We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful romantic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights during our Honeymoon and it was an excellent choice. The hotel location is really good-only 5 minutes walk from Grand Central Station for example. The staff were really friendly and helpful throughout. Although we arrived early at about 10am our room was ready for us to check-in and later on we came back to find a bottle of chilled prosecco and a card left for us.

The literary themed floors and rooms really make the place and they really follow through on the attention to detail-the room numbers use the dewey decimal system according to the topic of the theme. Given the occasion, we stayed in the Love themed room on the 11th floor. The standout feature of this room is the little outside private terrace with fantastic views up and down Madison which we used a lot-it seats two comfortably but we managed four for drinks one evening. The terrace is overlooked by the many surrounding offices which is worth remembering! The room itself offered all the amenities you'd expect including a big comfortable bed, good wifi and of course lots of love theme books which we enjoyed. The only slight disappointment was the bathroom which was fine but really only an average good hotel type bathroom and therefore not quite up to the premium pricing of the room. The Love room is definitely worth considering if your stay is for an especially romantic occasion but otherwise there are many other interesting room themes with lower rates.

The included breakfast in the Reading Room on the 2nd floor was very good for an informal drop in breakfast-a slight annoyance both mornings was caused by people having business breakfast meetings and talking business too loudly-this kind of jars with the nature of the hotel. There is also very nice cheese and wine here in the evenings as well.

We had drinks with friends one night at Bookmark, the hotel bar and terrace on the 14th floor. Although this does not offer panoramic views it is a very cosy and pleasant space.

Overall, we loved this hotel-highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,274
    435
    72
    21
    12
See reviews for
322
1,548
290
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels around the world and our experience at The Library was one of the best ever.
Wonderful service from the entire staff, comfortable, well-equipped rooms (themed after the Dewey Decimal system!) would be enough but then there is complimentary Continental breakfast, and wine and cheese in the afternoon.
One of our party was having a birthday and when the staff learned about it, they asked what they could do to make it to help with the celebration and procedded to send Prosecco to their room.
I would gladly make this my "home away from home" in New York!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights in a deluxe double on the fifth(?) floor, the science floor. We had the mathematics room, 501, at the end of the hallway. While the room was small, it was attractive and comfortable, with everything we needed. Room safe and flat screen TV behind a door, mini bar behind another door in the built-in cabinets. Small closet with ironing board and iron. There was a bottle of red wine and belgian chocolates awaiting our arrival. We had prepaid, which gave us a discount on the price. Free wifi in the room worked well. Nice sized bathroom. Free bottled water and ice, just call front desk. The (free) wine and cheese reception from 5 - 8 pm was quite nice, with quiet music in the background, prosecco and cab and chardonnay, coffees, cheeses and fruit, crackers, nuts, newspapers, good wifi connection, and of course the ubiquitous books floor to ceiling around the room. The bar on the fourteenth floor was booked with a private party the first night and was noisy and crowded, but there was still a room for hotel guests. Cocktails were expensive but quite good ($14 - $19 each) and the beef sliders were top notch. Breakfast (also free) was mainly breads, small pastries, cold cereal, fruit, coffees, teas. During the day free coffees, teas, fruit flavored waters, cookies are available. Room service dinner on the second night was from the bistro downstairs, promptly delivered. Burger was excellent, as was the chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream. The staff were welcoming and truly knowledgable about the area. Definitely a top notch experience for our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. Madison Avenue is noisy at all hours, especially early a.m. trash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My new husband booked The Library Hotel for the final two nights of our NYC honeymoon and it was the best decision he could have made. Before we'd even left Australia the quality of service was evident in the brilliant email communication from the Reservations Manager Timothy Gerhold and the friendly manner in which he informed us of what room would be best suited to us for our stay. When we arrived the staff were gorgeous, making us feel special, congratulating us and upgrading our room. Once in the room we received a beautiful bottle of Prosecco and a congratulatory card. The hotel itself is stunning and we fell in love with the boutique feel, location and little extras, like the wine and cheese evenings.

Room Tip: The fitness centre isn't located at the hotel, but isn't far at all and certainly worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A lovely quiet hotel, an oasis amidst the noise of New York. Close to Grand Central for the Oyster Bar and the subway and walking distance to Time Square, Broadway and more. Our room was small and the bed only a double but the bathroom was lovely and the shared spaces meant we did not need more space in the room. The complementary breakfast and wine and cheese were great beginnings to the day and the evening out respectively. Really loved the hotel and would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost book a room with a queen or bigger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Chose this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and glad we did. From making our reservation to our check out the staff could not have been better, and attention to detail was outstanding. This was a special anniversary occasion and we found a thoughtful note and a bottle of wine in our room. Being able to have a lovely breakfast right in the hotel was a wonderful convenience, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon a treat after a day of sightseeing. Everything about this hotel is tastefully done and meant to make you feel like a truly valued "guest". Will definitely recommend to friends and chose for our next New York trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and booked a deluxe room. From the moment we first entered the Library Hotel we felt special. It seemed very personal. They seem to pay attention to every detail. We were told when our room was ready that we were upgraded to a junior suite and when we entered our room there was a personalized note wishing us a happy 25th along with a bottle of Bubbly. What a surprise that was. This is a clean and tastefully decorated hotel with a staff that really aim to please. Thank You for making our special celebration even more special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.