia room (10th floor) and even though it was small (about what you expect in the middle of Manhattan) it was very comfortable. I especially appreciated the very clean bathroom and the always open reading room (2nd floor). We were street facing but didn't notice the noise except once a firetruck went by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    419
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
302
1,463
279
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Library Hotel before and keep coming back. Feels authentic, not corporate. Staff friendly, competent, and very helpful, also "real," not corporate. The doorman, who could readily discuss books and art with me, went out of his way to hail me a cab. Rooms tasteful. The Reading Room on the 2nd Floor is a welcome retreat -- large, dozens of books and the day's newspapers, a baby grand, tables to work on as you sip coffee or tea, or enjoy the late afternoon complimentary fruit, wine, and cheese. Keeps me from feeling a bit claustrophic as I do at other hotels where one has only the noisy public lobby or your room. Location near NY Public Library and Grand Central Station perfect for getting Uptown or Downtown readily. I will certainly be back to this hotel for another repeat performance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a wonderful few days here, the staff were so helpful and the use of the library for complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits any time of the day was simply wonderful after a hard days shopping. Every evening they served wine, prosecco and cheese between 5 and 8pm which was perfect before going out to dinner. The rooms are small but have everything you would need. Loved it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is great, the concept of the library is really present up the the tiniiest details. Rooms are confortable and really nicely furnished. We had the chance to be on the floor with classics so we had plently of great books to choose from in the room. The breakfast is simply perfect.
However the room was on a low floor and it was quite noisy, the noise of the street was quite disturbing for my mother, for me it was fine,as I actually enjoy the noises of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Living right outside of NYC, my wife and I often travel for an overnight stay and a show, and this by far was truly a great experience. The service was top notch as was all the amenities. Rooms are on the smaller side, which is common for NY, although you could certainly upgrade for a higher price. Nonetheless, it was very comfortable and they made a great use of the space. The fact that the rooms all coincide with the dewey decimal system and contain the related books,was quite a nice twist. We stayed in the "Photography" room and the books were quite good. There was a cafe that was available all day long with coffee, fruit and danish. This ammenity was just a wonderful attraction that one does not see in most places. My wife and I really enjoyed sitting in the cafe to read or utilize the free wifi (I hate when hotels charge for wifi!!). We also sat upstairs in the rooftop sitting area to read the newspaper, where there was a very nice view. There was also free wine and cheese from 5 to 8. A real special treat. We didn't even need to go out for dinner since we had a late lunch and then the wine and cheese later on. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of the free pass to a ny sports club or the evening lounge, but these are things we would do on our next trip. Overall this was a terrific hotel. We had stayed at the Waldorf the year before for our 10 year anniversary, and tobe copletely honest, we had a much better experience at the Library hotel. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Pick the kind of books that you like and see if you can get on that particular floor that conincides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed recently for our honeymoon and couldn't have picked a more perfect hotel to celebrate! We had a very warm welcome, everyone congratulated us and made us feel completely at home. It's the little things that made a difference here - the chocolates by the bed with a weather card to prepare us for the next day, the complimentary breakfast, snacks and evening wine and cheese perfection - everything was delicious, they offer the highest standard of everything even though it is complimentary. The service was incredible throughout our stay, we simply couldn't fault the staff or the hotel and were very sad to leave! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay at this hotel in early February. Location was great-- very close to Grand Central and a short walk to Fifth Avenue and Times Square. Hotel was lovely. Rooms were small but perfectly acceptable by NYC standards. We loved the 2nd floor reading room as well as the afternoon coffee/tea and morning breakfast served there. Had drinks one night at the Rooftop Bar which was also very nice. Overall, a wonderful boutique hotel for a weekend getaway. We will consider staying again when visiting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.