We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cool, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is as far from the souless convention hotel as you can get. Great free breakfast and cocktail hour. Books all over the place. No fitness center on site, but passes to a good one.

Room Tip: Look at the chart on the second floor if you want to pick what kind of books will be in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    419
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
302
1,463
279
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

It was Tripadvisor reviewers that directed us here. This is a centre of Manhattan, small hotel that you might walk past and not notice, except for the bustle of the Maddison & Vine bistro on the ground floor at meal time. The rooms are small by comparison with modern building hotels, but the simple essential furniture makes the space seem large. We asked for and were allocated a room high in the building, away from the city noise. Reception staff were helpful, finding information on partricular sites for us, and making a printout - no separate concierge desk needed here. The extensive continental breakfast, the all-day tea and coffee, and the afternoon aperitifs and nibbles were all served in the spacous and quiet 2nd floor library that was sometimes busy but never crowded. Compared to some more expensive "executive club" hotel facilities, this was one of the best we have encountered. The gym access at 36th Street was fine for joggers like us in the early morning, and the staff there were also friendly, and the patrons devoid of the rage in some similar places. When we next visit NY, the Library will be our choice.

Room Tip: Highest level possible. Splurge on a corner room for a vista of the NY Library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have been to New York many times and stayed at a wide variety of hotels. The Library Hotel is by far the best and I will no longer be staying anywhere else. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are good size and nicely appointed. There is a complimentary breakfast bar which is great and also saves one a lot of money! Added bonus: a cappuccino/espresso machine available 24/7. There is also wine and cheese served every afternoon which is a good snack to hold you over until dinner. And the midtown location, close to Grand Central can't be beat. It's the best!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. We loved every minute of our trip and can't wait until we visit again. The Library Hotel was a perfect place for us to stay. Great location, wonderful staff, delicious breakfasts and relaxing cheese & wine receptions to tide us over between sightseeing and dinner reservations. Our room and bathroom were sparkling clean. The turn-down service was a very nice touch along with the chocolates and weather forecast for the next day. We really enjoyed the ambiance of the Library and even managed to find time to get some reading in. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights for a conference which was taking place in the hotel. The service was excellent. Friendly everyone from check in to bell stand to concierge. We had a city view room which was nothing overly special but big enough. The bed was wonderful but maybe a touch too soft.
The location was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel delivers everything it promises on the web site. It is in a great location for everything in NYC, from shopping to exploring the city!!. The location is perfect - in the hub of 5th Avenue/ Madison Ave but away from the heaving hub of Times Square.

The continental breakfast sets you up for the morning and the tea and coffee provided all day, is a welcome relief after another hectic day! As for the wine / prosecco and cheese later in the day, what a delightful aperitif before dinner or to simply help you unwind after the hectic day!.

We had a Queen Deluxe room - this was spacious enough for us and I am fussy!! The turn-down service, was another nice touch and we were always left a chocolate each and the weather forecast for the following day.

Prior to my trip, the hotel staff were extremely helpful in providing me with suggestions for how to get around town. Before travelling, I explained that it was my husbands birthday. On arrival, a bottle of red wine and a card had been left in the room. I e-mailed the hotel direct prior to travelling and they arranged transport to and from the airport. This may be costly for some travellers but we feel we definitely benefited from this as it removed the hassle of trying to arrange this yourself - so if you can afford to treat yourself, go ahead and let them arrange for you. We even had a black stretch limousine take us back to the airport at no extra cost - wow what an end to a perfect trip!!

All of the staff were helpful, courteous and always had a smile. They were happy to toast your bagels/ bread in the morning, to arrange dinner reservations and even to reconfirm sightseeing trips that I had arranged prior to coming to New York.

If we ever have the opportunity to return to New York we would stay again, with no hesitation.

Room Tip: As said previously there is minor external noise. We did ask for a high floor and the hotel were hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is all part of the one trip, but after earlier staying at the Elysees (same hotel group), on our return to NY I decided to try the Library. Great location, and the theme is wonderfully translated throughout the entire hotel. We stayed in the "Dinosaur" room. The breakfast and evening 'cocktail hour' is the same as the Elysees. We didn't get to try the upstairs bar but it all looks very inviting. The restaurant downstairs was a very popular meeting place and the food was good. Staff were again, very helpful. My preference would be to stay at the Library rather than the Elysees but both absolutely charming.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.