We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for hardcore sightseers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Park Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Park Avenue to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #337 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Gulf Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location for hardcore sightseers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first time in NYC, and we used Choice Privileges points to pay for the room. Our travel style is "Get up, shower, eat, go. Return, sleep, repeat" so all we ask of a hotel room is that it is convenient to our activities, clean with comfortable bedding, has hot water, and offers some kind of breakfast. The location of the Clarion Park Avenue was excellent! Not only was it an easy walk, even with luggage, to and from Penn Station for arrival/departure, but it was also ideal for sightseeing via walking or using the nearby subway.

The very narrow hallway and miniscule elevator belied the size of the room itself (we had a double)-which was surprisingly large considering the reviews I had read. Having stayed in a series of bed and breakfast type inns in the UK, some of which required dragging our luggage up steep, switchback staircases only two feet wide, and showers retrofitted into corners, we were okay with the expectation of tininess in any affordable hotel in NYC, so were extremely happy with this room. The bathroom was adequate with a large shower and everything was new, but there was no counter, only a little shelf.. We simply used the desk in the room for a vanity and kept only toothbrushes in the bathroom.

The beds and bedding were comfortable, and there were two luggage racks in the closet that we put at the foot of each bed - it worked great as we tend to live out of the suitcases. Others may like the fact that there are dresser drawers, a closet, and a small wardrobe, and it seems quite adequate space for fully unpacking.

Breakfast was pretty standard Choice Hotel continental fare; a waffle maker, juices, breads, cereals, yogurt, fruit, as well as eggs and sausage. Although perfect for our family, others may find it lacking if they prefer heartier breakfasts. There are plenty of restaurants in the neighborhood though, so eating should not be a problem.

We especially want to extend our compliments and thanks to Nabil, who was our breakfast attendant, bellman, and all around host for our entire stay. What a wonderful man! He really made the whole stay even better! The rest of the staff we encountered ranged from inoffensively adequate to friendly enough- only Nabil went above and beyond.

Our only complaint was that the carpet smelled sort of mildewy and wet and the housekeeping staff turned off the AC during the day. We would have liked to come back to a dry, cool room. We live in a very humid area so are somewhat used to it, though.

Room Tip: The double rooms facing Park seem to be the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    120
    78
    27
    31
See reviews for
33
117
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had read mixed reviews about this hotel, but I found it fine for my 1 week city break. My room was tiny, but that was not a problem because I didn't spend long in it. It was clean and the bathroom looked brand new. .The a/c was very noisy, breakfast was basic but ok. A choice of 3 cereals, toast, waffles, eggs, sausage, coffee, juice. Staff were excellent. I had my boarding card emailed to the hotel, and the guy on reception printed it out for me. The free wifi also worked fine. Location is perfect. 1 block from subway, easy to get anywhere in Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have to rate this as excellent because the staff was just awesome. Helpful, friendly and a delight to work with. Our room was not tried and dingy, as one person wrote in their review. Our breakfast was good, they stored our luggage after check-out until it was time for us to leave for the airport, they got the town car lined up for us to take us to the airport and they told us where to go close by for pizza which ended up being one of our favorite places to eat. The pizza was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked this hotel through lastminute.com a few months before our trip and got a reasonable deal for our room. Great location in mid-town; walking distance to many attractions including Empire State, Rockefeller centre, Chrysler building, Times Square, Central Park and very close to subway station (2 minute walk). Rooms perfectly clean and cleaned and made up every day. Breakfast is adequate, could be more choice but it's ok for the price. Cookies drinks and tea and coffee served between 4-7pm every day.
Would recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Rooms are tiny-even by New York standards. The room was clean but the decorations tired and dingy, which made it seem very depressing. The staff were not helpful at all-in particular a young woman on the front desk. However, the hotel does have a great location with the subway close by and lots of restaurants and cafes. Don't bother with the breakfast -even though it is included in the price. It is not an expensive place- but is still not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We chose this location since we were helping our daughter move into an apartment a block away. If we were tourists, though, the location is very good as the area is very safe and has great public transit and many places to eat.

Staff were very friendly and very helpful, more so than in more expensive hotels in which we have stayed.

The room was tiny and the bathroom was impossible to have two people at once. Bath tub was the tiniest I have ever seen and even the hallways were only 36 inches wide. We stayed in 501 which was on Park Avenue and except for some sirens, we were OK with street noise. AC is a loud unit and while our floor was non smoking, the hallway smelled of smoke from other floors. Breakfast is mediocre but there are so many nearby places so no problem. Valet parking was a great deal at $30 a day, inc. taxes and the room rate was about $200 a night which is very affordable for a clean safe NYC hotel.

If you are on a budget, this is OK but if you are used to large rooms and spaciousness, just be prepared.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a meeting at nearby Baruch College so I stayed the night at this property. Yes, the rooms are about the size of a Carnival cabin but they are clean and provide everything you'll need to spend the night. The bathroom was one of the smallest I have seen in a hotel but appeared to be newly renovated and was spotless. There were plenty of towels, the usual toiletries and the shower was strong. The bed was comfortable as were the two pillows. The room also had a small night table, a good flat screen TV with remote, an alarm clock and a small closet. Oh, and did I mention that a pretty nice breakfast was included in the deal? The location is great; near the 6 train and surrounded by a good selection of restaurants. All that and a very friendly and professional staff would make me want to return to the Clarion Park Avenue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Park Avenue

Address: 429 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel Park Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New York City
Clarion Park Avenue
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Park Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.