We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Great Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Bakersfield, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Great Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the hotel early in the morning. We though we would have to leave our luggage at the hotel and come back later in the day because I was sure our room wouldn’t be ready that early. But to my surprise, they had our room ready for us at 6:00 in the morning!! It was great to be able to freshen up after a long flight before heading out for the day. The staff was truly amazing!! They gave us a great restaurant recommendation. The hotel is within walking distance to Times Square and Central Park. We stayed in the Petite room and it was a prefect size for the two of us. The breakfast was wonderful and we also used the business center to print out our boarding passes when we were leaving. We'll never stay anywhere else in NYC!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    413
    66
    20
    11
See reviews for
295
1,429
278
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Library hotel was a fabulous place to wait out Hurricane Sandy. What was originally a 3 night business trip quickly became a week's mandatory holiday. The staff at the Library Hotel are professional, friendly and helpful. Due to the storm and flight cancellations, we extended my stay twice. Nothing was too much trouble for those at the desk, especially Jessica and Billy, to assist us. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was a quiet refuge and we felt lucky to be so well looked after.

Room Tip: Evening wine and cheese are a great way to unwind. Breakfast is also good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed here twice now and loved it. The location is brilliant, service is excellent and amenities are just what you need after a days walking around New York! Just up from Grand Central station and within easy walk to Fifth Ave and Broadway (although a bit further!). As I was by myself I stayed in a petite room - but it had all I could want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned having had a fabulous stay at the Library Hotel. Our room was a good size and for New York really quiet. The included breakfast had a wide selection on offer and the staff were happy to help.
The location ensures good connections to subway, buses and even shuttles to all airports.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor which was high enough to avoid too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a small very comfortable hotel with a nice restaurant and a bar on the top floor. Very close to central station and Bryant Park. I got an upgrade to a very nice suite with views on Madison Avenue. Good service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Library is a terrific small hotel in a good NYC location. We walked to many of the places of interest....lots of great places to eat....and at Christmas the Bryant Park Ice Rink and Christmas Market are just a couple of blocks away. We had a "Birthday" bottle of wine waiting for us....a very nice touch. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I vacationed last week with my wife and three grown children in NYC. We were celebrating my wifes 50th birthday. We normally stay at the Hilton at 6th and 53rd, but they could not accommodate us during the Thanksgiving holidays. And I am glad they could not or I would not have discovered The Library Hotel.

I found them via TripAdvisor. And never has TripAdvisor been more correct about a hotel than this one.

The experience starts BEFORE you arrive. I spoke with Billy when making my room reservations. He was quick to point out that TripAdvisor was offering a good deal for their room rates. He also made some great recommendations for me as well as several reservations since we would be coming during a very busy week. He also set up our pickup at Newark airport which arrived like clockwork.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by the doorman as well as one of the concierges. Since we arrived well before the check in time of 3:00 pm, they stored our luggage for us while we had lunch and checked out the area. When we came back, our two rooms were ready. We were on the 5th floor (the math and science floor). Our kids got a kick out ot the library theme. We learned alot about dinosaurs this week. And they had a special gift and personalized note on the table for my wife for her birthday!

The rooms were of adequate size and the bathrooms were very roomy. We had a wonderful view of the NY Public Library and Madison Ave. The windows open completely, so you can open them for some fresh air if desired. Every night they turn down the bedsheets and leave fresh chocolate and bottled water as well as a handwritten note informing you of the following days weather forecast. The rooms have everything you need and we took them up on their offfer of free dvd's to watch late at night. Hotel slippers and bathrobes add to your comfort.

They also offer a wonderful daily breakfast and evening wine and cheese gathering on the second floor. The breakfast is actually not an afterthought. It is excellent! Bagels, danish, lots of fruit and juice selections, cereal, yogurt, excellent coffee and even cappuccino! Outstanding! And the servers and hostesses are delightful.

But the thing that sets The Library apart from any hotel/resort, etc. is their impeccable service. Everyone at their front desk is a knowledgeable concierge. I interacted mainly with Billy and Jessica. They were never too busy to help out with reservations, information, restaurant advice and tips for Broadway plays, etc. Jessica steered me to the best pizza joint I've ever been to (See review for John's Pizza!).

But the ultimate came AFTER we had left and were about to board our plane for home. I received a call from Jessica letting me know that they had found several clothing items in one of our rooms that we had mistakenly left behind. She had already packaged the items and set up a Fedex pickup for the next day! She just needed to know where to send them. What incredible service! Two days later we received the package.

There are so many things about The Library that make it my new favorite hotel in NYC. The great location, wonderful rooms, outstanding views, thoughtful amenities. But it's their genuine care for their guests that will bring us back.

Room Tip: Billy, Jessica or any of the concierges will set you up with the best room to fit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.