We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of what a boutique hotel should be-calm, convenient and classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Library Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Library Hotel to your Saves list
Library Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 463 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
“The epitome of what a boutique hotel should be-calm, convenient and classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We live in Manhattan but stayed at the Library Hotel for my daughters wedding and had the sunday brunch at the Hotel. We loved the ambience and the library decor but mostly we loved the staff. Family and friends enjoyed the 2nd floor where breakfast was served in the morning but which served the rest of the day as a warm and cozy concierge floor. The 14th floor is a NYC hidden gem set up as a livingroom with beautiful outdoor space. We had the brunch there and everyone was blown away by the atmosphere, Some of our friends went there for cocktails at a different time and were very impressed that such a spot exista in the heart of NYC . Special thanks to Ivana Bolf of the Library Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,274
    436
    72
    21
    12
See reviews for
322
1,548
290
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Great hotel in good location close to grand central, empire state and fifth avenue.
On booking hotel we requested a quiet room on a high floor which was provided and was really quiet affording a good nights sleep.
This was a replacement honeymoon for us and the hotel also provided a bottle of wine which was a lovely touch
It was lovely having continental breakfast in am and cheese and wine in afternoon when we were around and the use of the computers and free internet was very useful.
Unfortunately we had to cut our holiday short due to a serious illness in the family and the hotel were very kind and even though we had prebooked our stay they did not charge us for the last night. They were also as helpful as they could be in a very emotional situation.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days mid May, it was a great location, close to everything. I felt very safe walking the streets at night to get back to this hotel after a night out on Broadway. I probably would not have gone so many times to shows if I hadnt stayed so close to Times Square. I was in a petite room and okay it would have been nice to have at least a double sized bed, the room wasnt as small as you would imagine, I have been in smaller. In fact the bathroom was very large. As my room faced 41st street, there was very little traffic noise. I loved the second floor library room and it was great to come back to the hotel after a day out and grab a pre-theatre snack there or a coffee and biscuits after going out to see a show. Only negatives was that my tv was not receiving all the cable channels that it was meant to (however I never mentioned this to staff) and the beds were a bit too soft. I also did not like that on the day I left I confirmed at the desk that check out was at 1pm, however when I got back to my room at 12.20pm, it had been already cleaned and all my bags had been removed with no notification that they had been taken downstairs. It meant that I had to get luggage out of storage and repack my shopping in the lobby. I would have liked the option to have freshened up in my own room since technically it should have been available up until 1pm.

Room Tip: request the room you want based on the library
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

If you're looking for a hotel between Soho and Uptown, this is the perfect location. Just 10 minutes from Saks and only a 15 minute cab ride to Soho and Nolita. My teen daughter and I enjoyed staying at The Library in every way. The breakfast was continental and the wine and cheese offered late in the day was perfectly timed between our shopping and evening dining out. If you are concerned about street noise while sleeping, simply pack ear plugs, that's what I did, and I slept as if I were in my own bed. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant on the main level offers perfectly steamed asparagus that I highly recommend, although ask for the sauce on the side so you may portion it to your palette. The only thing I would recommend the hotel change, are the floors in the room from carpet to hardwood. I think this would enhance the appearance. Our most memorable dinner was at a cozy Italian restaurant in Nolita on Mott St. Although I do believe that all the restaurants in the Nolita area are treasures not yet discovered by most travelers.

Room Tip: book directly through the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Very nice boutique hotel. We booked after reading other recommendations. We had a junior suite for 4 nights. The room was still not particullary large, but I guess that is New York style anyway. The room had the things we needed, although myself I do not like to shower in the bathtub. Also the power of the water out of the shower was somewhat weak. All rooms have a theme, and our room was Law (306). It looked out on Madison Avenue and through Library street we had a view on 5th Avenue and the Public Library. What is really great about this hotel is the location. You are walking distance from all the shops at 5th Avenue, Central Park (25 min), Empire State Building (10 min), Times Square (15 min). etc. Furtermore Grand Central is behind the corner so all public transport to the other areas are at hand as well, going to eg SOHO takes maybe 20 minutes all together. So you can you really travel around, but also choose to sometimes drop by the hotel to freshen up, unload shopping bags etc. A special note about the service of the employees. I think they were outstanding; advice for nightlife, restaurants, wholing taxis, arranging transportation to airport, really good. Some realism to certain features advertised by the hotel: The breakfast is quite simple. You have your serials, fresh fruit and bagles and that's about it. After 4 days was kind of the maxixmum for me, but for a couple of nights it is fine. The complementory cheese and wine is a nice gesture, although the room where it is served (the same room where you have breakfast) lacks some atmosphere, we did it once, but this can be personal of course. Also the bar at the top floor is I think only nice with good weather. We were there when it rained kind of all the time and then also the top bar is not that nice anymore. Besides those small points, I would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: watch the promotions on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Fantastic service, good location, great staff. Do I need to say more?

Room Tip: Ask in advance for high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I booked a 4 night stay in one of the Deluxe rooms at The Library Hotel. From the moment we arrived, the service we received was absolutely fantastic. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, from the waitresses to the housekeeping, and especially the concierge staff who bend over backwards to make sure you're happy and content. From 5-8 every evening they serve complimentary cheese and wine in The Reading Room, overlooking Madison Avenue, and they certainly DON'T scrimp. Choose from Prosecco, white or red wines, and from a selection of cheeses, crudites and oatcakes.
If I have one criticism, it is that the restaurant, Madison & VIne, is overpriced. The service charge is 18% even for 2 diners, and the wines are upwards of $40. However, the only reason we ate there was due to jetlag, and laziness, there are many other places on the same block offering great value nosh.

Room Tip: Check out the Petit Room Doubles for a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear frandymond,

Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wanted you and the TA community to know that Madison & Vine is managed under a separate company than the Library Hotel. However, we have discussed the automatic service charge issue with them and they agreed to remove it. From this moment on, diners will not be charged an automatic service charge unless it a group of 6 or more. We hope this helps!

_ Yogini Patel, Honorary Librarian: yogini@libraryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel

Address: 299 Madison Ave., at 41st St., Entrance on 41st Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.